To Die for Recipe: Monster Cookies

DSC_0044.JPG

I hate to make decisions. When asked to choose between multiple options, I usually just take it all. My indecision generally leads to trouble; is a triple decker ice cream cone really in my best interest? Do I need ballet flats in every color under the sun? For those of you who are like me when it comes to making choices, I come bearing glad tidings: with these monster cookies, you can have it all. They are an oatmeal cookie, a peanut butter cookie, and a chocolate chip cookie all in one grand package—with an M&M candy bonus to boot!

DSC_0040.JPG

I was drawn to this recipe not only because it sounded amazing, but because it had a very unique ratio of ingredients. It contains only half a cup of flour but over five cups of oats–if you do much baking you know how weird that is–and it calls for a full tablespoon of baking soda! My first thought was, 'Surely that's a typo!' But these are gorgeous: super moist, with warm but not overwhelming peanut butter flavour and great oaty chew. The bigger you make them, the better. They're called Monster Cookies after all!

Monster Cookies
Recipe courtesy of 'Baked: New Frontiers in Baking' by Matt Lewis

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
3/4 cup cold butter, cut into cubes
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
5 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon light corn syrup
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups creamy peanut butter (NOT the natural kind!)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup M&M's

In a large bowl, combine flour, soda, salt and oats. In the bowl of an electric mixer cream butter until smooth and pale. Add sugars and mix until just incorporated. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in vanilla, corn syrup and peanut butter and mix until smooth but do not overmix. Stir in oat mixture in three additions, then fold in chocolate chips and candies. Refrigerate at least 5 hours or overnight. When ready to bake, heat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop generously sized balls (about 3-4 tablespoons worth) onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 12-15 minutes until just barely browned, then remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes on the baking sheet before removing to cooling rack. Enjoy!

5 3/4 cups rolled oats

14 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Monster Cookies”

  1. Luphia Says:

    these look so yummy, i have a weakness for cookies and M&Ms, i love the name too, “monster” cookie! πŸ˜‰

  2. liso Says:

    totally trying these…everyone needs a little extra happy!

  3. Miss Aimee Says:

    my kids would freak out for these cookies!

  4. camila Says:

    Totally mad at you!!! I’m trying to be good and cut back on sweets, but these cookies sound and look so yummy that I think I’m going to have to make them this weekend. I least they are part oatmeal and that’s healthy. right?

  5. christina Says:

    Why, oh why do you do this to me? My sweet tooth is bad enough on its own…but with your help, it’s out of control.
    These look incredible! And as I have no self control, we will be trying these this weekend. πŸ™‚

  6. Melissa Says:

    I love monster cookies πŸ™‚

  7. Jen Says:

    Ok I know that was harsh…but I am seriously going to chew my arm off. Or eat the dog…whichever is closest.

  8. Erin Says:

    With all your baking wonders thus far it seems like if anyone is going to have a good, healthy (“healthy”) cookie recipe to satisfy my life long quest, its going to be you. So, got anything for me?!

  9. Rachel Says:

    I’m salivating.

  10. Free Printable Coupons Says:

    ClickMyCoupons.com is a community where consumer can be a expert in saving money through free online coupons, best coupons codes at great coupon discounts.

  11. Rebecca Says:

    yumyum!

  12. mrs. french Says:

    monster cookies!!!! Yay! some of my best childhood memories involve these yummies…xo t

  13. deweyeyed Says:

    I made these with my 7-yr-old yesterday, with two small alterations: we added a handful of raisins, as my 2-yr-old is a raisin monster, and I substituted molasses for the 1/4 tsp light corn syrup as I didn’t want to purchase a whole bottle of something I didn’t have on hand for that small amount.
    These came out very well, a bit sweet for my tastes (I’d probably take about 1/2 c of sugar out of the mix next time) but my son is enthralled.
    Thanks for posting this recipe!

  14. please sir Says:

    YUMMMMMM!!!!

Leave a Reply

To Die for Recipe: Monster Cookies

DSC_0044.JPG

I hate to make decisions. When asked to choose between multiple options, I usually just take it all. My indecision generally leads to trouble; is a triple decker ice cream cone really in my best interest? Do I need ballet flats in every color under the sun? For those of you who are like me when it comes to making choices, I come bearing glad tidings: with these monster cookies, you can have it all. They are an oatmeal cookie, a peanut butter cookie, and a chocolate chip cookie all in one grand package—with an M&M candy bonus to boot!

DSC_0040.JPG

I was drawn to this recipe not only because it sounded amazing, but because it had a very unique ratio of ingredients. It contains only half a cup of flour but over five cups of oats–if you do much baking you know how weird that is–and it calls for a full tablespoon of baking soda! My first thought was, 'Surely that's a typo!' But these are gorgeous: super moist, with warm but not overwhelming peanut butter flavour and great oaty chew. The bigger you make them, the better. They're called Monster Cookies after all!

Monster Cookies
Recipe courtesy of 'Baked: New Frontiers in Baking' by Matt Lewis

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
3/4 cup cold butter, cut into cubes
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
5 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon light corn syrup
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups creamy peanut butter (NOT the natural kind!)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup M&M's

In a large bowl, combine flour, soda, salt and oats. In the bowl of an electric mixer cream butter until smooth and pale. Add sugars and mix until just incorporated. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in vanilla, corn syrup and peanut butter and mix until smooth but do not overmix. Stir in oat mixture in three additions, then fold in chocolate chips and candies. Refrigerate at least 5 hours or overnight. When ready to bake, heat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop generously sized balls (about 3-4 tablespoons worth) onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 12-15 minutes until just barely browned, then remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes on the baking sheet before removing to cooling rack. Enjoy!

5 3/4 cups rolled oats

15 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Monster Cookies”

  1. The Deco Detective Says:

    Oh, yummy! I’m definitely the “can’t choose” type, so these should be perfect! BF would love them, too.

  2. stephanie Says:

    Like manna from heaven!
    I was just telling Sean that I needed a new cookie recipe to try – these look killer!
    PS _ Your rave review of the the current/elliott boyfriend jean is not healping my fiscal responsibility resolutions.

  3. kasey Says:

    okay, i will try….

  4. nkp Says:

    Monster-size is what my rear end will turn into if you keep tempting me with these incredible baked goodies. Good thing calories can not be gained by merely ogling the computer screen!

  5. camila Says:

    Totally mad at you!!! I’m trying to be good and cut back on sweets, but these cookies sound and look so yummy that I think I’m going to have to make them this weekend. I least they are part oatmeal and that’s healthy. right?

  6. Joanna Says:

    Me want cookies!

  7. Jen Says:

    Bitch.

  8. Jen Says:

    Ok I know that was harsh…but I am seriously going to chew my arm off. Or eat the dog…whichever is closest.

  9. jessica@thehomebound Says:

    ok, yum. I’ll have to try it out.

  10. Sara Says:

    Isn’t there a peanut butter recall going on right now? But other than worries of salmonella those sound great!

  11. Free Printable Coupons Says:

    ClickMyCoupons.com is a community where consumer can be a expert in saving money through free online coupons, best coupons codes at great coupon discounts.

  12. Rebecca Says:

    yumyum!

  13. Heidi Jo Says:

    Yuuuuum! Unfortunately I’m on a super strict diet right now since I have been sick since Thanksgiving, but if I am ever allowed to cheat again, I have to make these!

  14. Courtney Says:

    Oh, yum! These look delicious- and completely perfect for me since I too often suffer from indecision… πŸ™‚

  15. please sir Says:

    YUMMMMMM!!!!

Leave a Reply

