Photographer Lust: Sam McAdam

sam mcadams city sage photos .jpg

I’m feeling stuck lately. You know what I mean: listless and bored, faced with an endless to-do list yet completely devoid of the energy and motivation required to tackle it. Maybe it’s the crummy weather, or maybe it’s just the March blahs. But whatever the reason, these images from photographer Sam McAdam have me convinced that a ‘working vacation’ will cure what ails me.

sam mcadams city sage photos 2.jpg

I’d start out with some serious decompression time spent snuggled up in bed with a good book or two–or five. Okay, who am I kidding? I’d guiltlessly read ‘People’ and ‘Us Weekly’!

sam mcadams city sage photos 5.jpg

I’d take the time to savour the little details that get lost in the shuffle of everyday life: the soft rub of a cozy blanket, the satisfaction of a tidy room, the crust on a freshly baked loaf of bread, the cool relief of a glass of ice water.

sam mcadams city sage photos 3.jpg

I’d try my hand at some creative pursuits that have intrigued me for awhile; painting or photography perhaps. And I would try really hard not to judge the outcome.

sam mcadams city sage photos 4.jpg

Suitably decompressed, I’d get down to the ‘working’ part of this vacation and start the novel I’ve been toying with in my head. A serene office sounds just the thing for getting the juices flowing, with a comfy couch at the ready for ‘inspiration naps’!

sam mcadams city sage photos 7.jpg

It wouldn’t be much of a vacation without my sweetie there, so he’d get his own workspace. After a morning spent busily typing away, we’d meet in the garden for a leisurely lunch together.

sam mcadams city sage photos 6.jpg

After awhile we would long for the company of good friends, so when the weekends rolled around I’d air out the guest bedrooms and welcome troupes of visitors. I just love the idea of putting a little chocolate on everyone’s pillows!

sam mcadams city sage photos 8.jpg

Saturday garden parties would begin with a pancake brunch, progress to rousing games of capture the flag, and extend well past nightfall. Of course we’d pause at dusk to watch the fireflies.

sam mcadams city sage photos 9.jpg

Sunday mornings would find us drinking fizzy mimosas and elderflower water and eating eggs off my finest china. After all, what good is a vacation if you don’t indulge a little?

All images courtesy of Sam McAdam.

Tags:

45 Responses to “Photographer Lust: Sam McAdam”

  1. nkp Says:

    One of the best yet, Anne. What a gorgeous post. These photos are dreamy and I love the story you created to go alongside them. I want a vacation too, virtual or real. Wait, I think I just had one! Thanks for the brief, but fun interlude into dreamland, it was lovely.

  2. joy Says:

    What fab images!! I’m with ya on the blahs!! These images were a wonderful breath of fresh air!

  3. cevd Says:

    sounds delightful! i think i might need to schedule something similar.

  4. blair Says:

    Ok,Anne, this is too weird! I was just looking at his portfolio last night and thinking how much I loved it! Your words to match the images make his work even more lovely. I ame specially pining after those workspaces!

  5. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    LOVE sam’s work!

  6. Kathryn Says:

    Oh how I wish I had a garden to throw parties in…

  7. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    I would instantly move into any of those bedrooms! Lovely.

  8. stephanie Says:

    Down with the March blahs!
    These are loverly.

  9. Rachel Says:

    Dreamy pictures!!!
    Although, in spaces like those, I don’t know that I’d get much work done!!!
    I love the sofa/bed, and that chalky charcoal gray on the walls!

  10. Joanna Says:

    How do I snag an invite to the Saturday garden party? I’ll bring the wine!

  11. miss aimee Says:

    perfect images, perfect stories. I am so there!~

  12. miss aimee Says:

    perfect images, perfect stories. I am so there!~

  13. please sir Says:

    Lovely interiors and I hope you get un-stuck soon! I understand the feeling!

  14. please sir Says:

    Lovely interiors and I hope you get un-stuck soon! I understand the feeling!

  15. Miss B. Says:

    Okay, TOTALLY am never going EVER get any work done with your beautiful blog…
    xx,
    Miss B.
    Thank you so much for leaving such a nice comment the other day fro Michelle Chang’s earrings:)

  16. Luphia Says:

    wow! i love all these interiors, so gorgeous and feels lived in & cosy, rather than a show home, love love LOVE! šŸ™‚
    xx

  17. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    The photos you have picked are just incredible and so inspirational. I love how each one has a feature that makes it outside of the “norm.” Beautiful Anne!

  18. christina Says:

    anne, it’s all so beautiful, you’re killing me. i’ve been lusting after an iron bed FOREVER & i love that photo w/ the red iron bed.
    gorgeous.
    xox

  19. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    I feel that way too! I can’t get anything done and I can’t think of anything to jolt me out of this ennui. Well, maybe a serious vacation but since that’s financially out of the question, I’ll try to focus on your beautiful pictures.

  20. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    Oh, you guys should drive down to Monterey this weekend! I’ve been dreaming about the Peninsula this past week. I would love to browse the Carmel shops and then stroll down to the beach!

  21. Kristy Says:

    *sigh* It would be so nice to take a REAL vacation.
    That was a wonderful mini-break, though. Those images are so soothing.
    Thanks, Anne!

  22. suann Says:

    amazing! i love each and every one of these photos.

  23. jess@thehomebound Says:

    Love these! The colors in the second bedroom are my dream combo.

  24. dolce chic Says:

    Very pretty photos! Love them all.

  25. joanna goddard Says:

    oooh gorgeous!

  26. kasey Says:

    oh, i love the farm table of cloche’s.
    xoxo

  27. kasey Says:

    oh, i love the farm table of cloche’s.
    xoxo

  28. Miss E Says:

    ooh, gorgeous! and peaceful! i’m so loving greys right now…this was heaven.

  29. Miss E Says:

    ooh, gorgeous! and peaceful! i’m so loving greys right now…this was heaven.

  30. Pretty Little World Says:

    I’ve had exactly the same feeling lately! I want to do so much but have the energy for none of it.
    Your post has really inspired me to get moving though!

  31. Pretty Little World Says:

    I’ve had exactly the same feeling lately! I want to do so much but have the energy for none of it.
    Your post has really inspired me to get moving though!

  32. Shell Sherree Says:

    Some of those images of Sam’s were used for a recent edition of Country Style, one of my fave Australian mags. Stunning! I love that idea of pulling an old table and chairs into the garden, stringing up lights over tree branches … now that it’s early Autumn here, it’s just about the perfect time for it.

  33. Shell Sherree Says:

    Some of those images of Sam’s were used for a recent edition of Country Style, one of my fave Australian mags. Stunning! I love that idea of pulling an old table and chairs into the garden, stringing up lights over tree branches … now that it’s early Autumn here, it’s just about the perfect time for it.

  34. fromtherightbank Says:

    That sounds like a pretty perfect vacation. I love every single one of these images. Thanks for sharing this – I can’t wait to check out the rest of his portfolio!

  35. PS~Erin Says:

    Such cool images… That read bed… that sidetable… those frame stung up on the wall… I could go on and on!

  36. dwellings and decor Says:

    I love the way you blog! His work is quite gorgeous and your words with them make them that much more stunning!

  37. velvet and linen Says:

    I am so impressed by artists who can capture reality and make it look this beautiful.
    I want to live in Mr. McAdam’s world!
    xo
    Brooke

  38. Jenny Says:

    How beautiful!

  39. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Such a delightful post, Anne! That serene office is dreamy. I need one like that!
    xoxo

  40. Courtney Says:

    That sounds like a perfect working vacation, and I’d love to join you for the Saturday garden party!

  41. {this is glamorous} Says:

    Your working vacation sounds perfectly delightful! Could use one as well, come to think of it — definitely know what you mean about the endless ‘to do’ lists! These images are beautiful — especially love the wooden box and vase of flowers . . .

  42. Linda Says:

    Hey there, you might want to mention that a lot of these originally featured in Inside Out magazine, http://www.insideout.com.au
    Also, Sam is a woman, bot a guy (as one of your commenters believes!)

  43. Linda Says:

    Sorry, that should say “not a guy” (speed-typing gets you into trouble every time!)

  44. Urban LifeStyle Decor Says:

    Love It. Beyond Vintage Fabulousness. Thank you. ~ susan

  45. Mary S. Says:

    These pictures are wonderful.. I’ve been loving the terrariums in the glass jars lately…. Portable gardens + beautiful decorations!

Leave a Reply

