Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins and a Giveaway!

DSC_0014.JPG

Well the long weekend is over and it’s back to the grindstone. However I’m still basking in the warm glow of three whole days with nothing to do but hang out with my sweetie! These muffins are a great example of why I love a long weekend; when else can you laze in bed before heading to the kitchen to whip up something hot and tasty for breakfast? So in honour of long weekends, I’m giving away a copy of the cookbook that this recipe came from. It’s called ‘Baked: New Frontiers in Baking‘, and it’s an amazing collection of decadent recipes from the Brooklyn bakery of the same name. All you have to do is tell me your favourite breakfast to enjoy on a lounge-about morning! I’ll randomly draw a name on Thursday and announce the winner Friday.

DSC_0023.JPG

Of course you didn’t think I’d leave you hanging without the recipe for these beautiful muffins, did you? As sweet treats go, these verge closer to cupcake territory but don’t let that stop you from eating them for breakfast! Moist and heady with fragrant banana, they hide gooey pockets of melted chocolate and boast a perfect—not too light, not too dense—texture. I had never used the fancy baking papers pictured here in the photo, so I picked some up on a whim and I’m never going back! They are foolproof, and you don’t loose half your muffin to the accordion folds of a typical baking cup. In fact I love them so much, I’ll pick a second name and give away a stash of ’em!

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins
Recipe Courtesy of ‘Baked: New Frontiers in Baking‘ by Matt Lewis

1 1/2 cups mashed, very ripe bananas (about 4 bananas)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup whole milk
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon instant espresso powder (I used about a tablespoon ’cause I love me some coffee!)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (next time I would use less, and I’d use bittersweet chocolate)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Either line a muffin tin with papers, spray with non-stick cooking spray, or if using fancy pants papers as above, just set them on a baking sheet. In a medium bowl, stir together bananas, sugars, butter, milk and egg. In another bowl, whisk together flour, espresso powder, baking soda and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients, stirring until barely combined. Gently fold in chips–don’t overwork the batter!–and then fill muffin cups 3/4 full. Bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool in the pan for about 15 minutes before removing. Enjoy!

Tags:

62 Responses to “Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins and a Giveaway!”

  1. christina Says:

    Ooh! Those look so yummy. And those muffin papers are the cutest I’ve ever seen. I’m glad you shared your source!
    Also, glad to know you had a fun weekend.

  2. desiree@lookiloos Says:

    sounds delish! Thanks for the recipe. My favorite breakfast would be more on the sweet side. I would have to go with french toast with fresh fruit.

  3. desiree@lookiloos Says:

    sounds delish! Thanks for the recipe. My favorite breakfast would be more on the sweet side. I would have to go with french toast with fresh fruit.

  4. Shell Sherree Says:

    Now that’s a recipe I could tackle when I’m still sleepy! And those baking papers – pretty yet functional. Thank you!
    Buttermilk pancakes with real maple syrup, berry compote and a little cream poured over would be something I’d get out of bed for.

  5. Shell Sherree Says:

    Now that’s a recipe I could tackle when I’m still sleepy! And those baking papers – pretty yet functional. Thank you!
    Buttermilk pancakes with real maple syrup, berry compote and a little cream poured over would be something I’d get out of bed for.

  6. Clare Says:

    These muffins look superb. I don’t think they would last long at my place!
    My favourite breakfast at the moment is French Toast with a tomato and avocado salsa (lots of lemon juice, olive oil and S and P) with bacon on the side.

  7. Luphia Says:

    the muffins look so good! i just bought a muffin tin the other day (late i know!) so maybe that’s a sign to make some? πŸ˜‰
    my fav breakfast has to be pancakes with golden syrup & blueberries, although somedays i have it for dessert too,
    xx

  8. Rachel Says:

    Those muffins look fantastic and I love the darling little papers they are sat in rather than bun cases.
    My favourite breakfast is what I call American pancakes (I make a stack of 5 or 6 fluffy pancakes and melt butter between each one – I then cut the stack in half and My Boy and I have half each, sometimes with bacon, sometimes with fruit compote). Probably a rather English version of what you just call ‘pancakes’!

  9. ella novak Says:

    these are next in line right after we finish the batch of applesauce muffins.

  10. Sarah Says:

    your muffins looks great!
    i would have to say my favorite breakfast is any breakfast i don’t have to make. i am simple that way. πŸ™‚

  11. heather{dot}com Says:

    Sounds good! I’ve been wanting to try baking papers for a while now – they dress up cupcakes/muffins so much. They might actually make mine look edible!

  12. Paulette Ink. Says:

    When we first started dating, my boyfriend and I used to head to this little restaurant in town famous for its decadent warm blueberry pancakes and blueberry syrup. We sat by the fireplace and read the newspaper while waiting for our server to bring breakfast out. Those were definitely some of my favorite breakfasts ever, and so worth getting up a little earlier for. πŸ™‚

  13. nkp Says:

    There’s never really a lounge about morning around our house, but I love to make savory scones on the weekends. They are moist and gooey and loaded with whatever cheeses we have on hand and to add to the caloric count, I brush them with melted butter as soon as they come out of the oven. They drink in that butter as if they had just emerged from the Sahara, all parched and dry! YUM!!!
    Those little muffin papers are adorable. I love the scalloped edge. Thanks for the giveaway…keeping my fingers and toes crossed.

  14. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns Says:

    Oh yum! Thanks for the recipe!
    My favorite lazy day breakfast is a quiche of some sort. I adore quiche!!

  15. Jess LC Says:

    This recipe looks amazing! I think I might make them with the ingredients I have in my cupboard- white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts in place of the chocolate and espresso.
    Ugh! If only I didn’t have to wait until the weekend for this treat of the week…

  16. Jess LC Says:

    This recipe looks amazing! I think I might make them with the ingredients I have in my cupboard- white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts in place of the chocolate and espresso.
    Ugh! If only I didn’t have to wait until the weekend for this treat of the week…

  17. Allison L. Says:

    The muffins look wonderful! My favorite breakfast for a lounging around day is buttermilk biscuits.

  18. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    these look fantastic! on a lazy morning, my go-to breakfast is hot oatmeal with fruit, granola and dried cranberries.

  19. Jessica Says:

    I’m a muffin girl, they are so versatile and easy to adapt to any mood.

  20. Kim Says:

    Favorite breakfast – French toast made by my sweetie, with strawberries & maple syrup, & a none-too-healthy side of bacon, eaten with the aforementioned sweetie & our daughter.

  21. Abbey Says:

    yum!

  22. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    Ooh, I love contests and I love breakfast! My favorite breakfast has to be a german puff pancake (that is the simplest thing ever to make) with just a little lemon and powdered sugar, fresh fruit on the side and a big glass of chocolate milk. Mmm… my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

  23. stephanie Says:

    That Baked book is so great – my mom got a copy for Christmas and every single thing in there that we have made has knocked our socks off. Mayb I’ll have to try these next!

  24. April Says:

    I’ve been wanting to do something with all my frozen black bananas. This is it!

  25. Jayne Says:

    favorite lounge-about breakfast: whole grain pancakes (usually oat because I most often have that on hand) smothered in pureed mixed berries–no added sugar necessary! or more savory: cooked steel cut oats with grated cheese, dried cranberries, and coarsely ground salt and pepper.
    I usually make muffins for weekday grab and go breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!

  26. Molly Says:

    Yummy, yummy! My luxury breakfast is french toast with orange zest infused butter and an orange and raspberry simple syrup. I make it whenever I have time!

  27. Molly Says:

    Yummy, yummy! My luxury breakfast is french toast with orange zest infused butter and an orange and raspberry simple syrup. I make it whenever I have time!

  28. Melissa Says:

    Those muffins look amazing and the muffin papers are so pretty! My all time favorite breakfast is pancakes with real maple syrup πŸ™‚

  29. Melissa Says:

    Those muffins look amazing and the muffin papers are so pretty! My all time favorite breakfast is pancakes with real maple syrup πŸ™‚

  30. Adriene E Says:

    Delicious and adorable! I’d have to go with warm scones or biscuits with strawberry jam and a cup of joe. Thanks for the idea!

  31. Adriene E Says:

    Delicious and adorable! I’d have to go with warm scones or biscuits with strawberry jam and a cup of joe. Thanks for the idea!

  32. Kristin Says:

    Our favorite breakfast on lounge around days lately has been french toast with blueberry syrup and fresh blueberries. Husband rather likes blueberries – we have a flavored pound of blueberry cinnamon coffee to go with it.
    And a peeled orange for the side πŸ™‚

  33. Kristin Says:

    Our favorite breakfast on lounge around days lately has been french toast with blueberry syrup and fresh blueberries. Husband rather likes blueberries – we have a flavored pound of blueberry cinnamon coffee to go with it.
    And a peeled orange for the side πŸ™‚

  34. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    Now those look delicious!
    My favorite breakfast? Can’t decide on one: blueberry pancakes or pain au chocolat…

  35. please sir Says:

    Oh yum they look great – and love the wrapping too!

  36. kasey Says:

    that’s easy.
    Fresh strawberry crepe’s.
    xo

  37. April Says:

    My favourite lounge about breakfast has to be lemon poppyseed scones. Starbucks makes the most fabulous mini lemon scones in the world.

  38. christina Says:

    those muffins look amazing. you’ve been killing my waistline with all the great recipes.
    i love those wrappers, we used them for cupcakes at our wedding. they are tiny panettone wrappers & my italian grandma used to use them for making her panettones. yum. thanks for posting!

  39. christina Says:

    i almost forgot! my favorite breakfast on a lazy sunday with the paper is either blueberry cornbread muffins or pancakes with blueberries. hmmm…notice a blueberry theme here?

  40. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    Oh, you’re killing me! These look delicious.
    I think my favorite breakfast is chilaquiles, especially when I can convince D to make them and bring them to me in bed. Heaven.

  41. Melanie Says:

    I’ve been wanting to get my hands on this cookbook. It looks terrific.
    My favorite recipe is something I don’t make. My husband is an expert crepe maker so I let him handle it and I just take out the Nutella and whipped cream.

  42. JILL Says:

    count me in. those look delightful.

  43. Kris Says:

    The muffins look so good… I can’t wait to try the recipe!
    My personal breakfast favorite would have to be pancakes. With fruit. Or bacon. Or dotted with chocolate chips. I’m not [that] fussy.

  44. DC Striving Says:

    I love muffins – they are a guilty pleasure that I save for the weekends after a week of cereal or oatmeal! So I’d have to say any muffin with banana, chocolate chips, or lemon poppy!

  45. ikkinlala Says:

    My favourite breakfast is an oven pancake with sauteed apples and real maple syrup.

  46. Heidi Says:

    I’m so trying those muffins out later! I will always love blueberry pancakes but not just any blueberry pancakes, the kind my grandma makes..there’s just none like it πŸ™‚

  47. joie Says:

    Hmm, I’ve never used baking paper before! I’ll have to try it!! and the muffins, oh my goodness, they sound amazing!! I’m not sure if I’ll even allow myself to make them because I may not want to share!

  48. Daniel Says:

    Yum!
    My favorite breakfast: warm, fluffy buttermilk pancakes with real maple syrup, a pad of butter and fresh fruit on the side. A side of oatmeal and OJ.

  49. Caroline Says:

    Oh, swoon! Those are going on the list posthaste.
    Breakfast is our favorite meal of any day, but particularly lazy weekends. My most favorite would have to be pumpkin pancakes spiced up with chocolate chips and pecans, with scrambled eggs-n-cheese and maybe some vegetarian sausage to round it out. A couple mugs of coffee and a crossword, and i’m in heaven!

  50. Jisun from Sweetly Sophisticated Says:

    that looks so good! i think my favorite morning breakfast would consist of bread, jam, and nutella!

  51. Kristy Says:

    Those baking papers are adorable. And ingenious. I might need to buy some now.
    I can never decide what my perfect breakfast would be. Sometimes I think Belgian waffles, but then I start thinking about breakfast tacos (especially from the little Mexican place right by my office – they’re amazing), but then Mexican (or Tex-Mex) gets me thinking about Costa Rica and gallo pinto, which leads me to Brasil. Simple, freshly baked bread, lightly buttered, with cafΓ© com leite (or cafΓ© au lait, if you prefer). But no matter what, there would have to be fruit involved. It’s like breakfast’s dessert. Oh, and coffee. So I don’t get a headache later.

  52. Natalie H Says:

    I currently have some overripe bananas in my kitchen that I was wanting to use to make banana bread. Your recipe came at exactly the right time, I’m going to try it instead! Thanks!

  53. Kaitlyn Miller Says:

    Breakfast is my favorite part of my day. Those muffins look as though they would make a delicious beginning to the day.
    I have many favorite breakfast meals, but for a lounge-about weekend breakfast I love making blueberry-lemon scones and topping them with strawberry jam. I also enjoy drinking a warm cup of chai tea.

  54. sherrieg Says:

    Yum! Those look delicious. Our weekend breakfast is waffles – we make a pile and freeze lots to eat through the week, with whatever delicious topping is at hand!

  55. Katie Says:

    Mmmm- just thinking about those makes me hungry! My favorite breakfast is a fresh baked corn muffin with lots of butter, and hot sauteed peaches with unsweetened whipped cream! YUM

  56. callie grayson Says:

    my favorite lounging about breakfast is a yummy smoothy made of organic vanilla yogurt, 2 bananas, a few strawberries and about a teaspoon of honey and a dash of cinnamon.
    sipping my smoothy while reading curdled up in my chair.

  57. tonya Says:

    hmmm… I have to go with scones as well. They are just total perfection!
    Really cute muffins my dear!

  58. Julie L. Says:

    my all-time favorite breakfast is a one-eyed jack (aka eggs in the hole or eggs in a basket). it’s not really hard to make, but anything past an apple is hard for me when i have to get to work! and anyways, what’s a good breakfast if you don’t have the time to sit and savor?

  59. Mara D. Says:

    Oh, I’ve wanted this cookbook for awhile now. My favorite is whole wheat waffles with pecans and strawberries. yum.

  60. Melissa Says:

    My favorite breakfast is orange flavored French toast served with maple syrup and a dollop of creme fraiche! To be extra indulgent, I’d eat some crispy bacon alongside to counteract all the sweetness.

  61. Trina Says:

    These look so yummy. I make banana bread all the time so I’ll have to try these.. and I’ve never seen these lovely baking liners- so pretty!!!!
    xx Trina

  62. Courtney Says:

    My day just doesn’t go right unless I start the day with my normal routine: a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios and a mocha in my favorite mug and homemade by my boyfriend on our espresso machine. It’s what gets me out of bed in the morning!

Leave a Reply

