Shopping Trip: CB2

cb2 catalogue.png

The new CB2 catalogue landed in my mailbox yesterday and I opened it with ambivalence. I have mixed feelings about CB2. It’s not that I don’t like uber-modern interiors, but rather that their take on modern often lacks personality. And in many cases, their pieces look very similar to those you can buy at IKEA but are much pricier. Still, I’m a gal who likes to find the good in everything, and CB2 does have a few nice things in the offing. I really enjoy the styling in the shot above: clean and warm, graphic but livable.

cb2 city sage.jpg
The Beale Chair is light and airy; I love how its skinny legs make it seem to float above the ground. The contrasting heft of the Piazza Sofa renders it a natural companion for the slimmer chair. And I’m trying my best to shush my inner design snob when she points out that the latter is a direct reference to Fritz Hansen’s PK22 Easy Chair. Perhaps I can distract her with the sleek yet organic Teepee Dining Table
cb2 city sage 2.jpg

In terms of accessories, the 9-cube Wall Shelf is kinda funky with its open cage construction and zinc finish—it would lend any office space a bit of industrial edge. The Flock Rug features a dynamic print whose vivacity is toned down by soothing shades of grey, navy and taupe. Finally, this Bike Pillow is super fun. But don’t you think you could find something even cooler on Etsy?

However I must give credit where credit is due. Although many CB2 pieces resemble IKEA furniture on the surface, the quality of CB2 blows IKEA out of the water. I bought the Trig Desk for a client and own the Lubi Daybed myself—and I’ve been really pleased with the construction and durability of both. As well, the service at CB2 has always been excellent. So I’d say pick and choose pieces carefully, but buy with confidence knowing that this stuff will last.

What’s your CB2 verdict?

Tags: , ,

37 Responses to “Shopping Trip: CB2”

  1. Jen Says:

    Yes I am the first comment! I agree…I like CB2 just not always how they put things together. It it too “cold New York warehouse” for me.

  2. trailingspouse Says:

    I want that floorlamp. I’ve been searching high and low for one like that.

  3. Jenny Says:

    I like the glass table and I agree that it isn’t that hard to find something cooler than the cute bike pillow on etsy, hehe.

  4. Lynne Says:

    Mmm, love that rug. It’s just my colours too. I’m a little obsessed with flying birds so wonder how much it would cost to ship (a lot, I’ thinking…)

  5. Luphia Says:

    i know what you mean about these uber-modern furnishing companies, they do look like idea sometimes which is not a bad thing until you find out they’re 10 times the price! but I do LOVE that first room!

  6. stephanie Says:

    I love the marta glasses at CB2- they are the proverbial bomb – but I go sparingly with furnishings, rugs, etc. Everything is a little too on trend for me, although they do have some nice pieces.

  7. JILL Says:

    I like CB2. But I agree it can be hit or miss.
    p.s. I have not mailed the ‘goodies’ yet but keep your eye on the mailbox. πŸ™‚

  8. nkp Says:

    What a coincidence, I have the Lubi daybed as well. I have to say I was happy with the service from CB2 and the shipping deals are very reasonable. I also purchased a set of lucite nesting tables that are so functional, and I love their Marimekko fabric panels. That dining table above is a steal!

  9. robin pulsifer Says:

    so funny…i posted a small post about cb2 the other day and also liked the bike pillow. but you’re right i found as i looked through the mag there was alot that didn’t distinguish itself from other similar stores. instead of drooling over almost everything in it as i do in some of my favorite mags, i picked anc chose what to ogle. love the soap post below too! i’m off to check the etsy site out. i made soap one year for lots of x-mas presents, was fun. πŸ™‚

  10. cevd Says:

    i kinda have a soft spot for cb2 but agree with pretty much everything you say. and i really kinda love the 9 cub wall shelf.

  11. Kristin Says:

    I agree that CB2 sometimes comes off a bit ‘cold’… but I still manage to find things I like whenever I go to the store. Usually its the accessories and tableware that catch my eye and not so much the furniture. I like my furniture to be much cozier.

  12. Kristin Says:

    I agree that CB2 sometimes comes off a bit ‘cold’… but I still manage to find things I like whenever I go to the store. Usually its the accessories and tableware that catch my eye and not so much the furniture. I like my furniture to be much cozier.

  13. Kristy Says:

    So I was looking through my CB2 catalog last night, and I really liked the lime green Go-cart desk with the Trig filing cabinet. I think the pop of color would make my bedroom a little more exciting. I don’t have a lot of space, but they might fit in front of the window….
    I mostly like CB2 for accessories (like the milk carton vase) and because I know it’s better quality than Ikea. Of course, if I’m just looking for a cheap (and most likely shorter-term) solution, I’ll just go to Ikea.

  14. Kristy Says:

    So I was looking through my CB2 catalog last night, and I really liked the lime green Go-cart desk with the Trig filing cabinet. I think the pop of color would make my bedroom a little more exciting. I don’t have a lot of space, but they might fit in front of the window….
    I mostly like CB2 for accessories (like the milk carton vase) and because I know it’s better quality than Ikea. Of course, if I’m just looking for a cheap (and most likely shorter-term) solution, I’ll just go to Ikea.

  15. ambika Says:

    I got this last week and was marvelling at how many things I loved. Though I think Herman Miller might be able to sue them for all of the designs they’ve paid homage to.

  16. ambika Says:

    I got this last week and was marvelling at how many things I loved. Though I think Herman Miller might be able to sue them for all of the designs they’ve paid homage to.

  17. Megan Says:

    Great picks! I’ve never been a huge CB2 fan myself but I’m always willing to be open-minded. Still, I wouldn’t mind things with a bit more color. Although I do like the brick wall and wooden flooring combination in that first photo!

  18. hellogorgeous Says:

    Anne, thanks for the link to your gray room. It’s beautiful! I love the tufted sofa or loveseat. I want to get a white tufted leather headboard or bed. But I love the monochromatic decor so, so much!

  19. hellogorgeous Says:

    P.S. I also can’t find P&L paint anywhere near here. Every place stopped carrying it due to difficulties receiving product, I’m told. Because I wanted to see Armory which is supposed to be “Dior Gray.”
    Over and out. πŸ™‚

  20. dwellings and decor Says:

    I tend to agree with you. You have a good point about that first photo. It doesn’t seem so furniture catalog shoot. Love the flock rug and the teepee dining table. Great names!

  21. Tina Says:

    I can see myself snuggling with j on that gray couch and watching movies.

  22. please sir Says:

    Their stuff is pretty neat, but I’ve never bought anything. Might need another looky.

  23. Michelle Says:

    CB2 – who knew? i’ll have to make a mental note to check them out in the future .

  24. Michelle Says:

    CB2 – who knew? i’ll have to make a mental note to check them out in the future .

  25. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    I have a few things from them, which I like, but I agree that the catalogue rarely inspires.

  26. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    I have a few things from them, which I like, but I agree that the catalogue rarely inspires.

  27. Rachel Says:

    I’m ambivalent too. Sometimes I love their little accessories, but for the most part, nothing really inspires me.

  28. Rachel Says:

    Hmmm… CB2 is definitely hit or miss. And you’re right – they definitely have better quality than Ikea. But sometimes, that doesn’t matter as much – so price wins out.
    I will say though, that I love that couch. How great is it that it could totally become an extra bed for a guest if you needed it? That would be great for my study….

  29. Rachel Says:

    Hmmm… CB2 is definitely hit or miss. And you’re right – they definitely have better quality than Ikea. But sometimes, that doesn’t matter as much – so price wins out.
    I will say though, that I love that couch. How great is it that it could totally become an extra bed for a guest if you needed it? That would be great for my study….

  30. Georgia Says:

    ahhhh! what a great loft space. you know, i think anything would look good in that space. but, i do love CB2. that couch looks so comfy.
    and i LOVE the crate shelving!
    some day i will live in a loft. some day.

  31. Georgia Says:

    ahhhh! what a great loft space. you know, i think anything would look good in that space. but, i do love CB2. that couch looks so comfy.
    and i LOVE the crate shelving!
    some day i will live in a loft. some day.

  32. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    The shelving unit is very chic — I totally would want a a vintage version. I wonder if they got the inspiration from mounted antique gym baskets.

  33. i.d. Says:

    I quite like the styling in that first photo too. The pops of yellow amidst the gray add cheer to the room. We don’t have CB2 here in Oz but I think their pieces are great for foundational furniture. Then you can go nuts at the flea markets with quirky decorative touches!

  34. Lecia Says:

    I don’t tend to favor things so modern. I do like that pillow, but have to agree about looking on Etsy instead for that sort of thing.

  35. Free Printable Coupons Says:

    Get huge discounts on shopping with use of free printable coupons at http://www.clickmycoupon.com.

  36. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    CB2 is awesome. Great style for reasonable prices and good quality. Love the pieces you show.
    xo
    Brooke

  37. Courtney Says:

    I fall for something in their catalog every time, but I have never bought any furniture (only a couple accessories) from them. I’ve always been curious to see some pieces in person, but since it hasn’t happened yet, I am glad to hear that the quality is good.

Leave a Reply

