Shopping Trip: Ottomans

gasl_green_rooms_07mar_08.jpg

As promised, here’s a round-up of my top picks for ottomans. This was a tough post to put together—you wouldn’t believe how many lovelies are out there. Choosing my favourites was difficult indeed! I would happily welcome any of these into my home…

ottomans city sage.jpg

Button up! Traditional doesn’t have to mean boring; midnight blue velvet shakes up a straightforward cushion top. Handy castors make this oversized round ottoman pretty and practical, while sleek metal legs render white leather even more glamorous. Pistachio linen and spindly legs channel Victorian kitsch, and if I didn’t already have a tufted couch then this sexy limed oak piece would be in my shopping cart for sure. And doesn’t this nubby oatmeal number remind you of a very stylish marshmallow?

gasl_fabricpalette_06oct_02.jpg

Perhaps you’d like your ottoman to have a little more personality? Stick with conventional shapes but push the envelope with funky colors, fresh patterns, and fabulous detailing.

ottomans city sage3.jpg

I don’t know if this zebra ottoman is black with white stripes or white with black stripes, but I do know that it’s absolutely gorgeous! Bright, punchy flowers summon springtime, and a chartreuse chain print lends preppy appeal to a familiar shape. A studded, patent leather bench gets an R-rating, creamy vanilla leather updates an ancient animal foot motif, and smoky grey velvet begs, ‘Put your feet up!’

main.jpg

Or maybe you’d like to walk on the wild side? Cozy caramel cowhide injects a ‘home on the range’ vibe, while the jumbo knit of these floor cushions offers irresistible texture. Handloomed dhurrie, woven wool kilim, and organic cotton Suzani all suggest a flair for the exotic. Finally, I can’t help but recall Little Miss Muffet and her tuffet when I see this outrageous orange pouf, though there was nothing in the nursery rhyme about tangerine vinyl!

ottomans city sage 2.jpg

Image Credits: 1. Domino 2. Domino 3. Living Etc.

Tags:

30 Responses to “Shopping Trip: Ottomans”

  1. cassandra Says:

    wowsa to that wall mural in the first room! love the oatmeal tufted ottoman… but you’re right. so hard to choose! have you see these fun poufs??
    http://www.tweelink.nl/Site/Pompoef.html
    crazy little suckers! i kinda love them!

  2. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    the picture with the dark colors and wonderful textures is incredible. i’d like to move right in!

  3. Abbie Says:

    Ohhh… I love the first pic, and then I’d also take the pistachio linen one! Great picks!

  4. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    you are ALL OVER those ottomans, anne.

  5. stephanie Says:

    I love the stylish marshmallow!

  6. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    That mint green ottoman is so perfect. I love it.

  7. {this is glamorous} Says:

    You’ve assembled such a great collection — love especially the white leather with the slender gold metal legs — just lovely!

  8. Kotori Says:

    Wow – so many great choices. I especially love those patterned ones the best, but they’re all lovely. I agree – I love ottomans.

  9. Kotori Says:

    Wow – so many great choices. I especially love those patterned ones the best, but they’re all lovely. I agree – I love ottomans.

  10. Star Says:

    that first set of ottomans? ::swoon::

  11. Star Says:

    that first set of ottomans? ::swoon::

  12. Rachel Says:

    Oooh, that first picture is one of MY favorite vignettes from Domino! I love the pop of orange in the pillows, and the ottoman looks like a comfy place to curl up by the fire.
    But, if I had to choose any of them, it would be a square or rectangular with a zebra hide. I *love* them.

  13. Rachel Says:

    Oooh, that first picture is one of MY favorite vignettes from Domino! I love the pop of orange in the pillows, and the ottoman looks like a comfy place to curl up by the fire.
    But, if I had to choose any of them, it would be a square or rectangular with a zebra hide. I *love* them.

  14. Camila Says:

    Wow what great choices! I can’t pick just one. I can’t wait to see what you end up doing.
    I do have one those x benches from Ballard in zebra fabric and I heart it!

  15. Camila Says:

    Wow what great choices! I can’t pick just one. I can’t wait to see what you end up doing.
    I do have one those x benches from Ballard in zebra fabric and I heart it!

  16. Jen Says:

    Watch yourself…the woven wool one is pretty close to Navajo print…the legs saved you.

  17. Calirel Says:

    Thanks for these two posts about ottomans, i love them ! Unfortunately in France we do not have that kind of beauties yet…

  18. Kristy Says:

    I’m loving the “marshmallow” and the jumbo knit floor cushions, and the shag pouf in that last little vignette is pretty much awesome.

  19. Luphia Says:

    oh i love the more classic ones, that big brown one(chocolate coloured & shaped?) looks amazing, thinking it would double up as a guest bed too? 😉

  20. Lynne Says:

    Well, you definitely need to get one. My favourites are the knitted DWR ones – but I’d probably go for one with some hidden storage.

  21. Dionne C Says:

    These are all so lovely. I don’t have an ottoman. But now I want one!

  22. chantal Says:

    wow what a great collection, good work, i’ll take one of each please! x c

  23. Sara Says:

    I saw the Oly Ajax Ottoman a few weeks ago online!
    http://www.olystudio.com/products/seating/coral_armchair.html
    I like this chair from them 🙂

  24. Heidi Jo Says:

    I love those knit ones. Of course, I’d take anything in knit. : )

  25. Jen R Says:

    What great ottomans! Love the tufted blue one!

  26. Jen R Says:

    What great ottomans! Love the tufted blue one!

  27. Cyd Says:

    I am a sucker for a fabulous ottoman…especially a tufted one!

  28. dwellings and decor Says:

    Awesome roundup! You have fabulous taste!

  29. jo Says:

    ohhhh i love ottomans, my favorite from this list are the knitted ones! they look so coy!

  30. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    Tufted ottomans are my utter weakness. The ones you have picked further weaken me Anne!

Leave a Reply

