Gluten Free Chocolate Cookies from Absolutely Not Martha

DSC_0046.JPG

I’m not much of a Valentine’s Day gal. For one thing, gift-giving is not my sweetie’s forte. And frankly, let’s face it: Valentine’s Day will never be as fun as it was when you were nine and got to make a Valentine mailbox out of a paper bag and sparkly stickers. My one concession to the holiday is molding my usual baked treats into vague heart shapes.

DSC_0038.JPG

Lumpiness aside, these cookies are awesome! The recipe comes to us via Jackie at Absolutely Not Martha. True to Jackie’s credo, they are gluten free and proud of it! They contain no butter or flour, relying instead on a gooey meringue for their chewy texture. The cookies develop craggy, molten crevices of chocolate as they bake; the result is like the love child of a marshmallow and a brownie, which sounds to me like the happiest Valentine’s Day of all!

Find the recipe here, and be sure to check in with Jackie at Absolutely Not Martha for more fab gluten free eats and a luscious style fix to boot! Now I’m off to eat some more of these to console myself with the news that Shabby Chic has filed for bankruptcy and Craft Magazine is going out of print…

Tags:

16 Responses to “Gluten Free Chocolate Cookies from Absolutely Not Martha”

  1. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    Mmmmmmm…marshmallow texture and brownie taste sounds like a combination made in heaven. V-day for me is all about the cards and the treats, just like when I was nine. As a romantic holiday, I think it holds serious potential for big set ups and disappointments.

  2. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Those cookies look deliciously gorgeous! I’ll have to try them!
    xoxo

  3. nkp Says:

    Those look like a chewy mouthful of chocolate heaven!

  4. Camila Says:

    Yummy.
    I love all the baked goods you post. I have all the recipes stored away. Now I just need to find a free moment to use them.

  5. christina Says:

    I found the yummiest gluten free chocolate cookies at the Berkely farmer’s market. These look like they may be really close. I’m gonna have to give them a try.
    And I love that you’re making things into vague hearts. I’ll be doing the same thing tonight with rice krispy treats for my father-in-law. 🙂

  6. miss aimee Says:

    ahhh. LOL. See my new post! I made those tonight(see photo-gluten free heart brownies) yum! so good. 🙂

  7. callie grayson Says:

    these cookies look so yummy!

  8. callie grayson Says:

    these cookies look so yummy!

  9. jo Says:

    my email is not sending messages! anyways, if you have the time would love some tips about food places and shopping, i am staying a bit of time in murray hill because of a conference, but then moving for the weekend over to the east village!
    joanna_buczkowska@shaw.ca
    thanks anne!
    jo

  10. jo Says:

    my email is not sending messages! anyways, if you have the time would love some tips about food places and shopping, i am staying a bit of time in murray hill because of a conference, but then moving for the weekend over to the east village!
    joanna_buczkowska@shaw.ca
    thanks anne!
    jo

  11. sushi2 Says:

    Yum. I’m coming back for more 🙂

  12. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    Reading about the “valentine’s mailbox” out of the brown paper bag just took me bag. Thanks for reminding me of how much I loved that!

  13. Jen Says:

    Whatever. You know you like Valentine’s Day…especially when Jack’s mom sends you a box of goodies. I am sorry that I didn’t attach any sparkling stickers. We only have animals sticker right now. Roar.

  14. Erin Says:

    Gluten and butter free means this is our healthy cookie recipe, right??

  15. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    spoken in true wayne’s world fashion: i’m not worthy! muchas gracias, anne. jackiexo

  16. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    btw, should somebody tell kristin not all of us used BROWN paper bags for our valentine’s mailboxes?

Leave a Reply

