Outfit to Room: Sweet Spring Dresses from Shopbop

 city sage outfit to room .jpg

As Spring here in Northern California makes its presence firmly known, I’ve been feeling the itch to refresh my warm weather wardrobe. So what better way to do a little vicarious shopping than with another installment of Outfit to Room! I’m loving the color combination on this drapey dress; the pale blue contrasted with the bright cobalt feels so fresh and full of energy!

 city sage outfit to room 2.jpg

This tropical piece has visions of a South Pacific honeymoon dancing in my head. The vibrant flowers and spangly details make me long for $2 massages and henna tattoos on a Thai beach.

 city sage outfit to room 4.jpg

It’s cozy with a captial ‘C’! The sweet bow on this striped number adds the perfect touch of girly slouch. Rough leather sandals give the look an edge, and a similar effect is achieved in the bedroom by juxtaposing the fuzzy pink throw with a roughhewn linen bedskirt.

 city sage outfit to room 5.jpg

The watercolor wash on this button shift provides a quiet alternative to this season’s bolder florals. But there’s nothing quiet about that wall! Do we think it’s wallpaper or a paint effect? And how can I get me some?

 city sage outfit to room 3.jpg

This is my favourite pairing of the whole bunch. I’d wear this pale, silky shift in a heartbeat: the modern shape, the romantic hues, and those shoes! So you can imagine how much I adore the whole thing reinterpreted as a dreamy tabletop…

 city sage outfit to room 6.jpg

What are the odds of two orange fringed bibs coming together in the same place at the same time? The fact that they are both offset by a polished, ladylike shape–the refined dress and the antique chair–makes this combo even more uncanny. Love it!

 city sage outfit to room 8.jpg

I’ve never planned an outfit around Cinco de Mayo before, but this sultry dress is just the thing for a fiesta; it screams ‘Flirt with me!’ And if rooms could talk, don’t you think the sexy shapes and red hot hues of this interior would say the same thing?

 city sage outfit to room 10.jpg

Grunge meets granny in this prairie dress revamp. It’s hard to tell from the photo, but the trim on the dress is actually sequins–and frankly these blue hydrangeas, with their tightly clustered paillette petals, are the floral equivalent of a sequined trim. Don’t they pop beautifully against the faded green wall?

All fashion images courtesy of Shopbop.com
Interiors Credits: 1. Johnny Miller 2. Paul Massey 3. Rodolphe Foucher 4. This Is Glamorous 5. James Merrell 6. This Is Glamorous 7. Johnny Miller 8. Jane Packer’s Guide to Flower Arranging

Tags:

36 Responses to “Outfit to Room: Sweet Spring Dresses from Shopbop”

  1. Jackie Says:

    I cannot believe how well you match these! The one with the fringe bib? Amazing match. They all are so great.

  2. Emily Says:

    i was going to leave a comment listing my absolute favorite outfit/room, but i’ve decided it’s virtually impossible. they’re all amazing!

  3. Luphia Says:

    wow, so many gorgeous dresses & rooms! i am so in love with the green dress + room!

  4. Luphia Says:

    wow, so many gorgeous dresses & rooms! i am so in love with the green dress + room!

  5. miss aimee Says:

    wow. those were amazing and I loooooove that bib!

  6. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    I love the series and always think your picks accent the outfit and decor perfectly!

  7. Raina Says:

    Supahdoopah post! I know that redheaded model from way back and could tell you some stories.

  8. Filipa Says:

    You are so talented!!! I love reading your blog! Keep up an amazing work !

  9. Amy@OldSweetSong Says:

    Hi new blog pal! I love these images, what an amazing eye you have.
    I also happen to heart your blog banner. It’s a-dorable. And a fellow NYC-gal to boot? We’re off to a magnificent start!

  10. blair Says:

    Anne, these are all perfect. I feel like I say that so often about your posts but they really are. I cannot get over how well the dresses math the interiors! I think that simple yet glamorous shift dress is my favorite too!

  11. Anonymously Chic Says:

    oh wow those interiors are making me drool.

  12. Anonymously Chic Says:

    oh wow those interiors are making me drool.

  13. Jane Flanagan Says:

    Wow – you’re a genius. The second one down is perfection!

  14. Jane Flanagan Says:

    Wow – you’re a genius. The second one down is perfection!

  15. kasey Says:

    wonderful little series.

  16. christina Says:

    You’re amazing. You’re welcome to come and makeover my closet or my whole house anyday!

  17. fromtherightbank Says:

    Wow, you really nailed every single one of these. I like them all but I think the last one is my favorite.

  18. {this is glamorous} Says:

    These are fantastic — especially the second pairing — completely perfect. Thanks so much for the link-love!

  19. callie grayson Says:

    such a pretty post, i am so ready for spring so I can wear sun dresses and have pretty painted toes!

  20. Designers' Brew Says:

    So much fun… I love the first two especially.

  21. tiffany Says:

    yay! so glad you did another one of these. I love how you pair these, so inspiring!

  22. Shell Sherree Says:

    Quite astonishing as always, Anne! If I had to guess, my leaning is that the tie-dye kind of wall is paint finish rather than wallpaper. I can’t see a pattern repeat but my eyes are going a bit funny now from staring at it, so I could easily be wrong!

  23. Clare Says:

    These are so clever Anne. They made me smile! Thanks for brightening up my day.
    Clare x

  24. dwellings and decor Says:

    I think this is one of my favorite series that you do! I love those last two the most!

  25. dwellings and decor Says:

    I think this is one of my favorite series that you do! I love those last two the most!

  26. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Your favorite pairing is MY favorite pairing! I love that pale, silky shift!
    Have a wonderful weekend, darling!
    xoxo

  27. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Your favorite pairing is MY favorite pairing! I love that pale, silky shift!
    Have a wonderful weekend, darling!
    xoxo

  28. Pretty Little World Says:

    I absolutely love it when you do these posts!!
    The match with the fringe dress is spot on!!
    How wonderfully inspiring!!

  29. nkp Says:

    Stupendous- your pairings, the rooms, all around!

  30. PS~Erin Says:

    These are so great! They match is appearance and feeling/attitude. I especially like the first and last pairings. Have a good weekend!

  31. whitney Says:

    Love the sink in the second picture! And the dress and the wall color in the last picture. They are lovely though.

  32. Georgia Says:

    you’re unbelievable! i love this post!
    you are picking up where, sadly, domino magazine left off! i’m pretty sure you should have a print version of your super on-line magazine—The City Sage! (can i come work for it when you do start it?)
    🙂
    gorgeous pairings! i want every dress, and for that matter, every room!

  33. katy elliott Says:

    I wanted to take a stab at making my own duvet with ties. you gave me perfect inspiration!

  34. Ivory Pearl Says:

    Great blog. The pictures are really good, and the idea of comparing a dress to a room is genius!

  35. Heidi Jo Says:

    I LOVE this post. I’ll take each outfit and each room. Thank you very much.

  36. Courtney Says:

    Another wonderful pairing of fashion and interiors! I love both of the rooms shot by Johnny Miller and have them saved in my files– I really love what you paired with both of them! xx

Leave a Reply

