Sinfully Delicious Brownies and Our Giveaway Winner!

city sage donna hay brownies.jpg

I’m very excited to announce that Teresa in Tennessee was randomly selected as the lucky winner of my New Year’s Day giveaway! She’ll be receiving a copy of ‘The New Cook’ by Donna Hay. Teresa commented that one of her goals this year is to increase her repertoire of healthy recipes for her family, which this book will be perfect for! Of course I can’t send this gorgeous cookbook away without first sharing another recipe. And sure I could have made a nice lemon and basil pilaf, or a roast beetroot salad. But aren’t brownies so much more fun? Especially these brownies…

city sage donna hay brownies 2.jpg

When a recipe has only a few ingredients, it’s either going to be really good or really bad. When one of those ingredients is chocolate, how could it go wrong? These brownies are just what a treat of that name should be: halfway between cake and fudge, a moist layer of rich cocoa-y chew studded with mellow nuts. I’ve adapted this recipe ever so slightly for my American readers—Donna calls for self-rising flour but very few cooks in this country keep that ingredient on hand. As well, Donna recommends serving these with a shot of espresso—so civilized! Me? I say bring on a big glass of milk and an even bigger appetite.

Chocolate Brownies
recipe courtesy of ‘The New Cook’ by Donna Hay

4 oz (1/2 cup) butter
4 oz good quality dark chocolate (I used bittersweet chocolate with 60% cocoa solids)
2 eggs
1 cup caster sugar (see note below)
1 cup plus two tablespoons flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda (just a pinch, really)
3/4 cup chopped nuts of your choice (I used slivered almonds to good effect)

In the microwave or in a double boiler melt butter and chocolate and stir until smooth. Set aside. In a separate bowl using an electric mixer, beat together sugar and eggs until pale and thick (I just love the color the mixture turns with this step–I want to paint a room that color!). In another bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking powder and soda. Combine chocolate mixture with egg/sugar mixture, then fold in sifted dry ingredients and nuts until barely combined. Bake in a pre-greased square baking pan at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, or until a knife stuck in the center comes out clean. Cool, slice, devour!

Note: Caster sugar is a type of sugar that is finer than granulated sugar but not as fine as icing (confectioner’s) sugar. I just used a cup of granulated sugar that I spun through the blender for about 30 seconds.

Tags: ,

15 Responses to “Sinfully Delicious Brownies and Our Giveaway Winner!”

  1. Luphia Says:

    i could so use one of the brownies right now! looks so so delicious, can i eat the picture?

  2. Luphia Says:

    i could so use one of the brownies right now! looks so so delicious, can i eat the picture?

  3. Catherine Says:

    Your photos are gorgeous, as usual! I love brownies. I used to get cherry choc brownies from a favourite cafe – melt in the mouth they were, but they closed down. Perhaps I’ll have to make these instead!

  4. April Says:

    Ooooo! If I could eat brownies and still be slim like you, I’d bake ’em in a second. Sigh. They look divine!

  5. Lynne Says:

    Yum yum yum!

  6. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    I never thought to add baking soda and powder…these look delicious.

  7. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    I never thought to add baking soda and powder…these look delicious.

  8. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    I never thought to add baking soda and powder…these look delicious.

  9. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    I never thought to add baking soda and powder…these look delicious.

  10. nkp Says:

    Mmmm dense,chewy, chocolate-y goodness. Happy weekend to you!

  11. mary jo Says:

    I have a request: I haven’t been able to eat much this past week (flu) but have been craving a chocolate cupcake with chocolate frosting (homemade of course) and not too dry/cakey. Would love it if you ever come across/post such a recipe…
    xo Mary Jo

  12. Michelle Says:

    Yummy!!

  13. Jen Says:

    Screw you. I am strapping the baby on right after I type this…

  14. Kristin Says:

    great… i was doing so well with not eating badly in this new year, and now i’ve seen this and can’t stop thinking about brownies… yum!
    have a wonderful weekend!

  15. chantal Says:

    mmmmm i’d have to go with the espresso…and grab a brownie straight out of the oven!
    enjoy your weekend!! ;)) x c

Leave a Reply

