Crazy Easy German Chocolate Cake and Our Giveaway Winners!

DSC_0037.JPG

Well we have the results of our ‘Baked: New Frontiers in Bakinggiveaway: Melanie from You Are My Fave will be receiving a copy of this incredible cookbook and Rachel from Heart of Light is the lucky winner of the fancy pants muffin papers! Both lovely ladies have awesome blogs that I encourage you to check out. And before I part with my copy of the cookbook, I leave you with the recipe for the cake that I made for a co-worker’s wife on Valentine’s Day (long story, don’t ask; suffice to say that I’ll take any excuse to bake a cake).

DSC_0029.JPG

The great thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. Often with cakes I get one of two things: scrumptious cake that melts in your mouth but is too delicate to work with, or sturdy cake that holds up well but tastes like sawdust. This cake gives you the best of both worlds. A rich crumb offered deep chocolate flavour, and a firm but fudgy texture allowed me to manhandle the layers into the two-tiered creation you see here. Top it with your favourite ganache, throw on some fresh flowers, and get ready to beat your adoring fans away with a stick!

German Chocolate Cake
Recipe courtesy of ‘Baked: New Frontiers in Baking‘ by Matt Lewis

2 1/4 cups cake flour (I used all-purpose with good results)
3/4 cup dark, unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup hot coffee
1 cup buttermilk
1 1 /4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
2 1/2 cups sugar
5 large eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
4 ounces dark chocolate, melted and cooled

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter three 8-inch cake pans, line the bottoms with parchment paper, and butter the paper. Dust the pans with cocoa powder and shake out excess. Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl. In another bowl, combine coffee and buttermilk. Using an electric mixer beat butter and sugar until fluffy, then add eggs one at a time, beating until each is incorporated. Add vanilla and beat. Mix in flour mixture, alternating with coffee/buttermilk mixture, in three additions, beating after each. Fold in melted chocolate. Divide batter into prepared pans and bake 30-35 minutes, rotating pans halfway through, and remove when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool for 20 minutes on a wire rack, then invert pans to remove cake and let cool completely. Frost/devour as you desire!

Tags:

20 Responses to “Crazy Easy German Chocolate Cake and Our Giveaway Winners!”

  1. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    I won! Yay! I’ll make sure to do something fun with the liners.
    And that cake looks amazing.

  2. Cyd Says:

    This looks positively heavenly! I could dive into face first right now. πŸ˜‰

  3. christina Says:

    That looks so good! Your food pictures are always stunning.

  4. Erin Says:

    ok, stunning. Are you starting yet another successful venture? Saw your quote in Lynne’s London Times article. Congrats!

  5. desiree@lookiloos Says:

    love the purple pansies with the chocolate. simply gorgeous!

  6. Paulette Ink. Says:

    GORGEOUS cake…the purples and violets set against that frosting look positively decadent. Very Martha Stewarty – in the very best way. πŸ™‚ You’re so good with baking!

  7. Lynne Says:

    Oh, Rachel is the perfect winner for those! I love both of their blogs.

  8. The Wounded Chef Says:

    i love german chocolate cake – with coconut in the icing of course, how could they leave that out??

  9. michelle Says:

    So beautiful! So beautiful….and yummy looking.

  10. Luphia Says:

    how pretty and yummy at the same time, can i eat the flowers too? πŸ˜‰
    xx

  11. Luphia Says:

    how pretty and yummy at the same time, can i eat the flowers too? πŸ˜‰
    xx

  12. Melanie B Says:

    I cannot believe I won! I know everybody says that but I’m so excited. So excited in fact, that my husband had to tell me sim simma several times when I found out. Hooray.

  13. Melanie B Says:

    I cannot believe I won! I know everybody says that but I’m so excited. So excited in fact, that my husband had to tell me sim simma several times when I found out. Hooray.

  14. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    This cake looks so deliciously gorgeous! I would love a slice right now!
    Have a lovely weekend, darling!
    xoxo

  15. Melissa Says:

    That cake is so pretty!

  16. mary jo Says:

    Oh no, another cake to die for! Although my b-day is coming up so I may have an excuse to make this. Yum!!

  17. joanna goddard Says:

    so pretty! thank you so much! xo

  18. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    That is one pretty cake and looks pretty tasty too!

  19. Rebecca Says:

    m’mmmm–beautiful! what I would give for a little slice!

  20. callie grayson Says:

    mmmmmm! and so pretty!

Leave a Reply

