Inspiration Board: French Blue and Raspberry for Miss Duckling

city sage inspiration board for my wedding report_wedding bee_2.jpg

Even though my wedding was last summer, I’m still suffering from serious Post Wedding Planning Syndrome. Amongst the symptoms of PWPS? An irrepressible desire to seek out hapless brides-to-be and shower them with unsolicited advice on such burning issues as embossed vs. letterpress, taffeta vs. shantung, fondant vs. buttercream. So imagine my great joy when Miss Duckling of Wedding Bee and My Wedding Report fame approached me for advice with barely any need for my usual persuasive (stalker) techniques! I had the honor of putting together an inspiration board for her, which she posted yesterday on Wedding Bee and which I’m pleased to share with you here today. Here’s what I had to say about the board’s creation:

Miss Duckling came to me with a color palette of white, grey, navy, french blue and raspberry, and she wanted a stronger idea of how the palette should guide her as the wedding comes together. Miss Duckling has a very refined aesthetic sensibility but she’s also one of the friendliest brides you’ll meet in blogland–so I really wanted her inspiration board to reflect this balance of sophistication and approachability.

As I compiled the images, navy blue fell by the wayside and it became clear that French blue would provide the bridge between the two qualities I sought. French blue can be utterly luxe–as on a piece of Royal Copenhagen porcelain–or humbly radiant, as in the petals of a cornflower. Cool white and soft grey set a serene foundation, and bright raspberry provides a playful pop. I also considered the outdoor setting of Miss Duckling’s ceremony and allowed snippets of green foliage to sneak in. The result is an inspiration board in which continental elegance meets garden romance. I can’t wait to see where Miss Duckling goes from here!”

For image credits and for Miss Duckling’s lovely commentary please check out her amazing personal blog My Wedding Report!

Tags:

12 Responses to “Inspiration Board: French Blue and Raspberry for Miss Duckling”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Anne, your words made me laugh… I certainly suffer from PWPS too 🙂 And your board is absolutely lovely!

  2. Amanda Says:

    Linen, monochromatic pinks, and hints of white. But, you know, only if you get really bored or something… 😉
    P.S. I’m planning a girls’ night with my grandma to make wedding cookies soon. I have to admit, I’m pretty nervous. My baking skills are questionable to say the least.

  3. Lecia Says:

    I STILL love wedding related things, and I’ve been married since 2000!

  4. Lecia Says:

    I STILL love wedding related things, and I’ve been married since 2000!

  5. Jill Says:

    love, love, love… so inspired and unexpected. undeniably chic.

  6. Luphia Says:

    what gorgeous images, i’m loving the blues & pinks, very elegant & sweet!

  7. Melissa Says:

    I am suffering from Post Wedding Planning too! I love everything about weddings, I can’t get enough! I have secretly well maybe not so secretly started collecting inspiration and ideas for my little sister for her wedding someday 🙂

  8. Melissa Says:

    I am suffering from Post Wedding Planning too! I love everything about weddings, I can’t get enough! I have secretly well maybe not so secretly started collecting inspiration and ideas for my little sister for her wedding someday 🙂

  9. Melissa Says:

    I love the colors of your inspiration board too!

  10. christina Says:

    i love it! i too, truly suffer from PWPS. i still love reading all the wedding blogs! and unfortunately, with the passage of prop 8, i don’t have many friends rushing to walk down the aisle… so, i have to live vicariously! thanks for this!! the colors are rich & beautiful.

  11. corine Says:

    This is a inspiring color combination. You made me laugh about PWPS.

  12. nkp Says:

    I’m going on 10 plus years, but this gorgeous compilation of yours makes me want to pull my dress out of storage and do it all over again, with my dear hubs, of course!

Leave a Reply

