So Thrilled! And Some Pretty Pictures Too…

fryers 2.png

I have the most exciting news: we’re moving to a beyond gorgeous new apartment! Our current place is a nondescript little box, but the new space is in a pre-war building with original details like arched doorways, opulent moulding, and coffered ceilings. My mind is racing with all the decorating possibilities. And these breathtaking images from stylist Lynsey Fryers perfectly capture my ebullience!

fryers 4.png

The flat is just perfect for creating that mix of modern, vintage and antique that I so love. And there’s plenty of wall space for all my framed prints and photos!

fryers 16.png

The living room is huge, and I’m really looking forward to experimenting with the ideal furniture layout for entertaining guests. A housewarming tea party will definitely be in order!

fryers1.png

What about the kitchen, you ask? For one thing, it has a gas stove—no more wrecking my All Clad pans on an electric stovetop! And there’s plenty of pantry storage to boot.

fryers 90.png

Speaking of storage, the apartment has not one but two walk-in closets! I think I’ll turn one into a mini office, with lots of desk space and a bulletin board for inspiration images.

fryers 3.png

Maybe I’ll transform the second walk-in closet–the one in the bedroom–into a ladies’ boudoir retreat. There’s going to be some serious wallpapering going down, I can tell you that much!

fryers 7.png

The bathroom isn’t much to look at for now, but give me time. I love playing with color in a small space–our last bathroom was a deep heritage red–and maybe I’ll try something brighter this time around!

fryers 6.png

Ooh, and I can’t forget to tell you about the exterior—all the windows look onto charming courtyard! Perhaps a cutting garden will be in order?

fryers 56.png

At the very least, I’ll be sure to use the yard to host barbecues, outdoor brunches, and Easter Egg hunts. Bear with me this week as we only have five days to move—so posting might be sporadic. But I can’t wait to move in and share some pics of how wonderful it is! In the meantime, don’t forget to enter this week’s Blissliving giveaway!

All images courtesy of Lynsey Fryers—and I owe complete credit to Blair at Delight by Design finding her work!

Tags:

55 Responses to “So Thrilled! And Some Pretty Pictures Too…”

  1. Rachel Says:

    those photos are gorgeous. good luck with the move.

  2. Melissa Says:

    That’s so exciting! Best of luck with your packing and your move πŸ™‚

  3. Alexis Says:

    Congratulations on your new place! I can’t wait to see pictures!

  4. Abbie Says:

    Congrats on the news! I love sprucing up new spaces!

  5. Jane Flanagan Says:

    Wow – it doesn’t get more exciting than this does it!?
    Congratulations. I can’t wait to see every last step.
    Good luck with the move!
    Jane
    xxx

  6. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    Yay!! I can’t wait to see pictures of your new place in all it’s prewar glory. Two walk in closets? Honey, you scored!

  7. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    Congrats! Can’t wait to stop by your new place(digitally, of course)!

  8. please sir Says:

    Oh yay – can’t wait to see photos!

  9. josephine Says:

    congrats to you and your husband, girl! can’t wait to see the magic you’ll work in your new home.

  10. heather{dot}com Says:

    Congrats! I can’t wait to see photos once you’re all moved in.

  11. kate Says:

    As your little sister I feel it is my job to be extremely jealous.
    Do you mind if I move in?

  12. kate Says:

    As your little sister I feel it is my job to be extremely jealous.
    Do you mind if I move in?

  13. Tina Says:

    yay! that’s great news Anne! congrats.:)

  14. Tina Says:

    yay! that’s great news Anne! congrats.:)

  15. karly Says:

    Congratulations! I love the inspiration & enthusiasm that comes with moving into a new place. I know you are going to make it look awesome.
    Keep us all posted!

  16. MFaMB Says:

    can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait!!!!
    lovely inspiration pics!! they insire me as well.

  17. Anonymously Chic Says:

    sounds like you found an amazing space! all of these photos are great but i love the one w/the aqua wall and red flower. such a beautiful color combo!

  18. nkp Says:

    Yay! How exciting. We haven’t moved in a long while, but I love the exhilaration and sense of anticipation that comes with seeing your things in a new space. I’m excited for you and equally excited that you’re taking us along for the ride!

  19. the sassy kathy Says:

    ohhhh hooray! how exciting! prewar apartment with walk in closets = perfection. happy decorating! can’t wait to see pics and hear more.

  20. Anna R Says:

    Moving is very exciting-can’t wait to see what you do with your new place.

  21. Kara Says:

    Congratulations! I bet your place will be STUNNING!!!

  22. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh congrats Anne! I loooove those bold pink colors. I’m planning to add some of these gorgeous colors to my space too!
    xoxo

  23. Melanie Says:

    Oh! How exciting. Can’t wait to see some pics.

  24. wide open spaces Says:

    I am having fits of envy over here! Lucky, lucky….!

  25. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    How wonderful! Congratulations on a new place that is inspirational and beautiful! I can’t wait to see how you decorate the place.

  26. jo Says:

    pictures please!

  27. Tina {Luphia loves...} Says:

    how exciting!! i can just imagine how you’ll be busy making the new place absolutely stunning! make sure to give us a tour too? πŸ™‚
    xx

  28. Trina Says:

    Congratulations… how very exciting.. cannot wait to see your beautiful place! Happy moving!
    xTrina

  29. Abbey Goes Design Scouting Says:

    so exciting! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  30. Kitty Says:

    Wow. Congratulations Anne! I can’t wait to hear more about your new place and see photos! If these photos are any indication of your style, the place is going to be absolutely GORGEOUS!!!!!

  31. Jackie Says:

    Ooh, congrats on the new place, it sounds wonderful!

  32. Miss B. Says:

    I am so ENVIOUS! I can not wait to see what your stylish self creates, congrats!

  33. Shell Sherree Says:

    Oh, how exciting, Anne! I’m so happy for you and I know you’ll savour every wallpaper cut πŸ™‚ That’s a beautiful series of pics, too. I love them all but I’d give a lot for one of those miniature croquembouche pastries right now!

  34. callie grayson Says:

    yeah for the fabulous new place. please post photos!!!
    again, you have a fabulous post…. inspired me! completely!!!!

  35. from the right bank Says:

    Oh, congratulations! It sounds dreamy. I can’t wait to see what you do with the place! Best of luck with the move.

  36. Linda/ RMS "Mom of a German Shorthair" Says:

    * WARMEST C*O*N*G*R*A*T*S on what sounds like a “Dream come true”!!!!! Cannot WAIT til you start sharing it all with us!!! Blessings, Linda *

  37. PS~Erin Says:

    Oh, it sounds so neat! I am looking forward to seeing pictures of it and all the fun projects that come along with making it your own. Congratulations!

  38. Linda/ RMS "Mom of a German Shorthair" Says:

    P.S, PLEEEASE, if you will, share info about that enticing pink & taupe coffee cup (w/ the gold handle), holding pink flowers~~~~ it is DIVINE!!! THANKS!!! Will check back later! Linda *

  39. Chessa Says:

    congratulations!! this is SO exciting. I can’t wait to see how beautiful you make your new home:)

  40. blair Says:

    oh, anne! I am so incredibly excited for you! A very big congratulations to you and your hubby. Lovely photos;)

  41. BoDy anD SouL Says:

    Must be very exciting all the new possibilities, Anne.
    Lovely inspiaring pictures.Particularly love the top photo with the day bed, accentes in pink and a hint of tortoise, so chic, the lovely morrocan tea pots and glaces are also so exotic…
    Have fune in your new place!

  42. Anne @ The City Sage Says:

    Hi Linda—Thanks for your comments! I wish I knew something about that teacup but sadly I have no idea what pattern it is!
    It’s gorgeous though, isn’t it!? I’ll see if I can get in touch with the stylist and find out if she knows anything about it. I love a good mystery!

  43. Mary Jo Says:

    So wonderful! There’s nothing like moving into a more beautiful place. Good luck with your move and can’t wait to see your new place!
    xo
    p.s. when you move, you’ll need to send your addy so I can send you the little gift I have for you.

  44. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    pre-war building with original details? that’s the best. good luck moving!
    btw, haven’t heard from you in a while…

  45. jessica@thehomebound Says:

    How fun and exciting! I can’t wait to see some pictures from your new place. I know you will do amazing things to it.

  46. Liz Vernon Says:

    I would die to live in a place so well decorated. Heaven on earth ugh!!

  47. Liz Vernon Says:

    I would die to live in a place so well decorated. Heaven on earth ugh!!

  48. jen laceda Says:

    Congratulations on the new apartment. You have to tell us all about your final decorating choices! Can’t wait! We’ve been going through a 19-month-long home renovation here in Toronto =[

  49. ambika Says:

    Congrats on the move! It sounds wonderful and completely up my alley.

  50. betsy Says:

    Lucky Duck, how much fun will decorating that be! When do you move?

  51. The Deco Detective Says:

    Oh Anne, how exciting! I’m really happy for you. Hope you’ll post lots of photos from the makeover, it’ll be really fun following the process! Sounds like a dream apartment!
    Trudi xo

  52. Kristy Says:

    I missed this yesterday (computer troubles), but I’m so excited for you! How nice to have a pretty space to decorate! And I’m with the rest of the mob around here – please show us around, when you get a chance! It sounds fabulous already.

  53. J. Cochran Says:

    Wow! This has given me a lot of inspiration! So much to look at. I love it!

  54. Tiffany-Z Says:

    Congratulations on the upcoming move! How exciting!

  55. vee Says:

    your new place sounds great!!! so excited for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

