Toys for Grownups: House Beautiful Image Library

city sage house beautiful.jpg

Like a kitten, I am very easily amused. And the searchable image library at the House Beautiful website is the human equivalent of a ball of string! It’s not perfect yet–they haven’t archived all of their images to date–but it’s pretty darn fun to play around with different search terms and see what you come up with. Looking for patio inspiration in time for summer? Hello, ‘Outdoor Rooms’!

city sage house beautiful2.jpg

Search by color, too. From baby to ballet to bubble gum, there’s plenty of pink to be had!

city sage house beautiful3.jpg

Or maybe your significant other needs convincing that a neutral palette in the living room won’t be too frou-frou. Just refine your search by color and by room type, and voila!

city sage house beautiful6.jpg

Switch up styles as well. The categories are somewhat arbitrary but I’m not going to quibble. Whether ‘New Traditional’ as above or ‘Modern’ as below, I’d happily rest my head in any of these bedrooms!

city sage house beautiful5.jpg

Last but not least, you can search by pattern! Explore florals and stripes galore, or perhaps you’d like to get your gingham on (hey, who am I to judge?).

city sage house beautiful4.jpg

So go chase your tail at the House Beautiful image library! Now if only all interiors magazine websites were this easy to navigate! Ahem, are you listening Marie Claire Maison?

Tags:

35 Responses to “Toys for Grownups: House Beautiful Image Library”

  1. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh Anne, this library is heaven! Adore your picks!
    xoxo

  2. nkp Says:

    I have been subscribing to house beautiful for at least ten+ years, as my husband would sadly tell you. I tend to be a pack-rat and I probably still have all the issues from the last decade (another fact he would tell you while shaking his head in disbelief!).
    The last two years or so HB has really been spot on. I like their site too…great images you chose!

  3. jo Says:

    beautiful!

  4. jessica@thehomebound Says:

    I know, I know! I have spent many a night perusing that website. Love the Living Etc. gallery too. Oh, and Canadian House and Home.

  5. jessica@thehomebound Says:

    I know, I know! I have spent many a night perusing that website. Love the Living Etc. gallery too. Oh, and Canadian House and Home.

  6. nkp Says:

    (my comment disappeared, so if this is duplicated, sorry!)
    I love this resource offered by HB! I’ve been a subscriber for 10+ years, as my husband would sadly tell you, and I probably have an entire decades worth of magazines to prove it.
    The last two years or so, HB has been spot on with its design features. You chose some great rooms!

  7. Mo Says:

    I’m a big picture library/search engine geek–this one’s great! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Mary Jo Says:

    Yes please, I’ll take all of these toys! Loving the neutral palettes. What a beautiful resource! Thanks Anne!

  9. Joanna Says:

    I adore the pop of color in those neutral rooms: the pink flowers in the windowsill, the mint green wall, the lovely landscape painting. Just heavenly.

  10. Luphia Says:

    so many beautiful images my brain is having trouble processing them all! all the pinks are just so so pretty 🙂
    xx

  11. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    One day I will have a pergola with a wisteria like that over it – heavenly! Love all the other photos too, weirdly I’m really liking those pink ones…

  12. cara Says:

    *delightful*! Thanks for sharing!! Though this could be dangerous for me at work…

  13. Paloma of La Dolce Vita Says:

    I love the images you selected. You have a great eye!

  14. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    So many gorgeous images! I love that wall of frames.

  15. Brandi Says:

    These rooms are so lovely. The House Beautiful image library is such a fantastic find — and what an incredibly smart search. I wish all design sites organized their images so brilliantly. I’ll be on there having too much fun for the next few days.

  16. Brandi Says:

    These rooms are so lovely. The House Beautiful image library is such a fantastic find — and what an incredibly smart search. I wish all design sites organized their images so brilliantly. I’ll be on there having too much fun for the next few days.

  17. christina Says:

    Wonderful! I just subscribed to the print version…just doing my part to keep the remaining design magazines in business. 🙂
    Can’t wait to check out the image library…looks fantastic.

  18. christina Says:

    Wonderful! I just subscribed to the print version…just doing my part to keep the remaining design magazines in business. 🙂
    Can’t wait to check out the image library…looks fantastic.

  19. Lauren Jade Says:

    this is a beautiful post. 🙂 thanks

  20. Pretty Little World Says:

    I love all of these rooms, though I’m particularly enamored with the bedroom with the painted white floors and wall of pictures that extends down the hallway!

  21. blair Says:

    What a wonderful collection you have put together. Those neutral rooms are just heavenly! Also, I love you liken yourself to a kitten!:)

  22. Kelley {Kosmopolight} Says:

    Fun! I’m heading over to check it out now…

  23. Melissa Says:

    These photographs are beautiful, I love all of the outdoor spaces 🙂

  24. katy elliott Says:

    I love all that pink!

  25. Ivory Pearl Interiors Says:

    The pics are absolutely amazing. I just love the rooms with pink walls.

  26. callie grayson Says:

    Again, another lovely post.
    i love the outdoor rooms. especially the one under the purple flowers so very pretty.

  27. callie grayson Says:

    Again, another lovely post.
    i love the outdoor rooms. especially the one under the purple flowers so very pretty.

  28. Isabel Says:

    Those images of outdoors settings are so appealing ,remind me of an European summer holiday…
    (We have just said good by to our summer down here in Ausse , but with scorching temperatures of 47 degrees Celsius in Melbourne this year and all the fires and devastation in the state we are all so happy to welcome the cold Weather).
    I don’t think I would ever opted for pink in my house, but those pink images are to me the most appealing but the “florals and stripes galore” in my opinion, they are timeless…

  29. Isabel Says:

    Those images of outdoors settings are so appealing ,remind me of an European summer holiday…
    (We have just said good by to our summer down here in Ausse , but with scorching temperatures of 47 degrees Celsius in Melbourne this year and all the fires and devastation in the state we are all so happy to welcome the cold Weather).
    I don’t think I would ever opted for pink in my house, but those pink images are to me the most appealing but the “florals and stripes galore” in my opinion, they are timeless…

  30. alice Says:

    I love when magazines have websites… I think in this day and age it’s such a disadvantage when they don’t!

  31. Heidi Jo Says:

    Awesome, Anne! I didn’t know they have this! Something new to play with…

  32. Anonymously Chic Says:

    thanks for the tip on the website. i will definitely check it out later.

  33. Jeni Shirley Says:

    Those rooms are all wornderful!

  34. Renee Finberg Says:

    i am with you !!
    all the great design mags should do it.
    or someone should buy the rights, and do it for the mags that are dead and gone.

  35. PS~Erin Says:

    This looks fun! As if I needed yet another way to “use” my time! Wonderful highlights you chose.

Leave a Reply

