What’s Better than Pink?

pink ombre.jpg

Pink Ombre! Whether it’s a subtle color fade on a wall or a bold splash of sunset-inspired silk,
ombre is one of my favourite trends for Spring 2009. And seeing it in pink makes me happy as a cat in cream.

Painting a color gradient on your walls is a bit of commitment, but it could be fun to try your hand at some dip-dyed throw pillows. Although that box of RIT dye does inspire visions of a) failed childhood tie-dye projects and b) 1960’s commune living. So what’s your opinion on ombre: cutting edge or crunchy granola?

Tags: , , ,

22 Responses to “What’s Better than Pink?”

  1. stephanie Says:

    I think something pink ombre sounds like a perfect valentine’s project!

  2. Roberta Jane Says:

    That’s a nice way to brighten up the morning… And I agree with Stephanie, pink dip-dye sounds like a great Valentine’s project!

  3. Roberta Jane Says:

    That’s a nice way to brighten up the morning… And I agree with Stephanie, pink dip-dye sounds like a great Valentine’s project!

  4. perfect bound Says:

    I’d rather eat my pink than wear it; cupcakes, macaroons, wedding cake! Anything sweet and pink sounds good to me.

  5. perfect bound Says:

    I’d rather eat my pink than wear it; cupcakes, macaroons, wedding cake! Anything sweet and pink sounds good to me.

  6. Jen Says:

    Tie-dye/dip-dye= Crunchy granola….”undulating colors”= new spring trend

  7. mary jo Says:

    Of course I’m a big pink ombre fan and every photo op from last summer I’m wearing a hot pink shiburi dyed dress from my spring/summer 09 line–I think everyone else thought I just had outlandish (questionable) taste–perhaps I will be vindicated soon??

  8. Miss Aimee Says:

    trendy crunchy!

  9. Rachel Says:

    I’m not sure if I would try it. Like you, Rit Dye conjures up failed tie-dye projects for me.
    But, interestingly enough, I saw this undulating colors trend on “Extreme Home Makeover” Sunday! Seriously. Actually, the treatment was really cool. If you follow this link, you can click on the pic in the bottom right of the pics (the Master Bedroom) – that is a good shot of it.
    http://abc.go.com/primetime/xtremehome/index?pn=photos#t=33171

  10. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    Having attended Berkeley, I must admit that I have seen too much of my fair share of tie-dye, regardless of how lovely the hue is.
    However, the gradient wall is divine, and with the color growing lighter towards the ceiling, it makes the room feel much taller and grander.
    Somehow Anne, you make tie-dye glamorous and stylish! 🙂

  11. Kristy Says:

    How about edgy granola? Because it’s not *quite* tie dye, but it’s definitely reminiscent. 😉

  12. ambika Says:

    I love the look of ombre but just have this bad feeling it’ll be the handkerchief hem top of 2008/2009. Not that that should stop anyone!

  13. WendyB Says:

    I have a BEAUTIFUL pink ombre dress. Photo to come…one of these days.

  14. Amanda Says:

    Yes! It’s good to see that my pink and linen colored wedding will still be “in style”.

  15. Amanda Says:

    Yes! It’s good to see that my pink and linen colored wedding will still be “in style”.

  16. blair Says:

    “happy as a cat in cream” — you are too cute! You are right that pink ombre is quite pretty and don’t think it is crunchy at all!

  17. callie grayson Says:

    very pretty, love the fading.

  18. Megan Says:

    ooh, this is quite fabulous and really sums it up: everything is 10x better in pink.

  19. josephine Says:

    i see ombre as an elegant version of tie-dye.

  20. Lecia Says:

    I love “happy as a cat in cream”! I think ombre is pretty, though I wouldn’t use it.

  21. lindley Says:

    it took me a while to warm up to it, but im really liking ombre now!

  22. Sometimes dresses Says:

    I’m still stuck on the title on your post! What’s better than pink? Sorry, but I have to go with purple…
    http://sometimesdresses.tumblr.com/search/purple
    But if you’re going to go with purple’s lesser cousin, then I have to say that wall is positively dreamy.

Leave a Reply

