Inaugural Denim: Current Elliot

current elliot 2.png

What better way to celebrate an exciting new era in American history than with these fresh looks featuring that most American of textiles, denim? I’ve been on a bit of a jeans hiatus lately— partly because I’ve been working from home and have been living in my pajamas, but also because it’s been a while since anything caught my attention in the denim department…

current elliot 8.png

But then I tried on a pair of Current Elliot Boyfriend Jeans last weekend and let me tell you, they are awesome! Incredibly soft, fit like a glove, utterly wearable. And a trip to the Current Elliot website reveals an entire wardrobe of hot denim styles beyond that celeb favourite style.

current elliot 3.png

One thing I am loving about denim at the moment is the sense that there is no ‘one’ silhouette that everyone must conform to. Wide or skinny, bootcut or bell: everything is fair game and mixing it up is half the fun! And while I’ll always stick close to my classic dark washes, some of these distressed finishes are appealing to me as well.

current elliot 7.png

The most recent J. Crew catalogue hailed the return of the jean jacket, and if they’re all as cool as this one then sign me up! I adore it styled with a turned up collar for a twist on the classic shape.

current elliot 10.png

Finally, in the spirit of new historical horizons, how about pushing the denim envelope with a funky fresh vest? I love it paired with a flirty dress and tough boots; it’s that one-of-a-kind blend of playful and spirited, rugged and independent, that characterizes American style.

current elliot 5.png

On a serious note, as I sit here watching the opening words of the inauguration, I feel very proud of my country. May we all remember where we were, who we were with, and what we were thinking on this historic day. Welcome President Obama!

Tags: ,

11 Responses to “Inaugural Denim: Current Elliot”

  1. Luphia Says:

    jeans are the best! i literally live in mine! these photos are stunning too & the big day is finally here! x

  2. jora Says:

    I have been admiring Current Elliot for awhile now, but have yet to make anything of theirs my own. I am very intrigued by those boyfriend jeans! And I can’t begin to tell you how happy I am the denim jacket is back!!

  3. robin pulsifer Says:

    welcome indeed!!! i was moved to tears, just fabulous. the changing tide is called hope. oh yeah and love the jeans! 🙂

  4. Rachel Says:

    Yay for super soft jeans! I live in jeans, so I’m always on the lookout for a good pair.
    And yay for a big day of change!

  5. Design Lovely Says:

    I live in my pajamas too. Maybe I shouldn’t admit that. 🙂 I love these country photos. Life looks so easy there!

  6. Design Lovely Says:

    I live in my pajamas too. Maybe I shouldn’t admit that. 🙂 I love these country photos. Life looks so easy there!

  7. Chris Says:

    I am loving denim too, especially (like you said) all the different cuts that are available and how totally acceptable they are! And I have a jean jacket, have had it for a few years now, and love it. I recently read they weren’t in fashion and kind of aren’t, so that goes to tell you how much I know about these things. I guess just buy and wear what you like and what feels good!

  8. callie grayson Says:

    yes, jeans are the best! i wear them all weekend long. we can’t wear jeans at work not even on fridays *frown*
    i love that funky jean vest! very cool with that pretty dress.

  9. milly Says:

    im luvin my Seven jeans right now..standard, i know, but they fit so right! HAHA

  10. PauletteINK Says:

    I was a little skeptical of boyfriend jeans at first, but I think you may have converted me:) Another one of my favorite jean labels is Habitual.

  11. Courtney Says:

    I love jeans, and I am always on a quest for a great new pair. I do love a good denim jacket, and the denim vest looks so great with that dress! What a post… makes me want to shop!

Leave a Reply

