Stylist Lust: Nan Whitney

NW_INTERIORS_007.jpg

I’m happy to announce that I enjoyed the loveliest weekend I’ve had in a while. It was the perfect mix of relaxation (finally finished this amazing book!) socialization (met a wonderful new friend!) and productive puttering around the house (a very successful furniture arranging session, with photos to come!). So when I happened across these images from the portfolio of gifted stylist Nan Whitney, they seemed perfectly to reflect the warm contentedness of a weekend well spent. Doesn’t the worn black armoire in the photo above have an almost grandmotherly presence?

003.jpg

I love the look of a patinated mirror—I have a fun DIY in the works for how to get this effect yourself! And there’s something so homey about stacks and stacks of mismatched dishes haphazardly displayed in a beautiful antique cabinet.

004.jpg

I wonder if my landlord would be angry if I ripped up my horrid wall-to-wall carpeting and painted a checkerboard on the floor? Okay, it’s probably not the best idea, but the glowing finishes of this cozy kitchen make me want to tie on my apron and whip up a big batch of Swedish pancakes.

NW_INTERIORS_005.jpg\

Speaking of pancakes, what a perfect breakfast nook! Gather everyone around the table for steaming mugs of coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, and plenty of real maple syrup. The morning light streaming through the windows will keep you all toasty in your slippers and robes!

NW_INTERIORS_008.jpg

This is just the sort of portrait that I would snap up if I stumbled across it at a flea market. I would never put up photos of strangers—that would be creepy!—but paintings of unknown ladies and gentlemen from times past is a different story. It would be fun to make this fellow your household mascot, invent stories about him, give him a name…Mortimer perhaps?

006.jpg

Finally, nothing speaks to the perfect weekend like washed, worn linens for lounging about in bed. Hang your favorite nightie as you would a work of art, or just pull it out of the closet on Wednesday when it seems like Saturday will never arrive. What little piece of the weekend do you savour when the work week gets tough?

014.jpg

All images courtesy of Nan Whitney.

Tags:

28 Responses to “Stylist Lust: Nan Whitney”

  1. Luphia Says:

    glad you enjoyed your weekend & can’t wait to see more photos of your home! these rooms are so gorgeous & charming, feels kinda romantic too.
    ps, i tagged you! x

  2. Luphia Says:

    glad you enjoyed your weekend & can’t wait to see more photos of your home! these rooms are so gorgeous & charming, feels kinda romantic too.
    ps, i tagged you! x

  3. Mary Jo Says:

    Bella! Love all those photos! I’m coming to the Bay Area/SF soon so hoping we can meet up for macaroons!
    xo Mary Jo

  4. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    all of these rooms are utterly romantic. AND i can’t wait to see your dyi on patinated mirrors.

  5. Kotori Says:

    Sounds like a perfect weekend.
    Love these photos – so simple and lived in like you could get comfy on the couch. My kind of style.

  6. Rachel Says:

    Oh, the dish cabinet has me swooning. And as a fellow sufferer of horrid, landlord imposed carpet, I’ve often wondered what other options I have. Sadly, I’m thinking none.

  7. Lynne Says:

    Oh, I loved that book – did you get it from when I included in on Blogger Book Love? Anyway, it’s totally traumatic isn’t it? I finished reading it in May/June last year and it has still stayed with me.

  8. Suzanne : : S.HOPtalk Says:

    This is absolute perfection. I love it!

  9. please sir Says:

    They are so pretty – effortless and rustic – two of my favs.

  10. Catherine Says:

    These are lovely – so warm and inviting, much like your accompanying text! Glad you had such a contented weekend.

  11. cevd Says:

    loving these photos.

  12. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    I’ve always had a thing for checkerboard floors. And that white antique cabinet–well, that’s straight out of my kitchen!

  13. josephine Says:

    hi anne,
    it was so fun to meet up with you, too! love these photos. i’m such a sucker for striped textiles, like the ones on the couch.
    xx, josephine

  14. kasey Says:

    i love all that white furn, and you know me and white…
    xxoo

  15. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    I have been oohing and aahing through this entire post. that striped sofa is so lovely in the first photo… i have to try to copy that look.

  16. Michelle Says:

    Gorgeous, I love the mirror and the black and white floors and the comfy looking couches…

  17. jess@thehomebound Says:

    I always enjoy a nice weathered look. That mirror is my fave.

  18. lindley Says:

    ooo so lovely and cozy. love the striped fabric on the couch and the tall table.

  19. bandelle Says:

    Love the diamond pattern on the wooden floor. Your weekend sounded perfect!
    Kylie

  20. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    I’m happy you enjoyed a lovely and relaxing weekend!
    These pictures are lovely — I love the combination of old and new. And yes, the first wardrobe does take on a life of its own in the room. Talk about presence!

  21. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    I’m happy you enjoyed a lovely and relaxing weekend!
    These pictures are lovely — I love the combination of old and new. And yes, the first wardrobe does take on a life of its own in the room. Talk about presence!

  22. velvet and linen Says:

    So cool to see someone who is at the top of her game. These images are amazing. I’m saving them all!
    xo
    Brooke

  23. blair Says:

    These spaces are all so lovely! I think I will be dreaming about my mirror tonight.

  24. christina Says:

    Can I move in? Each of those rooms are absolutely perfect. I wouldn’t hang pictures of creepy strangers, but I could definitely use a Mortimer.

  25. dwellings and decor Says:

    I love that that dining table is placed at an angle. Genius!

  26. robin pulsifer Says:

    adore that kitchen with the checkered floor, and yes the black armoir is grandmotherly, and that room screams relax!

  27. Joanna Says:

    These spaces are SO romantic and have this old/modern sensibility that I think just works. I could so linger here.

  28. callie grayson Says:

    beautiful checker board flooring! love the painted wood. and i adore that portrait of the young man. I collect portraits and now I think i should have stories for each one!!

Leave a Reply

