Fantasy Wardrobe: J. Crew Swim

B7.jpg

A case of the sniffles and an onslaught of rainy weather have me dreaming of hopping a plane to sunnier, beachy-er climes. So when the new J. Crew catalogue–complete with a 10-page swim section!—arrived in my mailbox yesterday, I was a goner. Though I have my beefs with The Crew (a little overpriced, a bit cookie cutter) their swimwear never fails to send my salivary glands into overdrive. For my imaginary vacation, I’d pack a bag with flip flops, sunscreen, a breezy cover-up, and these three suits…

jcrewswim3.png

I haven’t worn a one piece since my swim team days. This polka-dot number is a far cry from my old Speedo! I adore its retro appeal, and the fun print is perfect for camouflaging the effects of one too many poolside daiquiris. And because this is my fantasy, I just might have to add a pair of black patent Louboutin platforms for strutting past the cabana boys…

jcrewswim.png

Of course I’d need a more sensible option as well. This lilac suit has nice thick straps for keeping the gals in place. It’s made from J. Crew’s new Jersey Lomellina, a material that they’re claiming is “incomparably luxurious”. I’d have to see it to believe it, but in the meantime I’m loving the ruched detailing—a very refined touch indeed!

jcrewswim2.png
What beach wardrobe would be complete without a classic string bikini? The color of this one is to die for—a deep purple with all the iconic elegance of black, but with a touch of mystery too. Let’s be honest: I’d spend most of my time tugging this teeny triangle top into place. Though if I parked my towel on a warm patch of sand and laid real still, I’d be golden!

Tell me…is it too early to think swimsuits, or like me are you desperate for some rays?

Top Image Credit: Alvaro Goveia

Tags: , ,

34 Responses to “Fantasy Wardrobe: J. Crew Swim”

  1. Pittsy Says:

    I’m always on the hunt for a good suit. I like the simplicity of these.

  2. stephanie Says:

    Oh, I am thinking about swimsuits. That’s why I hit the gym this morning!

  3. Abbie Says:

    I just looked at these last night! At the end of last season, I bought a one piece during their sale. I LOVE it! I, too, had not worn one unless it was a Speedo in ages, so I was excited that I actually liked it… especially since I couldn’t return it! Next up– trying those thick straps!

  4. JGeb Says:

    I love J.Crew swimsuits, they really are the most flattering and classic!

  5. vee Says:

    i love the one piece! it is never to early for thoughts of sand and sun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Rachel Says:

    I adore J. Crew swimsuits. They always have the best fits (and styles). I actually have a one piece from them that I bought on sale in the fall and I can’t wait to bust it out this summer.

  7. Erin Says:

    How big of a dork am I to recognize that model from some past Real World season…though I can’t remember which one

  8. Anne Says:

    I would love to link to your blog. Please check out mine and let me know if you’d like to exchange links!

  9. Kristy Says:

    Have you seen the swimsuits Anthropologie has on their website? If you click on “new” and “getaway,” they have a ton of fabulous things. I’m loving the Indian Summer Maillot (though not enough to pay $200 for it) and the Nomadic Gypsy Tote (though, again, not for $228). *sigh* Why do I have to like such expensive things?

  10. Megan Says:

    I love that purple string bikini-beautiful color! It is snowing outside my window right now so reading this post has got me dreaming of a warm beach and crystal ocean ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. please sir Says:

    Jcrew does bathing suit so well!

  12. please sir Says:

    Jcrew does bathing suit so well!

  13. Jenny Says:

    I absolutely love the polka-dot one! I hope I can find something similar in Sweden ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Jenny Says:

    I absolutely love the polka-dot one! I hope I can find something similar in Sweden ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Luphia Says:

    it made me smile to see this post! i miss summer or just some warm sunshine so much, wish i could just skip jan – april and go straight to may for some swim suits shopping!

  16. Luphia Says:

    it made me smile to see this post! i miss summer or just some warm sunshine so much, wish i could just skip jan – april and go straight to may for some swim suits shopping!

  17. christina Says:

    Definitely not too early to start thinking swimwear. I usually put it off too long, hoping to see all of my options before I make my final decision. Then everything is long gone, and I’m sitting on the beach wearing last year’s faded number. No more! This year I will think ahead.

  18. christina Says:

    Definitely not too early to start thinking swimwear. I usually put it off too long, hoping to see all of my options before I make my final decision. Then everything is long gone, and I’m sitting on the beach wearing last year’s faded number. No more! This year I will think ahead.

  19. i.d. Says:

    I love the polka dot bathing suit – so classic and chic! And the hat is stunning too, although there’s no way I could pull it off! x

  20. Jen Says:

    We just got another foot of snow. Where is your post about sexy winter snow boots? Or the cutest down parka?

  21. Georgia Says:

    LOVE that purple suit!
    i’m so longing for warmth and sun and the chance to just lay on a beach! right about now is when i really get sick of these Chicago wintersโ€”especially when there are ear infections to accompany. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. callie grayson Says:

    i am swooning over that big floppy hat!
    need sunshine here, it’s cold and snowy out!

  23. dani @ weddingsfresh Says:

    i love your blog! and not to mention, i am sucker for j crew bathing suits. i buy one every year…whether i need it or not! you just can’t go wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. dani @ weddingsfresh Says:

    i love your blog! and not to mention, i am sucker for j crew bathing suits. i buy one every year…whether i need it or not! you just can’t go wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. dani @ weddingsfresh Says:

    i love your blog! and not to mention, i am sucker for j crew bathing suits. i buy one every year…whether i need it or not! you just can’t go wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. dani @ weddingsfresh Says:

    i love your blog! and not to mention, i am sucker for j crew bathing suits. i buy one every year…whether i need it or not! you just can’t go wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Amanda Says:

    J.Crew you disgust me. You and your sickeningly lovely ballet flats, bikinis, and models with normal sized thighs. Enough already!

  28. Amanda Says:

    J.Crew you disgust me. You and your sickeningly lovely ballet flats, bikinis, and models with normal sized thighs. Enough already!

  29. Deb Says:

    The polka-dot one piece is darling – I for one am ready for some warmer weather!

  30. chantal Says:

    haha! didn’t you say you were planning a trip to carmel sometime early this year?? sorry, don’t think these will come in handy there, unless you’ve got some sweats to wear on top!! and uggs over the black patent louboutin platforms ;))
    all kidding aside, the polka dot one really is cute!
    h a p p y n e w y e a r ! !
    x c

  31. the sassy kathy Says:

    well now you’re just being cruel. sunny jcrew swimwear, while i shiver in my sweats? mean i tell you, mean!

  32. Peonies and Polaroids Says:

    Oh lordy, the thought of wearing those bikinis brings me out in a cold sweat!
    The spotty suit is adorable though.

  33. jora Says:

    I am a string bikini kind of girl. But I would be up for trying the other two styles here methinks!

  34. Redframe Says:

    We don’t have J.Crew here in South Africa so I don’t know if it’s how they always do it, but I am impressed by the super natural model they used! (As opposed to the usually supernatural hyper bronzed boobjob ones!) Obviously she’s very slim and beautiful but you can see there’s hardly any make up and minimal airbrushing if any. How refreshing.

Leave a Reply

