Spotted: The Perfect Sofa

200901282225.jpg

I am the world’s pickiest sofa snob. My list of requirements is a mile long. Most important? A bench seat—I hate getting swallowed up by that gaping crevice between separate seat cushions—and low arms, so as to prevent any Edith Ann moments. After seeing the Presidio Sofa on a recent trip to Williams Sonoma Home, I am convinced that I have found The One!

presidio sofa.jpg

It doesn’t hurt that the floor model at the store was upholstered in a gorgeous glazed linen—
the surface had a touch of pearlized sheen that was so subtly glamourous! I’d complement
the Presidio’s clean lines with some Moreno Nesting Tables from Crate and Barrel (though if I’m dreaming, I’d much prefer these Moon Tables from Ochre). Then for fun I’d throw in something over-the-top girly like the Sophie Chair by Oly Studio. Now if only I had $3,000 lying around…

Tell me, what are your sofa requirements?

Tags:

17 Responses to “Spotted: The Perfect Sofa”

  1. JENNIFER RAMOS Says:

    By the way just wanted to mention quick…Im having a GIVEAWAY on my blog, all you have to do is leave a comment telling me what your favorite stores to shop at are…(If you haven’t already)
    Jen Ramos
    ‘Cards & Prints You’ll Love…’
    http://www.madebygirl.com
    madebygirl.blogspot.com

  2. Jenny Says:

    Very elegant! I like the dark brown mixed with the white very much.

  3. vicki archer Says:

    That sofa is a very pretty shape and of course looks fantastic upholstered like that. I would love the pair of Moon tables too, xv.

  4. The Deco Detective Says:

    It’s really beautiful! But what, $ 10000??? Love your collage though!

  5. Kotori Says:

    Love the sofa. I never thought about it, but you’re right a bench seat is so much smarter (filing that away for when the time comes for my new couch). That one has such beautiful lines. Love it!

  6. Jess LC Says:

    That single cushion sofa is SO important, I agree! Have you seen Room and Board’s awesome sofas? There is one that reminds me of your image in velvet, though that style may have two seat cushions. Check it out: http://www.roomandboard.com/rnb/product/detail.do?productGroup=19434&category=rm_living_spaces&subcategory=sofa

  7. liso Says:

    mmm-hmmm, picky here, too. teh huzz and i are both tall folk, so for me it’s all about size. i don’t want something that makes me feel like a giant with my knees up to chin. i also don’t want the end of the seat cushion to hit me mid-hamstring. and the back of the couch has to be tall, so as not to hit me below the shoulders. then there has to be enough snuggle room for two (it’s okay if you have to take a cushion off) and long enough to lay down on.
    which is all fine and good except that i much prefer loveseats to a full size sofa. argh.

  8. robin pulsifer Says:

    that first photo, there is something about that sky blue color/robin’s egg blue of those walls, i can never get enough of that color. so soft, so elegant! gorgeous room ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Joanna Says:

    That is one dreamy sofa.
    I love this one from the Domino website.
    http://www.dominomag.com/galleries/objects/furniture/seating/cozysofas10
    SO sad the mag is folding. Waaaah.

  10. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    these are GREAT pieces. i love the shape of that chair…

  11. Melanie Says:

    Yep, you’re right. That is the perfect couch.

  12. Rachel Says:

    Oh yes. I vastly prefer bench seats – so much easier to deal with. I am overly picky about couches as well. Which is fine, because I have a perfectly serviceable couch and really couldn’t justify indulging in one I truly love at this point.

  13. kasey Says:

    yes, that is a wonderful one indeed!
    xxoo

  14. christina Says:

    I’m a major sofa snob. And on top of it, I’m also very indecisive about major purchases. So that leaves me in quite the predicament. I’ve got my eye on a couple…just waiting to make up my mind, and waiting for my bank account to catch up with my tastes.
    I love the shape of that sofa. It would never go out of style. And it looks fantastic with that cute zebra chair.

  15. stephanie Says:

    Have you seen the Mitchell Gold Marlena?
    Sort of similar in feel (but costs way less, and comes in different lengths … my mom is sofa shopping, so I have been doing some research : )
    http://www.mgandbw.com/marlena_sf.asp

  16. please sir Says:

    I’m always on the lookout for the perfect sofa – and this one sure is lovely!

  17. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    my two favorite words: glazed linen. is there any fabric prettier? and to see how it wears over the years is so wonderful.
    that sofa is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

Spotted: The Perfect Sofa

200901282225.jpg

I am the world’s pickiest sofa snob. My list of requirements is a mile long. Most important? A bench seat—I hate getting swallowed up by that gaping crevice between separate seat cushions—and low arms, so as to prevent any Edith Ann moments. After seeing the Presidio Sofa on a recent trip to Williams Sonoma Home, I am convinced that I have found The One!

presidio sofa.jpg

It doesn’t hurt that the floor model at the store was upholstered in a gorgeous glazed linen—
the surface had a touch of pearlized sheen that was so subtly glamourous! I’d complement
the Presidio’s clean lines with some Moreno Nesting Tables from Crate and Barrel (though if I’m dreaming, I’d much prefer these Moon Tables from Ochre). Then for fun I’d throw in something over-the-top girly like the Sophie Chair by Oly Studio. Now if only I had $3,000 lying around…

Tell me, what are your sofa requirements?

19 Responses to “Spotted: The Perfect Sofa”

  1. JENNIFER RAMOS Says:

    By the way just wanted to mention quick…Im having a GIVEAWAY on my blog, all you have to do is leave a comment telling me what your favorite stores to shop at are…(If you haven’t already)
    Jen Ramos
    ‘Cards & Prints You’ll Love…’
    http://www.madebygirl.com
    madebygirl.blogspot.com

  2. Kimberly Says:

    You must listen to the ‘This American Life’ about the guy who’s been looking for the perfect sofa for like, eleven years. He’s gone through tons of relationships because of it and cruelly, only has his crappy college sofa while he hunts it… tragic!

  3. Catherine Says:

    Elengant, stylish and spare, but still looks comfortable. Hang the expense, go for it!

  4. Luphia Says:

    my requirement is quite easy i think, just really comfy & stylish sofas, that’s easy to find right? ๐Ÿ˜‰ so understand what you mean about the separate seat cushions, and that sofa is so classic & elegant, looks so comfy too!

  5. Kimberly Julie Says:

    Williams Sonoma HOME?!?! Oh lord… you just opened up a whole other can of worms… (How in the hell did I not know about this already?! Honestly, I’m disappointed in myself.)

  6. Miss Aimee Says:

    I will have to say I LOOOOVE that SOFA! Could never have it with 3 kids but love it! cheers

  7. Jess LC Says:

    That single cushion sofa is SO important, I agree! Have you seen Room and Board’s awesome sofas? There is one that reminds me of your image in velvet, though that style may have two seat cushions. Check it out: http://www.roomandboard.com/rnb/product/detail.do?productGroup=19434&category=rm_living_spaces&subcategory=sofa

  8. liso Says:

    mmm-hmmm, picky here, too. teh huzz and i are both tall folk, so for me it’s all about size. i don’t want something that makes me feel like a giant with my knees up to chin. i also don’t want the end of the seat cushion to hit me mid-hamstring. and the back of the couch has to be tall, so as not to hit me below the shoulders. then there has to be enough snuggle room for two (it’s okay if you have to take a cushion off) and long enough to lay down on.
    which is all fine and good except that i much prefer loveseats to a full size sofa. argh.

  9. a pretty pill Says:

    to be honest, i have never purchased a sofa. i foresee a very long, painful disagreement coming on with the hubs when we make our first purchase in a few months. he likes sprawled out sectionals and i like anything but that. i’m definitely going to need your help when the time comes;) this one would be perfect for me!

  10. Absolutely Not Martha Says:

    We’ve done white leather, floral prints, even some futons with funky pattern covers. Now all I want is a huge comfy sectional in some neutral.

  11. ambika Says:

    After wrestling with cushions on our last sofa, I prefer bench backs and throw pillows. This one at Z Gallerie has a similar shape–without the cushions http://www.zgallerie.com/pc-1043-57-ricki-sofa.aspx

  12. Melanie Says:

    Yep, you’re right. That is the perfect couch.

  13. Mary Jo Says:

    Ugh. The sofa dillema! I too went through it my sitting room and finally opted for a West Elm Day bed because it’s comfy–but so not me and I really don’t love the bulk. I’d love to switch it out with your dream couch only my living room couches are upholstered white (what a mistake with 2 muddy kitties treking through)! And of course it would need to be long enough for a good nap. I will be checking it out though–thanks for the tip. I always dream about the Jonathan Adler one and need to go test drive it before I waste more dream time…
    xo Mary Jo

  14. kasey Says:

    yes, that is a wonderful one indeed!
    xxoo

  15. dwellings and decor Says:

    That sofa is stunning! Thanks for your comment on my blog today. It made me laugh. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Redframe Says:

    Comfort, size and style. Near impossible to find all three together. This one is beautiful but it doesn’t look like it would want me to sprawl all over it? Next…

  17. please sir Says:

    I’m always on the lookout for the perfect sofa – and this one sure is lovely!

  18. nkp Says:

    After reading your post, I took a look at the sofas in our house…the one in the keeping room is a MG&BW leather sectional whose like an old friend, tried and true, but it has definitely incurred a beating from my three sons! In the living room the sofa is a silvery green velvet tufted number that I love, and in the basement we have two, one a low-slung boxy modern sofa that’s perfect for movie nights and game nights alike, and a smaller marimekko-fabric covered sofa cum sleeper, the black and white fashionista. So what does this smorgasbord say about me? SCHIZOPHRENIC?

  19. Emily Johnston Says:

    my perfect sofa:
    http://www.rowefurniture.com/collections/sofas/cohiba/default.htm
    I’m so excited… I’m ordering it in the next week or so. Oh, and not in the atrocious color pictures but in a gorgeous cream chenille. (I think. Hubby & I are looking at swatches tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

