Completely Awestruck: Karen Walker Paints

karen walker.png

I cannot tear my eyes away from the incredible line of paint colors that fashion designer Karen Walker has developed for New Zealand paint company Resene. The unique palettes are at once soothing and intriguing, and utterly inspiring!

karen walker paints city sage fashion.jpg

Walker drew inspiration from the Bauhaus movement of the 1920’s, creating and combining shades for emotional rather than technical resonance. The color stories speak of long, lazy days by the sea; weathered and sun-faded rooms; the quiet peace that a home acquires with the passage of time.

karen walker paints city sage fashion2.jpg

Not only are the paints phenomenal (they have names like Moody Lavender and Donkey Brown!), so too are the teeny tiny Bauhaus dioramas that capture each palette’s mood. Built by stylist Katie Lockhart, they’re the grown-up design snob’s answer to a childhood obsession with miniatures—because you know you’ve been waiting for a reason to pull out your old dollhouse!

karen walker paints city sage fashion3.jpg

I owe complete credit for this find to the lovely (and hilarious!) Raina of If the Lampshade Fits. She very kindly sent me a copy of Inside Out Magazine, and their feature on Karen Walker confirmed for me that Pacific Rim style really is the most cutting edge on earth!

Tags:

23 Responses to “Completely Awestruck: Karen Walker Paints”

  1. Martha B. Says:

    I’m not ashamed to admit I love dollhouses…and these are really cool! 🙂
    Martha B.

  2. Martha B. Says:

    I’m not ashamed to admit I love dollhouses…and these are really cool! 🙂
    Martha B.

  3. Luphia Says:

    how gorgeous are these colours, so lovely!

  4. Luphia Says:

    how gorgeous are these colours, so lovely!

  5. vicki archer Says:

    Karen Walker is very clever – I always look for her clothes when I go home. These paint combinations are fantastic – like Farrow and Ball but edgier I think. xv

  6. vicki archer Says:

    Karen Walker is very clever – I always look for her clothes when I go home. These paint combinations are fantastic – like Farrow and Ball but edgier I think. xv

  7. Amanda Bruns Says:

    Dollhouses dollhouses dollhouses. I want one NOW.

  8. Amanda Bruns Says:

    Dollhouses dollhouses dollhouses. I want one NOW.

  9. robin pulsifer Says:

    very earthy, elegant and delicious color palettes. truly, these colors would work anywhere, in any space. hard to pick but i think i’m drawn most to block #6 where you have these beautiful earth tones with a hint of color thrown in. i’ll definitely be looking at this line for sure! thanks for the inspire. 🙂

  10. cassandra Says:

    ha! we are so on the same page today!! loving these palettes too m’dear 🙂

  11. Jess LC Says:

    I laughed when I saw #5- it has the same split pea color I use on my site! Got to love #cac854 🙂

  12. kasey Says:

    i’m a paint freak, so this is right up my alley.
    lovin it.
    xox

  13. Caroline - Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Love these color palettes! What an awesome way of showing them off!
    xoxo

  14. Shell Sherree Says:

    What an imaginative way of showing off one’s palette! Smart and adorable.

  15. josephine Says:

    these are so cool. i’m totally digging the miniature homes.

  16. Cyd Says:

    I love these! You should see the spread of paint chips I have pinned up all over the place trying to decide on a color for our new bedroom when we move in a couple weeks. The perfect shade can be so elusive, these are heavenly.

  17. PS~Erin Says:

    I am forever picking the wrong color… Don’t know if I could go wrong with these though!

  18. christina Says:

    I think, perhaps, this post will be the one I send to my landlord to finally convince him to let me have my way with the walls.
    Absolutely beautiful!

  19. nkp Says:

    Me=awestruck, as well. Gorge!

  20. Kotori Says:

    These colors are fabulous and I love the way she displays them – so imaginative!

  21. kristina@lovelymorning Says:

    kay, this might necessitate a full repainting of our house. WOW.

  22. Raina Says:

    Geez Louise, am I behind in checking in with you! I love those little houses.
    And I’m so happy that you enjoyed the magazine. If you need the new one, just let me know. 😉

  23. cHA Says:

    MODELS AND MINATURES ARE ACTULLY CONSTRUCTED BY AUCKLAND BASED SCULPTOR GIDON BING

Leave a Reply

