Birch Bark Soap: The Etsy Monster Strikes Again!

il_fullxfull.37401539.jpg

One of my favourite moments of the day is my post-workout shower. The feeling of warm water hitting your aching muscles after a killer cardio circuit is the best thing going. And because I’ve done such a good job sticking to my fitness resolutions so far this year, I decided to break my ‘no impulse spending’ resolution and get some special soaps for the gym! I can’t wait to see if these all-natural ‘Cafe Mocha‘ and ‘Cherry Almond‘ soaps smell as good as they look…I’m especially intrigued by the exfoliating grains of real coffee in the mocha soap. I hear that caffeine works wonders on cellulite—and even if it does nothing for my wobbly bum, it sounds like the ultimate bath time pick-me-up!

il_fullxfull.52453153.jpg

Etsy seller Sherrie from Birch Bark Soap is a one woman soap-making machine. Added bonus: I got to keep my ‘do right by the planet’ resolution because her soaps are all free of preservatives, parabens, and other nasties. Plus she donates a percentage of her profits every month to entrepreneurs in developing countries. Finally, she’s based in Nova Scotia, and you know I’ve gotta give a shout out to a fellow Canadian girl!

il_fullxfull.52451600.jpg

I also picked up a cake of Bay Rum shaving soap for the huz—contains real rum!—and some seaweed soap to detoxify the skin (sadly needed, as I’ve not kept the ‘no ice cream’ resolution…). If anyone tries the Star Anise Bath Bar let me know how it goes; I’d have bought the whole shop but a girl can only take so many showers!

Tags: , ,

37 Responses to “Birch Bark Soap: The Etsy Monster Strikes Again!”

  1. Alice Q. Foodie Says:

    I’m a liquid soap girl myself, but those are appealingly homey looking – and I bet the grains of coffee are great for waking up in the morning. And good on you for sticking with your cardio routine!

  2. Miss Aimee Says:

    post workout-shower. I feel guilty!! I really need to start going to the gym again!!!! then maybe I will pamper myself with some yummy soap too!

  3. Karen Beth Says:

    Ah…. soap! My favorite topic. 🙂
    I have to HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend my fave Bath and Body seller on Etsy: SpaTherapy. I love her products. All of them that I’ve tried!
    My face can’t live without her Patchouli Mint Frech Green Clay Face Soap:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=sr_gallery_1&listing_id=19297143

  4. julie Says:

    these look good enough to eat! i use liquid body wash but would love to try one of these scrumptious bath bars.

  5. Tina Says:

    they’re almost too pretty to use!

  6. iris Says:

    I’d be wary of microloan plans (such as kiva, which your soap maker donates to). It appears that in order to get the loan payments returned, public shaming of the lendee may be involved: http://www.racialicious.com/2008/12/16/microcredit-%E2%80%9Ca-political-economy-of-shame%E2%80%9D/

  7. jessica Says:

    these really put my Suave body wash to shame.
    they are so pretty.

  8. Luphia Says:

    they look good enough to eat! you make us feel guilty with all the workout and a fitness resolution! 😉

  9. kasey Says:

    oooh, i just love all that yummy soap!

  10. runway girl Says:

    well, heading over to etsy right now!

  11. please sir Says:

    Oh YUMMY – I bet it smells amazing.

  12. Rachel Says:

    Those soaps are almost too beautiful to use! Almost.
    I’m with you on the post workout shower – it’s the best. I keep my beloved Fresh sugar lychee body wash in my locker at the gym, to further entice me to keep up with my morning workouts.

  13. Rachel Says:

    Those soaps are almost too beautiful to use! Almost.
    I’m with you on the post workout shower – it’s the best. I keep my beloved Fresh sugar lychee body wash in my locker at the gym, to further entice me to keep up with my morning workouts.

  14. little house on Green Says:

    Oh I love love love special, home made, soap products, their one thing I cannot give up in these times of “no impluse spending”. I haven’t bought “grocery store soaps” in years. These look luscious, I’m going to have to check them out!

  15. little house on Green Says:

    Oh I love love love special, home made, soap products, their one thing I cannot give up in these times of “no impluse spending”. I haven’t bought “grocery store soaps” in years. These look luscious, I’m going to have to check them out!

  16. sherrieg Says:

    Thanks for all of the sweet words about my soaps! They’re on their way, and I hope you enjoy them. 😉

  17. Megan Says:

    Oohlala, cafe mocha soap?! Say no more! Now I can finally smell as good as my Starbucks order 🙂 I know what you mean about the post-workout shower, that’s usually the thought that keeps me going during my spinning class 🙂

  18. tammy Says:

    Nice star anise soap! You know that star anise is one of the most primitive living flowering plants. It has many medicinal properties. The vaccination for one of the flues is extracted from the plant. Flavin

  19. blair Says:

    What beautiful soaps! I don’t think that I could bear using them. The star anise one is especially beautiful. I can’t wait to hear how you like them. At least you have stuck to the resolution of going to the gym!:)

  20. nkp Says:

    I swear, I think I got a whiff of anise just looking at that creamy bar!

  21. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    these look positively scrumptious. thanks for the info, love!

  22. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    these look positively scrumptious. thanks for the info, love!

  23. Camila Says:

    Oh they look so pretty. I must go onto Etsy and snatch some up.
    You also just gave me the push to get my butt downstairs and workout instead of reading blogs.
    Thanks!

  24. i.d. Says:

    But they’re too pretty to use! I love that the soap you got has rum, I never knew it had cleansing properties!
    Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m really excited now that it’s all coming together. 🙂
    And I’ve booked an appointment for a haircut next week – will let you know what I end up doing! xx

  25. trailingspouse Says:

    Cherry almond sounds delicious.
    Glad to see you’re keeping up with the majority of your resolutions. 😉

  26. christina Says:

    Hopefully my cold will go away soon so I can start working out again. Everytime I try it just brings on a huge coughing fit. So, I’ll have to work on that resolution a bit later. Thanks for the motivation.
    The soap looks lovely. And I also love the soap from Savor’s etsy shop. It smells great and the lather is nice and light, not waxy like some handmade soaps.

  27. Georgia Says:

    lovely lovely. i could use a spa bath with soaps like that right about now. i don’t think i have relaxed yet since my little mini car accident last night. i just keep getting tenser and tenser, ’cause the cost of repairs just keeps going up and up. $1500! yikes! i need to get a second job! how ironic, hah? just when i posted about contentment and living within my means. then this happens. maybe fate knew i could not do it on my own, so it allowed the accident to force me to live within my means. 🙂
    anyway, all that to say, send some of your warm, relaxing spa thoughts my way, please. i could use it!!
    hoping sweet Anne is good.
    hey, i just realized, you are Anne with an “e”. did you ever see Anne of Green Gables?

  28. Carrie Leber Says:

    I’m a liquid soap gal – but those shots are just so pretty I think I’ll need to get some just to have something so pretty in the bathroom.

  29. Laurel Says:

    YUM!!! The only problem with such yummy smelling soap at the gym… You might just want to eat it!

  30. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    What gorgeous soaps! I sincerely believe that anything can be a work of art – and these are no exception.

  31. Melissa Says:

    These soaps do look almost too pretty to use, I definitely need to start exercising too 🙂

  32. Lecia Says:

    These look great – I’ll definitely put in an order. BTW my husband is from Nova Scotia and my father in law currently lives in Outram.

  33. shill Says:

    is it wrong for me to be drooling???they sound delish!!!

  34. vee Says:

    they look gorgeous, reminds me of some of lush products!

  35. Anne @ Pink Galoshes Says:

    Oh, bay rum! Yum. Sounds like a wonderful experience. I agree, the post-workout shower is the best!

  36. callie grayson Says:

    oh, this is bad! I am a complete soap addict!! off to buy some luscious soap for my bath basket!!!

  37. Alya Says:

    oh, so quite creative soup! i want to have the one in my bathroom. the pictures a really special! thanx for this post. it’s really wonderfull!

Leave a Reply

