Absolutely Loving: Marni for the Rug Company

marni rug company.png

There are a few design houses that I could easily build an entire wardrobe from, and Marni is one of them. So it comes as no surprise that I would happily outfit every room with one of Marni’s gorgeous creations for The Rug Company. Rugs really do have transformative powers; they can set a foundation or take center stage, and these Marni designs manage to do both at the same time!

marni rug company city sage 2.jpg

A roster of furniture and accessories in neutral hues lets bold purple swirls take the lead, but these supporting pieces are no shrinking violets! The wood sofa‘s plump cushions in mocha velvet add cozy texture, and a worn ottoman and classically shaped side table create the air of a space that has come together over time. Lighting and a sculpture in traditional black and gold are at once playful and restrained.

marni rug company 3.png

As with many high end textiles retailers, The Rug Company allows you to specify the exact measurements of your rug. I love the long, slim shape of this floral number—the better to admire those wide plank floors, my dear!

marni rug company city sage 3.jpg

Of course a conventionally proportioned rug is just as special if the pattern is as stunning as this one. A glass-topped table allows you to admire every inch of broadloom wool beneath your feet, a mod chair provides unexpected dinner seating with retro flair, and a sleek gold chandelier keeps things from getting too cutesy. A mix of tablewares—some in amber glass and horn and others in melamine—maintain the union of granny and glam.

marni rug company 5.png

In the bedroom, jumbo blossoms in cheery pink and teal pop against a backdrop of cream and ecru. A studded headboard with ladylike lines lets you mix and match fuzzy mohair throws and embroidered pillows as the mood strikes! Nesting tables lacquered a brilliant robin’s egg lend ample space for nighttime necessities, and a very Hollywood mirror says ‘I’m ready for my close-up…’

marni rug company city sage.jpg

All interiors images courtesy of The Rug Company.

18 Responses to “Absolutely Loving: Marni for the Rug Company”

  1. Jane Flanagan Says:

    Love it all! I’m always drawn to crazy bold rugs in images, but then talk myself out of it when I’m actually spending (rugs are expensive!) It seems safer to choose bold cushions!

  2. M Says:

    LOVE the rabbit lamp!

  3. Amanda Bruns Says:

    Nesting tables! MMmm.
    And I love those piggie banks. One day I will have a little piggie bank like that. One day.

  4. WendyB Says:

    I’m not at all into Marni clothes, but I love the rugs!

  5. jess@thehomebound Says:

    I am quite smitten with the first purple rug. However, I am madly in love with that gorgeous glass topped table.

  6. Luphia Says:

    the big prints are so lovely!

  7. please sir Says:

    So colorful – love the amazing looks

  8. Joanna Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how big of a statement a rug can make? I adore the long, slim one with purple flowers.

  9. The Stylish Copywriter Says:

    Love the rugs AND the oversize fireplace in the first photo!

  10. Jackie Says:

    I LOVE it when you put rooms together like this. Everything you choose is just perfect!

  11. Melanie Says:

    Love the purple rug but I’m sure my husband wouldn’t.
    I got the cookbook in the mail this week and it made me so happy. Next time send it media mail, I feel bad that the shipping cost so much.

  12. dolce chic Says:

    These are my absolute favorite images. I’m crazy about that purple rug!

  13. kasey Says:

    great use of colors!

  14. Jen R Says:

    Lovely pictures! Jen

  15. nkp Says:

    Hello bunny lamp, I love you. And really, everything the Rug Company does is amazing.

  16. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Oh, oh, oh I want the purple and cream rug – how beautiful is that??

  17. Emily Says:

    my goodness – i am LOVINg nearly every piece in that second photo. the pig & lamps are fantastic.

  18. Tonya @ What's On My Plate Says:

    if i didn’t live chez maman i would totally get that white and purple rug. gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Absolutely Loving: Marni for the Rug Company

marni rug company.png

There are a few design houses that I could easily build an entire wardrobe from, and Marni is one of them. So it comes as no surprise that I would happily outfit every room with one of Marni’s gorgeous creations for The Rug Company. Rugs really do have transformative powers; they can set a foundation or take center stage, and these Marni designs manage to do both at the same time!

marni rug company city sage 2.jpg

A roster of furniture and accessories in neutral hues lets bold purple swirls take the lead, but these supporting pieces are no shrinking violets! The wood sofa‘s plump cushions in mocha velvet add cozy texture, and a worn ottoman and classically shaped side table create the air of a space that has come together over time. Lighting and a sculpture in traditional black and gold are at once playful and restrained.

marni rug company 3.png

As with many high end textiles retailers, The Rug Company allows you to specify the exact measurements of your rug. I love the long, slim shape of this floral number—the better to admire those wide plank floors, my dear!

marni rug company city sage 3.jpg

Of course a conventionally proportioned rug is just as special if the pattern is as stunning as this one. A glass-topped table allows you to admire every inch of broadloom wool beneath your feet, a mod chair provides unexpected dinner seating with retro flair, and a sleek gold chandelier keeps things from getting too cutesy. A mix of tablewares—some in amber glass and horn and others in melamine—maintain the union of granny and glam.

marni rug company 5.png

In the bedroom, jumbo blossoms in cheery pink and teal pop against a backdrop of cream and ecru. A studded headboard with ladylike lines lets you mix and match fuzzy mohair throws and embroidered pillows as the mood strikes! Nesting tables lacquered a brilliant robin’s egg lend ample space for nighttime necessities, and a very Hollywood mirror says ‘I’m ready for my close-up…’

marni rug company city sage.jpg

All interiors images courtesy of The Rug Company.

Tags:

18 Responses to “Absolutely Loving: Marni for the Rug Company”

  1. christina Says:

    Ooh! Wonderful. I especially love that purple swirly one. I’m in the market for a couple new rugs at the moment.

  2. Paloma of La Dolce Vita Says:

    Ooh! These are all so beautiful. I love the use of color.

  3. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    So beautiful! And I love that little pig sculpture – very playful.

  4. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    Anne, you are so right about how much of an impact rugs make — especially with the gorgeous rugs you have picked out. I really enjoyed the blossom rug and how happy and pink the room is — and perhaps it is because I am just giddy about winning the pink lemonade necklace thanks to you and your splendid blog!! 🙂

  5. tina Says:

    I love that last living room….that rug is ultra femme.

  6. jess@thehomebound Says:

    I am quite smitten with the first purple rug. However, I am madly in love with that gorgeous glass topped table.

  7. Luphia Says:

    the big prints are so lovely!

  8. Melissa Says:

    These rugs are beautiful and so cheerful and I love the rabbit lamp too!

  9. Paulette Ink. Says:

    My goal is to one day have a room in my home like the one in that last image! I love how it’s awash in white with splashes of pink, and the sparkly chandelier, tall windows, and streams of sunlight make it perfection.

  10. Miss B. Says:

    I subscribed via email, but I can’t wait, I have to stop by to get my fix on your lovely blog each day!!

  11. dani @ weddingsfresh Says:

    i want that first rug! oh my!!

  12. blair Says:

    Oh, that first rug is beautiful. I just love that shade of purple and that beautiful swirl pattern. Also, love that little pig! Have a great weekend Anne! xx blair

  13. Jenny Says:

    They are all so lovely, I especially like the last pink and beige one 🙂

  14. velvet and linen Says:

    I love the Rug Co. rugs!
    The Marni Overleaf rug was the inspiration for the master bedroom of a project that I will be installing next month. We did a custom color rug with a beautiful blue background and citrus green leaves.
    I’m so excited to see the completed room…
    I love that jumbo floral rug as well. Hopefully I will be able to use that one in a room soon.
    Happy Weekend, Anne.
    xo
    Brooke

  15. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    anne, i wasn’t sure if you had a peek at my weekly links. 😉

  16. Pretty Little World Says:

    Those second two rugs are absolutely brilliant! Even with those bold patterns, they really make the rooms pop, rather than overpowering them.

  17. Kelley - www.kosmopolight.com Says:

    Oh, I love these. Just beautiful!!

  18. Trina Says:

    Oh I heart these rugs.. I think I would take any rug from the rug company if I could!!!
    xx

Leave a Reply

