The New Style Rules: Mason by Michelle Mason

michelle mason city sage5.jpg

The Spring 2009 collection from Mason by Michelle Mason could inspire an entire encyclopedia of style rules—it is Just That Good. The Top Ten? Rule #1. Basic white will always look right. Rule #2. A pair of zippered leggings renders even the granniest sweater coat truly badass.

michelle mason city sage6.jpg

Rule #3. A racerback is infinitely sexier than any other style of tank. Rule #4. It’s okay to look like your toddler spilled ketchup on you, so long as it’s artfully applied.

michelle mason city sage4.jpg

Rule #5. Coral and white has successfully shed its preppy reputation. Throw in some glam gold and you’re, um, golden. Rule #6. A silk anorak might not protect against actual weather, but it does protect against raincoat fashion faux pas.

michelle mason city sage3.jpg

Rule #7. The adult onesie is socially acceptable, for this year at least. Accessorize with a cardigan and an intense regimen of crunches, squats and lunges. Rule #8. For the fastest and easiest update of the tee shirts you already own, tuck them in and then blouse them out just a smidge. Add a ribbon belt if you’re feeling body confident (see Rule #7).

michelle mason city sage2.jpg

Rule #9. Shorts are officially formalwear. But please, use this rule sparingly. Rule #10. A black leather jacket is the single best investment you will ever make. Period.

michelle mason city sage8.jpg

Tell me, what are your style rules for spring?

UPDATE: After reading some of this morning’s comments, I must address the (very valid) concerns that have been raised about the adult onesie–or ‘romper’ as it is officially known. I think they are cute in theory, hard to pull off in practice, and frankly a little frivolous in these economic times. However, I must admit to having sported an adult onesie myself only very recently. Because we are all friends here, and because friends love each other unconditionally, I will show you the photos of me in the onesie. Click through at your own risk.

Tags:

35 Responses to “The New Style Rules: Mason by Michelle Mason”

  1. darling dexter Says:

    love it! great set of rules…i feel like you covered everything!

  2. darling dexter Says:

    love it! great set of rules…i feel like you covered everything!

  3. christina Says:

    This is fantastic. I really like that coral and white…especially that anorak. I just want to add some more color to my wardrobe this spring. That’s really my only style rule so far.

  4. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    sorry, Anne, I’m going to pass on the adult onesie. yes to granny sweater coats! my style rule (no matter which season): SLATE GREY.

  5. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    I love that first white dress! But you kind of lost me on the “adult one-sies” i just can’t imagine normal – not model – people walking around in those. kind of takes me back to those terry cloth onesies of the seventies. my mom still has a pink one up at our cottage!
    My #1 style rule — and I learned this from Stacy and Clinton — is to always wear your size. too big or too tight never looks good. if you feel good, you look good.

  6. Luphia Says:

    the colours & outfits are fabulous, this is definitely going into my lookbook inspirations! x

  7. Paulette Ink. Says:

    Blazers, blazers and more blazers! I’m going to stick with the basics like blazers and cardigans in neutral tones, and maybe throw in a messenger bag and my Frye boots or Tory Burch flats. My trusty boots will get me through even the toughest times. 🙂

  8. Rachel Says:

    I’m in desperate DESPERATE need of “What not to Wear”. More so for the $5K to shop with than the rules…
    It’s so hard to not end up looking old, boring, and dated when you don’t have a bunch of money to spend on new clothes. Or the body to wear some of the trendier styles. Let me just state that I would look utterly STOOPID (yes, that stupid) in the onesie! Or any of the mini-skirts or short-shorts. They aren’t for me unfortunately. They are cute though, on the right person!
    Love the coral, white, and gold!

  9. Jen Says:

    Sorry the onesie is just going to encourage a new age of camel toes. Sometimes, the truth is ugly…

  10. Heidi Jo Says:

    I can’t help it- I love the onesie. My style rules for spring and to be creative with what I have. I want to go through my closet and pair things together that I’ve never paired before. Sometimes my outfits can be too matchy-matchy and I know there is more potential in my closet!

  11. Heidi Jo Says:

    I can’t help it- I love the onesie. My style rules for spring and to be creative with what I have. I want to go through my closet and pair things together that I’ve never paired before. Sometimes my outfits can be too matchy-matchy and I know there is more potential in my closet!

  12. RCM Says:

    I want that first white dress!!

  13. Lynne Says:

    My style rules are just to wear some clothes without holes in, with missing buttons etc! Seriously, moths have eaten holes in my most comfy clothes and I have no money to get any new ones until I have a job. Although I just went into Gap today and thought they had a really nice spring collection – very French I think.

  14. the sassy kathy Says:

    HAHAHAHA. OMG. fantastic. anne. oh anne. you are too much. your onesie holiday card has me hysterical – but in a good way. a “only anne (and her hubby) would dress in matching christmas onesies and spell out a christmas greeting” kind of way. fabulous!

  15. kasey Says:

    thanks for giving me some lovely ideas!

  16. dwellings and decor Says:

    Racerback is definitely the sexiest! I just got a racerback dress and my fiance loves it! I really love that pink ruffly skirt. So cute!

  17. Michelle@ My wedding report Says:

    I love that racerback top. I also, am thinking the coral and white combo would be good to have.

  18. Michelle@ My wedding report Says:

    Umm that picture of you in the onesie with your hubby is amazing! I would have been thrilled to get a card like that!!

  19. i.d. Says:

    I love these rules! 🙂

  20. vicki archer Says:

    Very cute Anne – you and your onesie! xv

  21. vicki archer Says:

    Very cute Anne – you and your onesie! xv

  22. Laura Says:

    Coral is definitely in this year, I went shopping yesterday and it was everywhere here in Spain! Just to let you know Anne I have tagged you with the Lemonade Blog! 😀 These tags take time though don’t they so apologies if you do not wish to be bothered!

  23. Laura Says:

    Coral is definitely in this year, I went shopping yesterday and it was everywhere here in Spain! Just to let you know Anne I have tagged you with the Lemonade Blog! 😀 These tags take time though don’t they so apologies if you do not wish to be bothered!

  24. callie grayson Says:

    love the collection, and those shoes!!! love them.

  25. callie grayson Says:

    love the collection, and those shoes!!! love them.

  26. michelle Says:

    hehehe, I will refrain from the onesies…but I will wear muted colors and soft fabrics

  27. Lecia Says:

    You are so funny – I think this is my favorite post of your yet in terms of the writing. Don’t think I’ll be sporting any of these looks though…

  28. Rebecca Says:

    so right about #1–white is the one color that really makes me feel beautiful–I can’t go without having lots of white, esp. pants, in the closet. is this an american thing, I wonder?

  29. Jess LC Says:

    The photo of the striped romper is so creative! Love it. You have more courage than I.
    🙂
    Jess!

  30. blair Says:

    Oh wow–I love your narrative with these lovely clothes. I especially love those coral pieces. I think that my spring style resolution is to take more risks and mix some bolder pieces into my pretty traditional wardrobe.

  31. joanna goddard Says:

    gorgeous!!!

  32. ambika Says:

    That is the best Christmas card I’ve ever seen.

  33. Erin Says:

    I just picked my jaw up off the floor! This line if fab – where did you find it? It must be my entire spring wardrobe (if/when spring ever arrives in Seattle)

  34. Courtney Says:

    Wow- there are so many lovely pieces in this collection (and your commentary on them is hilarious.) Coral and white is a beautiful color combo, and I can’t help it– I love rompers right now!

  35. erin@designcrisis Says:

    Love the onesies, love that black leather jacket! Overall, the entire collection looks effortless — my kind of style.

Leave a Reply

