Photographer Lust: James Tse

tse 24.png

Get a load of these gorgeous interiors as captured by the fabulous photographer James Tse! I love the texture in these shots, the way that the personalities of the natural materials really shine through. Every swirl of teakwood, every vein of marble, every pebble of leather: it’s a sensory smorgasbord in the best possible way!

tse 15.png

The pale, washed out tones of the room above have the potential to feel cold, but the textures of the stone behind the bed and the fuzzy, nubby rug really heat things up. And the sleek white Barcelona chairs and Saarinen table below are a terrific contrast to the earthy fireplace surround and burnished wood floor.

tse 6.png

What a wonderful photo gallery! It feels so exuberant, with the frames just taking over the whole wall. That giant leaf painting not only breaks up all the blacks and whites with its textural warmth, it also ties in beautifully with the wood floor.

tse 9.png

How fun are the animal touches in this vignette? I know we’ve seen antlers and fur throws everywhere this season, but this shot is a great example of how these playful details can punch up an otherwise straightforward space. The cow print on those slick metal chairs is sending me into fits of ecstasy, and check out the fabulous portrait in the background!

tse 19.png

Another charming mix of pieces. I’m always unsure of how to blend shades of black and white with wood tones, but it’s definitely doable when you stick with simple shapes as in the dining room below. The only opulent piece in the whole setting is that smidgen of chandelier; everything else is clean, graphic, bold.

tse 33.png

Another a great instance in which seemingly disparate elements are united by similar lines. The ethnic inlaid desk, the quirky lamp, and the thoroughly modern chair all have spindly, skinny legs. Do you think the connection is strong enough to make it work?

tse 18.png

Holy windows Batman! Don’t you want to bask in this light with a good book or a game of Scrabble? Painting the window frames white and the muntins black makes the windows the focal point of the room and accentuates how grand and expansive these beauties are. Genius!

tse 1 1.png

I had to throw this last image in for my mom. She’s a total rug nut—she literally has more antique Kilims than she has floor space to cover! I can just see her luxuriating in this deep tub, enjoying the sight of her beloved rug as much as she’s enjoying the bath itself. I can also see her when I come to visit, pounding down the bathroom door and asking, ‘Are you getting water all over my rug?’ Sorry mom, but you know you would!

tse 14.png

All images courtesy of James Tse. Oh, and I owe complete credit to the brilliant Roseland Greene for turning me on to Tse’s work.

Tags:

23 Responses to “Photographer Lust: James Tse”

  1. Kotori Says:

    Beautiful photos – white can seem so cold sometimes, but you’re right if really feels warmer in all these shots. It makes me want to inject more white into my house.

  2. Luphia Says:

    I am so LOVING that bedroom! these interiors are gorgeous!

  3. Luphia Says:

    I am so LOVING that bedroom! these interiors are gorgeous!

  4. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Be still my heart those stairs are beautiful! Oh and I’ve given you an award http://tinyurl.com/d5przw

  5. Rachel Says:

    These are all amazing. I want to sink my feet into that nubbly rug.

  6. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    all of these shots are incredible. i especially love that staircase in the first photo. they have an almost haunting quality, but they’re so pretty.

  7. vee Says:

    love the photo collages!!

  8. Jenny Says:

    Wow, the windows look amazing. Great pictures.

  9. Jenny Says:

    Wow, the windows look amazing. Great pictures.

  10. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    That staircase in #1 is truly gorgeous, and I’d want to sit for a game of Scrabble in front of those windows any day.
    xo, kristin
    ps – i LOVE kilims!

  11. Kristin @ Contented Me Says:

    That staircase in #1 is truly gorgeous, and I’d want to sit for a game of Scrabble in front of those windows any day.
    xo, kristin
    ps – i LOVE kilims!

  12. Erin Says:

    Drool. Puddles of drool all over my desk. Thank you my dear!

  13. Erin Says:

    Drool. Puddles of drool all over my desk. Thank you my dear!

  14. Mary Jo Says:

    Loving that gray bedroom, especially that gray chair!
    Beautiful photos!
    xo Mary Jo

  15. Mary Jo Says:

    Loving that gray bedroom, especially that gray chair!
    Beautiful photos!
    xo Mary Jo

  16. i.d. Says:

    You’re right, he captures the textures beautifully! So pretty but lived-in too. x

  17. Carrie Leber Says:

    his work is amazing! thanks for the find – I’ll have to bookmark his site.

  18. tammy sage Says:

    Wise guy!

  19. callie grayson Says:

    beautiful photography and amazing interiors. thanks for sharing!!!
    that tub was amazing. and the windows, oh and the brno chairs with the cow hide! they are fantastic!!!

  20. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh Anne, so beautiful interiors! I adore those portraits and white armchairs.
    Thank you for your lovely comment while I was on vacation!
    xoxo

  21. jae Says:

    I’m not saying anything that hasn’t already been said, but those are stunning images of stunning interiors. I could list all of my favorite things, but this is supposed to be a comment not an epistle.

  22. please sir Says:

    Great interiors – love the bookshelves and that lovely bathtub!

  23. dolce chic Says:

    Beautiful home…I especially like the black and white frames!

Leave a Reply

