Goodwill in My Corner

DSC_0012.JPG

We all have it: that one little corner of our home that makes us feel inordinately stylish and put together. So long as you have that one corner in order, it doesn’t matter if the rest of the house is falling apart. For me, the linoleum in the kitchen is peeling, the bedroom looks like a bomb went off, and the shower is being devoured by mildew. But it all falls away when I look at my corner!

It thrills me even more that almost every item in the corner was purchased secondhand at bargain basement prices. That chair on the left? $9. The lamp and end table on the right? $12 and $7, respectively. My newest (and proudest) addition is the handsome 1960’s credenza on which the TV now sits. It was $25 at Goodwill and not only do I love the look of it, I also love that now the huz has a spot to hide his various Guitar Hero accoutrements!

Tell me: What’s in your corner?

47 Responses to “Goodwill in My Corner”

  1. cassandra Says:

    sweeeeeet deals!!! $9 for that chair? so jealous. i miss LA for my thrifting – so much harder to do in seattle! the corner is fab!

  2. Camila Says:

    You are an amazing shopper! What steals. I’ve been itching to go to my local thrift store and I think this afternoon I’ll make the trip!

  3. Raina Says:

    That leather pouf is calling my name.
    Actually “Leather Pouf” would be an awesome name for a British glam rock band.

  4. erni Says:

    sigh. i especially love the pouf, but everything in your corner is lovely. there is nothing like a good thrift store find!

  5. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh Anne, I love this corner! I’m a bit jealous. We don’t have those fabulous secondhand bargain basements down here!
    xoxo

  6. Anonymously Chic Says:

    great corner. i’d say my favorite corner right now is in my bathroom. clawfoot tub w/fun polka dotted shower curtain next to a yellow vintage sewing table that i use as my vanity. on top is a vintage style stand up mirror, my purple patterned make up bag stored w/fun goodies, and an old wooden chair to sit on!

  7. cara Says:

    Seriously, I know you’ve discussed this already, but *jeez* that pouf + the purple awesomeness of the sofa cover + those pillows *rock*!! And, of course, hooray you on secondhand finds — I love finding treasures for cheap!

  8. Paloma of La Dolce Vita Says:

    I love the entire room! Must get to Goodwill ASAP…

  9. melissa Says:

    I love your poof! I myself am looking for an inexpensive but very comfy chair but haven’t found the one! I should hit up a second hand shops,any suggestions in the NYC area?!

  10. amanda Says:

    love the corner. i have that sort of thing too because i live in a dump (college student) and everywhere things are a mess. but there are two areas i keep perfect and am always changing, my shelfs above the desk with my vintage microscope and my vanity where i collect interesting old plates from goodwill to keep make-up hair stuff etc. even when the world is falling down those two corners have everything in their place

  11. Cas Ruffin Says:

    I think that’s how I feel my bed, with sheets from Ikea. As long as the bed is made, then it looks like it doesn’t belong in my exceptionally messy room.

  12. Kimberly Julie Says:

    It is a pretty sweet corner… those pillows are adorable for sure.

  13. stephanie Says:

    I love it, and I know exactly what you mean about a corner. Everyone needs one. I wish I lived closer because I would bring you treats like candied clementine oranges and bribe you to go shopping with me. Today I found a 1950s walnut wall shelf organizer, and delicate Prouve knock-off wood and iron chairs … if only my house was bigger …

  14. Cas Ruffin Says:

    Oh yeah thanks so much for sharing your wedding story on our blog! We really appreciate that!

  15. Cas Ruffin Says:

    Oh yeah thanks so much for sharing your wedding story on our blog! We really appreciate that!

  16. kotori Says:

    So impressed – I love thrift finds. You seem to have a real knack at it… I always find some that needs serious modifications!

  17. kotori Says:

    So impressed – I love thrift finds. You seem to have a real knack at it… I always find some that needs serious modifications!

  18. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    Oh my gosh. I saw that chair immediately and felt a stab of jealousy because it’s so lovely. But for $9?! That’s insane. Your corner is beautiful.

  19. Kristy Says:

    Oh, I wish I had a corner that fabulous. Especially for that cheap! If you find another chair like that, I may be willing to pay for shipping and an Anne finder’s fee. πŸ˜‰
    If I weren’t (most likely) moving in a few months, this would definitely motivate me to fix up a corner in my apartment.

  20. The Deco Detective Says:

    You’re so right! I thought it was only me… I’ve got several corners that work shifts on being “the corner”!
    I love your corner plus it’s so great that you made it with second-hand stuff. Great job!

  21. jo Says:

    i should take a photo of my corner(s). i am bad i have MANY! Alex and I pretty much thrive on vintage and thrift bargains, or rather just me?
    love the place.

  22. PS~Erin Says:

    Oh, how I love to walk through my house and put mentally note the pricetags on my finds. To me a bargain price makes it that much more lovely. (I also like to do this with my outfits.) My latest finds that are making me happy are some antique mall purchases to use as storage in my new workspace. I love your corner!!

  23. dolce chic Says:

    I want that chair, Anne! My mom and I might be in San Mateo on Friday at the garden show. If we go, hope to see you πŸ™‚

  24. mathias Says:

    I think you’ll find that the huz’s game is Rock Band, not Guitar Hero! πŸ˜›

  25. Jill Says:

    LOVE all those pieces… I just love how a rooms decor can slowly evolve when you find pieces you love and fill up spaces here and there. This is by far my favorite corner of my house these days… the one with my new antiques!
    http://goodlifeforless.blogspot.com/2009/03/antiques-living-roomfinally.html

  26. Jill Says:

    LOVE all those pieces… I just love how a rooms decor can slowly evolve when you find pieces you love and fill up spaces here and there. This is by far my favorite corner of my house these days… the one with my new antiques!
    http://goodlifeforless.blogspot.com/2009/03/antiques-living-roomfinally.html

  27. christina Says:

    That gives a whole new meaning to “go sit in the corner!” I’m still working on my corner, but it includes a little side table from the flea market and the painting of our family I gave Bryce for graduation.

  28. fromtherightbank Says:

    Oh, I know that feeling! There’s so much to do in the rest of the house but I’m always happy when I see my dining room because it actually feels “done.” I’d be happy in your room, too! I love the pillows and the lamp.

  29. Rachel Says:

    I love when you can find things for a steal!!! That credenza is really nice – and practical! I can totally sympathize with you about the Guitar Hero accessories! And not only does my husband have those, but he has Rock Band too. Which comes with a lovely drum set…. which is in the guest room at the moment….
    Oh, and I still love that you painted that lamp! It gave me an idea to try it on one of my husband’s old lamps. If it turns out well, I’ll share pics!

  30. milly Says:

    Did you do this yourself? Is this your house? It’s great! Is that a moroccan puff? I know, so many questions!! LOVE LOVE..
    Thrift is SO hot right now.

  31. Michelle@ My Wedding Report Says:

    Those pieces all look so great together!! Can you come down to Southern California and go shopping with me? πŸ™‚

  32. Shell Sherree Says:

    Oh, that chair! One of my fave spots at home is an old round timber lamp table on which sits an oversized painted lamp base from a throw-out sale, with a plain chain store shade that I bought and finished off with some yellow and blue pompom trim. It’s like the centre of gravity in our lounge room at night.

  33. josephine Says:

    looks great, anne! good to see your fashion illustrations up, too.

  34. So Haute Says:

    Looks so great! Loving your pillows!

  35. Chessa! Says:

    oh I love my corner! as soon as I get around to organizing it I will post a photo but it involves a red suede chair and a green distressed dresser. I love it so much. yours is beautiful! I love that all of your pieces have stories.

  36. Chessa! Says:

    oh I love my corner! as soon as I get around to organizing it I will post a photo but it involves a red suede chair and a green distressed dresser. I love it so much. yours is beautiful! I love that all of your pieces have stories.

  37. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    Of course your corner is gorgeous and comfortably inviting at the same time! I love the economy-chic sensibility. Somehow I don’t believe you about the rest of your place being in shambles, missy…

  38. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    Of course your corner is gorgeous and comfortably inviting at the same time! I love the economy-chic sensibility. Somehow I don’t believe you about the rest of your place being in shambles, missy…

  39. simplygrove Says:

    Love this corner!!!!!! I tried to find your email on your page but failed. I would love to spotlight your home in blog! Email me at SimplyGrove22@gmail.com if you are interested. Thanks!!!

  40. simplygrove Says:

    Love this corner!!!!!! I tried to find your email on your page but failed. I would love to spotlight your home in blog! Email me at SimplyGrove22@gmail.com if you are interested. Thanks!!!

  41. velvet and linen Says:

    Beautiful, stylish and thrifty?
    You are every man’s dream come true, Anne!
    Your corner is perfection.
    xo
    Brooke

  42. christina Says:

    you are one stylishly-lucky lady!

  43. Melanie Says:

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe the deals that you got. That credenza is perfect. What a perfect little corner.

  44. my two cents Says:

    why putting a tv set in front of a window, especially one with such a lovely view? depending on season, the green, or branches could have made part of your beautiful corner. in stead, a huge tv overshadow not only your view/light but also the sofa and the chair.

  45. Georgia Says:

    awesome corner! you have the touch. that corner looks like it could be in Elle Decor magazine!
    my corner is in my living room as well. and like you, it is all second hand 60’s vintage chic that i got for a steal! some day i will post a picture for you.

  46. Amy@OldSweetSong Says:

    I feel sad. I don’t have a corner.
    Your corner is very pretty, though.

  47. vee Says:

    love love your corner and that you got each piece at such incredible deals. πŸ™‚ I would have say my creative space is my section that makes me feel that way….
    trying to create that slowly for my children’s room πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

