Thanks for Everything, Domino.

domino covers.jpg

By now we’ve all heard the news. In fact you couldn’t go anywhere this week without encountering discussions of Domino’s imminent demise. Reactions in blogland have ranged from ‘good riddance’ to ‘good God, no!’ but I for one have avoided the topic altogether–simply because talking about it makes it feel real, and I don’t want it to be real. Domino wasn’t always a perfect magazine; indeed, as my passion for design has evolved, other publications have replaced it as my favourite. But Domino was the magazine that sparked that passion, and as such it will always hold a special place in my heart.

domino donald judd.jpg

Cassandra said it beautifully when she described Domino as ‘the one magazine to make design accessible and simple‘. Truly, holding an issue of Domino in your hands was like holding a key to a world previously open only to an elite few; the magazine was an exuberant and approachable trail guide for discovering the vocabulary, the references, and the courage to find your own design personality. Domino espoused a boundaries-free approach to decorating—blurring the lines between interiors and art, fashion and photography—thereby encouraging readers to find design inspiration wherever they darn well pleased.

domino green list.jpg

Domino opened our eyes to the endless possibilities of design as a force for social good. From uniting style with sustainability to showcasing independent designers and artisans, Domino played a huge role in the emergence of the now thriving green and handmade movements. Sure the shopping guides were fun and the pictures were pretty, but the lasting impression that Domino has left with us is a deeper appreciation for the power of design to make our world feel more safe, more welcoming, more like home.

domino columnists.jpg

Domino not only changed the way we think about design, it has forever impacted the way that we speak and write about design. With a roster of editors and columnists who felt like real people—like friends even!—Domino’s talented staff approached their subjects with equal parts gravitas and good humour. Their message? Don’t take this too seriously. Have fun. Create a design experience that is both intimate and inclusive, that learns from the past and that looks to the future, but that above all reflects your truest self.

domino vienna revival.jpg

The result? Page after page of gorgeous interiors. Subtly communicated lessons about design history and ideas for respecting that history while making it our own. The feeling that we too could paint our walls, set beautiful tables, find joy in our homes–without having to be paragons of domesticity. As I flipped through the pages of my old issues last night, I revisited images that I have come to know and love from the portfolios of my favourite photographers: Paul Costello, Mikkel Vang, Ditte Isager, Roland Bello. Had Domino not attuned my eyes to the magic of a well-composed room, an unexpected color palette, a surprising source for inspiration, I would not have the ability to appreciate these photographers’ work now. So thank you, Domino, for opening the doors to this world of history and harmony, empowerment and play. You will be greatly missed.

domino magazine decorating.jpg

All images courtesy of Domino Magazine.

Tags:

37 Responses to “Thanks for Everything, Domino.”

  1. Luphia Says:

    such a shame isn’t it, my new plan is to save all the images from their website before that disappears!

  2. Luphia Says:

    such a shame isn’t it, my new plan is to save all the images from their website before that disappears!

  3. josephine Says:

    well-put, anne! i coudn’t have said it better myself. xx

  4. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I’m starting to worry that by the end of the year I might actually have to start reading design books which are waaayy more expensive 😦 Have you tried Living Etc – it’s like Domino only not as good. But it could fill the void?

  5. Mary Jo Says:

    Anne, this is such a well written piece on Domino! I agree, it was not as sophisticated as I craved sometimes, but I loved that it opened the door, especially for so many young women who might not otherwise have found design to be fun and/or accessible. I am really bummed that it is gone and who knows, maybe it will will resurface in another form.

  6. stephanie Says:

    That spread they did on the Viennese Revival was one of my all-time favorites.
    Beautifully written post!

  7. nkp Says:

    The editors at Domino itself could not have written a more eloquent “farewell speech!” But it comes as no surprise to me that the words came from you, Anne. I too will miss Domino for all the same reasons and I’m certain that I’ll peruse every issue over and over again. I’m glad I saved them all, first to last.

  8. Joanna Says:

    Such a beautiful tribute to one of my favorite magazines. Like a phoenix from the ashes, I have faith that Domino will rise again, in some way, shape, or form!

  9. Annie Says:

    What a kind tribute to a classy publication! Thank you for such an elegant farewell! We’ll miss you, Domino!

  10. Annie Says:

    What a kind tribute to a classy publication! Thank you for such an elegant farewell! We’ll miss you, Domino!

  11. Megan Says:

    I enjoyed reading this, what a wonderfully written farewell to a design inspiration powerhouse. I just hope I can savor all the lovely photos and resources on their website before it’s all gone forever 😦

  12. a pretty pill Says:

    beautifully written! and couldn’t agree more. good thing i have the book;)

  13. a pretty pill Says:

    beautifully written! and couldn’t agree more. good thing i have the book;)

  14. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    what a beautiful homage to a magazine we all loved and will dearly miss. i’m so glad i held on to my old issues! they’re treasures!
    have a great weekend!
    xo, kristin

  15. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    what a beautiful homage to a magazine we all loved and will dearly miss. i’m so glad i held on to my old issues! they’re treasures!
    have a great weekend!
    xo, kristin

  16. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    Bravo on your lovely tribute!

  17. blair Says:

    Wow, Anne -as much as I have read about Domino and its demise this week, this is the most thoughtful and eloquent post on the topic. Thank you for always expressing your thoughts so beautifully! blair

  18. Tina Says:

    nnoooo!!! say it isn’t so. 😦
    I finally felt like there was a decor magazine specifically made for me when Dominio first hit the newstands. such a bummer.

  19. Tonya Says:

    I had just heard about Domino and ordered a subscription the day before it closed! I’d love to hear any suggestions on a replacement- I am new to a love of design and I have no idea where to go now. 😦

  20. Melissa Says:

    This is such a beautifully written post! I will be sad to see Domino go 😦

  21. dwellings and decor Says:

    You said exactly everything I was feeling! Beautifully written post!

  22. christina Says:

    Well said, my dear. I absolutely agree about the approachable factor. Domino will be greatly missed. 😦

  23. vee Says:

    awesome tribute post to domino, i am so sad to see it go! 😦

  24. Town Says:

    I really enjoyed the “Can this Outfit be turned into a room?” features. I’ll miss Domino.

  25. Town Says:

    I really enjoyed the “Can this Outfit be turned into a room?” features. I’ll miss Domino.

  26. callie grayson Says:

    very well said!
    i will miss this magazine for it’s inspiration.

  27. callie grayson Says:

    very well said!
    i will miss this magazine for it’s inspiration.

  28. velvet and linen Says:

    Too depressing to talk about, Anne.
    Domino was the best.
    xo
    Brooke

  29. Chris Says:

    Yes, it’s a sad, sad day, isn’t it? What is saddest is that it means it’s the demise of a magazine that wasn’t so mainstream and that fostered creativity and a different point of view.

  30. maggie Says:

    i wrote a post about this as well, too flustered to be so eloquent- you said it beautifully. sniff.

  31. Rebecca Says:

    whew–first blueprint, now domino–hard to believe. so many of us have been passionately reading and yet…! I was reading your fine post, Anne, and went to check the mail only to find a domino renewal notice had arrived–such timing!

  32. Alexis Says:

    Bummer! Are there any good magazines left?????

  33. Michelle Says:

    Tis a sad, sad day

  34. nkp Says:

    Hi Anne…I tagged you on my blog, come by and take a look and if you’re interested, play along! :0)

  35. jae Says:

    I’m sure others have already said it, but that was a perfectly written tribute. You really captured the essence of why Domino was loved and why it will be missed.

  36. GeorgiaB Says:

    i miss domino already, too. i’m just glad for the three years worth of issues i kept. they will come in handy for school and a career in int. design!
    and i miss you.
    i’m such a lame blog visitor these days. when all the chaos of my life dies down, i will get back into it.
    until then, i’ll see you on fb and stuff. 🙂

  37. moggit girls Says:

    FAb, FAB post!

Leave a Reply

