January Doors: Passion and Play

http--www.rodolphefoucher.com-Bedrooms-BedroomCastle.jpg.tiff

Lest the meditative tone of this morning’s post leave you thinking that I am a calm, cool cucumber, let me assure you that this is not the case! Though I’m feeling romantic about the symbolism of January as a time of contemplation, I am also all for leaping before you look, for diving in with your eyes closed, for passing through the doors of the new year with nothing but blind excitement for things to come.

http--1.bp.blogspot.com-_zD7SXpI_aOU-SO9hltzdTKI-AAAAAAAACX0-mvhu5wfNg9E-s1600-h-%7B311100B6-80AB-42F7-A37F-F8DA016D601A%7D.jpg.tiff

I’m all for riding your bike inside, even though you just mopped the floor.
For leaving your umbrella at home, because wet hair can be really sexy.

warrensmith345door.png

For indulging in a case of tunnel vision—because sometimes your way is the only way to
get the job done.

paulcc212door.png

For hanging your own artwork on the wall and never telling a soul that it’s paint-by-number.

paulc7door.png

For painting your house a riotous color, even though you know you’ll be sick of it in a month.

schlecter4door.png

For using the heirloom fur coat your grandma gave you as a throw rug
(no, Mom, I promise I haven’t done this…yet).

64Rosie4 copy.jpg

For calling in sick and napping all day, simply because you want to take
your new duvet cover for a test drive.

http--3.bp.blogspot.com-_SJ5S43VGz5Q-SSxpgD_I6PI-AAAAAAAADnc-CgRDUZ2-U7g-s1600-h-attic+bedroom.jpg.tiff

May 2009 be a year of exuberance and joy! And for the calmer face of Janus, be sure to read Volume One of January Doors 🙂

Image Credits: 1. Rudolphe Foucher 2. Domino Magazine 3. James Merrill 4. Paul Costello 5. Paul Costello 6. Annie Schlecter 7. James Merrill 8. Source Unknown

23 Responses to “January Doors: Passion and Play”

  1. i.d. Says:

    Thank you for this post! You’ve totally got me pumped for this year. 🙂

  2. LJ Says:

    These two volumes are such lovely posts. You’ve changed my perspective on the month of January!

  3. Catherine Says:

    Once again you’ve hit the ball out of the park with these two posts of the day. I just sit back and admire your talent in writing and the originality of your ideas!

  4. Jenny Says:

    I love your writing and the pics are nice aswell!

  5. Michelle Says:

    Another gorgeous and inspiring post. I love that green stove/fireplace.
    Mx

  6. Kristy Says:

    That pop of green in the first picture makes me smile. Partly because it’s so unexpected for something that *could* be mundane to be such a focal point, and partly because I love green.

  7. cupcakes and cashmere Says:

    as much as i adore these posts, they make me hate my apartment since they’re all so perfect. i especially love that wall full of hooks!

  8. {this is glamorous} Says:

    Such a wonderful collection of thoughts and images. Here’s to blind excitement and forgotten umbrellas, both things I am constantly guilty of.

  9. Darci Says:

    What a lovely post! That green and white pattern in the hallway is one of the best things I’ve seen in quite awhile. Swoon

  10. Cathleen farrell Says:

    Lovely Pictures and I had to laugh at your comments… 🙂
    Cathleen

  11. stephanie Says:

    I love that green ceramic stove in photo #1. Holy wow.

  12. Michelle Says:

    Oh so pretty, very cool. I was just sitting on my couch last night, looking into my hallway thinking, hm, horizontal black and white stripes would be soooo freaking cool!

  13. erin @ elements of style Says:

    LOVE these photos. I will never get enough of Chloe’s hallway….

  14. Miss Aimee Says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!! That wallpaper is so rad with teh bike in the hall. I want that!!!

  15. callie grayson Says:

    That green fireplace is completely over the top and I love it!!!
    great selection of images.
    callie

  16. callie grayson Says:

    That green fireplace is completely over the top and I love it!!!
    great selection of images.
    callie

  17. christina Says:

    I love this version of January doors as well! I love how you think of so many possibilities.
    Two more things: 1. I’m sorry you feel my pain. I hope you get feeling better. and 2. I’d love to do a recipe swap. Just let me know when you have time.

  18. christina Says:

    I love this version of January doors as well! I love how you think of so many possibilities.
    Two more things: 1. I’m sorry you feel my pain. I hope you get feeling better. and 2. I’d love to do a recipe swap. Just let me know when you have time.

  19. humble happenings Says:

    number one, holy shat!

  20. humble happenings Says:

    number one, holy shat!

  21. chelsea Says:

    Your blog always has such wonderful eye candy. I am swooning over the first photo.

  22. Alison Says:

    i love your selection of photos! i have been loving that photo of the hallway/bike all year – i love that wallpaper is so popular now!
    xox

  23. Georgia Says:

    YUMMY! Love the wallpaper in the 2nd and 4th pics, and i adore the bedspread in the last picture!I’m a circles girl!

Leave a Reply

