Simple Apple Tart and a New Year’s Giveaway!

cake.jpg

One of my goals for 2009 is to try a new recipe at least once a week. And what better way to start the ball rolling than with a new cookbook? I just love Donna Hay‘s books—her recipes focus on fresh ingredients, bright flavours and vibrant colour—so I picked up a copy of ‘The New Cook‘ and made this apple tart for my dad on New Year’s Eve.

Cake 2.jpg

As with most Donna Hay recipes, the tart comes together easily. The subtle warmth of apples meets a buttery pastry crust for a dessert that is simple, honest, and downright delicious! A dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream provides a cool contrast for melt-in-your-mouth perfection.

51D6R22TG9L._SS500_.jpg

Have you set goals for the new year, food-related or otherwise? Tell me in the comments section and I’ll randomly select one reader to receive a copy of ‘The New Cook‘ by Donna Hay. It’s full of fabulous recipes to make 2009 your tastiest year yet!

Simple Apple Tart
Recipe Courtesy of ‘The New Cook‘ by Donna Hay

3 green apples, peeled, cored and chopped (any crisp baking apple will do)
1/4 cup water
2 teaspoons grated lemon rind
2 tablespoons sugar
8 oz ready made puff pastry
4 green apples, extra
1 tablespoon butter, melted
sugar for sprinkling

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine chopped apples, water, lemon rind and sugar. Cook until apples are very soft. Mash mixture with a fork until almost smooth, then let cool. Meanwhile, slice four remaining apples very thinly and evenly. Thaw pastry and open it out to create a flat surface. Spread smashed apple mixture evenly on pastry, then layer sliced apples in a pleasing arrangement. Brush the entire surface with butter and sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 350 degrees until pastry is puffed and golden, about 30 minutes. Yum!

Tags: , ,

55 Responses to “Simple Apple Tart and a New Year’s Giveaway!”

  1. Megan Says:

    Happy 2009 Anne! That apple tart looks absolutely marvelous! I’m normally not one to make a lot of resolutions but I did decide to make one this year: Learn to let go of control over things I can’t change-this is easier said than done I’m sure, but I think it would be a beautiful thing, no?
    I’d love to try a new recipe each week as well. Who knows what lovely treats we’ll stumble across…so here’s to new kitchen adventures!

  2. Joanna Says:

    That tart looks INCREDIBLE. Since celebrating my birthday in August, I’ve vowed to cook more. That book sounds fab! Count me in. 🙂

  3. Danyelle Says:

    In my post today I mention taking a cooking class as a goal for this new year. Receiving this lovely cookbook could count, no?

  4. Kristy Says:

    That’s like one of my resolutions! I’ve decided to cook at least once a week, and since I have 5 or 6 great cookbooks, that should allow for at least one new thing a week, theoretically.
    I do hope you’ll post your favorite recipes as you discover them!

  5. Kristy Says:

    That’s like one of my resolutions! I’ve decided to cook at least once a week, and since I have 5 or 6 great cookbooks, that should allow for at least one new thing a week, theoretically.
    I do hope you’ll post your favorite recipes as you discover them!

  6. hester Says:

    Happy New Year!
    One of my new year’s goals is to re-embrace my domesticity, which has tailed off since moving to Hong Kong to the extent that my husband complains that all we do is eat take-out… maybe Donna Hay could help me?? 😉

  7. hester Says:

    Happy New Year!
    One of my new year’s goals is to re-embrace my domesticity, which has tailed off since moving to Hong Kong to the extent that my husband complains that all we do is eat take-out… maybe Donna Hay could help me?? 😉

  8. Luphia Says:

    I just had breakfast but the apple tart looks so delicious I think I could eat the whole thing right now! 😉 happy 2009 and thanks for the receipe anne!

  9. Luphia Says:

    I just had breakfast but the apple tart looks so delicious I think I could eat the whole thing right now! 😉 happy 2009 and thanks for the receipe anne!

  10. Trailingspouse Says:

    The tart looks scrummy! I might have to try it myself!
    One of my New Years resolutions is to throw out 15 things a day to clear out the clutter in my tiny apartment. It might be recipts, old birthday cards…it just has to be 15 things.

  11. Free Printable Coupons Says:

    the tart looks yummy.

  12. Lynne Says:

    I’m trying to use up all of the food I get in my organic box – and not throw it away. I like Donna Hay too – but almost everything I cook these days comes from Orangette – I love that blog.

  13. stephanie Says:

    I love Donna Hay!
    I make a macaroon tart of hers in the summer, with raspberries and peaches and coconut … mmm mmm.
    This looks delicious.

  14. Allison Says:

    I love cooking, but have been pretty unenthusiastic about it lately. I hope to find my motivation and cook up lots of good things in 2009.

  15. JILL Says:

    Our goal is to plan out meals a few nights a week, so we have a good grocery list and healthy options on hand. Stepping away from processed food and going after fresh foods.

  16. joy Says:

    I’m getting hungry just looking at that delicious creation!!
    Donna Hay!! yay!!
    Some of my 09 goals are to drink more water, eat healthy, increase my green living ratio, be a better friend & listen & talk to God more!

  17. Cabbage Says:

    I want to make more food at home and not eat out as much!

  18. little house on Green Says:

    Mmmm, that tart looks delish!! I always reflect on the year past and make a little list of goals for the next year a bit later this month, on my birthday. But one thing on there will be more home cooked meals, less dining out, and perfect the margarita 🙂

  19. Carrie Says:

    What a beautiful tart! I haven’t heard of Donna Hay, but the book sounds like a good one. One resolution for me is to find more use for my recently inherited cast iron skillet. So far it’s been yummy and I’m looking forward to more success with it.

  20. juliette c. Says:

    Can you imagine!!?? I mentioned Donna Hay as one of my obsessions just few posts ago!!!
    So, no need for more comments about her talent 🙂

  21. blair Says:

    That is a wonderful goal! I love adding recipes to my repertoire. I am currently working on mastering a really good “go-to” winter soup. That tart looks like it turned out beautifully! Hope your new year is off to a wonderful start!

  22. Lindsay H Says:

    My resolution is to become a better cook for when I get married this summer…my fiance/husband will thank me for sure!
    …pick me 🙂
    Thanks and cheers~
    Lindsay

  23. kasey Says:

    oooh, that looks so good.

  24. Runway girl Says:

    How could i possibly resist an apple dish like that.
    please enter me in the lovley giveaway:)

  25. Runway girl Says:

    How could i possibly resist an apple dish like that.
    please enter me in the lovley giveaway:)

  26. Lecia Says:

    Looks delicious! I have set a few goals – posted yesterday. Please count me in for your giveaway – thanks! Happy New Year to you and your husband.

  27. Lecia Says:

    Looks delicious! I have set a few goals – posted yesterday. Please count me in for your giveaway – thanks! Happy New Year to you and your husband.

  28. DawnMarie Says:

    I have set a few goals this year. One is to cook new things. I have learned a few staples that get me and my husband by but I need to experiment more and think outside of the box. Going hand and hand with that goal is my desire to entertain more. My feeling of less than on the kitchen I think prevents me from inviting more people over and entertaining.

  29. DawnMarie Says:

    I have set a few goals this year. One is to cook new things. I have learned a few staples that get me and my husband by but I need to experiment more and think outside of the box. Going hand and hand with that goal is my desire to entertain more. My feeling of less than on the kitchen I think prevents me from inviting more people over and entertaining.

  30. Rachel Says:

    Yum! I have never attempted an apple tart and I’m seriously tempted now. No real food goals for this year, but I am hoping to slow down and enjoy things more, which includes food!

  31. Rachel Says:

    Yum! I have never attempted an apple tart and I’m seriously tempted now. No real food goals for this year, but I am hoping to slow down and enjoy things more, which includes food!

  32. Anne Says:

    This is such a fabulous recipe, thanks so much for posting!! Love your blog!
    Anne

  33. tammy Says:

    This tart was delicious! Thanks Anne! One of our resolutions is to keep cooking healthy meals on the weekend and freeze extra for the week. That way we have good food waiting for us after a long day and we waste less food! We froze some of the yummy tart you made so that we could enjoy it when you were no longer visiting. Happy New Year. Hugs and Kisses

  34. nkp Says:

    De-clutter, simplify, slow down…and of course, eat more apple tarts! ;0) Happy 2009 Anne.

  35. michella Says:

    YUM.
    mine are:
    -healthier living.
    -spend more time with the ones I care about.
    -be craftier and finish projects.

  36. Michelle Says:

    Sounds like a yummy recipe!

  37. Michelle Says:

    Sounds like a yummy recipe!

  38. Heidi Jo Says:

    I am going to cook more- and by cooking more, I mean that I am going to try healthy recipes and new vegan baking recipes. I crave desserts but can’t eat them because of allergies, so I am finally going to find some desserts I can bake and LOVE. : )

  39. Heidi Jo Says:

    I am going to cook more- and by cooking more, I mean that I am going to try healthy recipes and new vegan baking recipes. I crave desserts but can’t eat them because of allergies, so I am finally going to find some desserts I can bake and LOVE. : )

  40. Melissa Says:

    I am going to drink less soda amd more juice! 🙂

  41. Melissa Says:

    I am going to drink less soda amd more juice! 🙂

  42. Teresa Says:

    My food related resolution is to learn to cook healthier dishes. I come from a long line of southern country cooks and we love our butter. So, I would love to make healthier meals for my family. TRigell at aol dot com

  43. Chris Says:

    My goal is to work out on a more consistent basis.

  44. Kim Says:

    Resolved: Less refined sugar (exception: dark chocolate), more local food.

  45. Georgia Says:

    yay! i love give-aways. i’m doing one soon, too.
    so, i guess i’ll enter yours, because i’d love to support my fabulous friend!
    my resolution is stop typing with lower case beginnings of sentences. i do it too much, and i fear it is a sign of laziness on my part! i feel guilty about it, but i never try to change!
    starting right . . . Now.
    Happy New Year, Anne!
    I have to type one more sentence, so that you know it’s the real thing, and not just because I typed a pronoun holiday.
    🙂

  46. Jenny Says:

    looks really yummy! I watched My blueberry nights yesterday and had to make blueberry pie afterwards, but next time I might try this 🙂

  47. PauletteINK Says:

    Apples for Jam by Tessa Kiros is also a beautiful cookbook. Almost too pretty to use, it categorizes recipes according to color. I also recently bought Spain: A Culinary Road Trip by Mario Batali with Gwyneth Paltrow. It features lots of beautiful scenes from Spain. I thought you might like to have a couple more cookbook ideas, since you’ll need a lot of recipes to try a new one each week. 🙂 Happy cooking!

  48. callie grayson Says:

    in the next year I want to be more artistic in all avenues of my life.
    I would also like to have my friends over more and just celebrate life! I used to have dinner parties once a month, I have been a bit of hermit lately, need to get out of that mind set it’s making me grumpy.

  49. dolce chic Says:

    Wow, that looks delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Glad you’re having a good time with the family 🙂

  50. jessica Says:

    That looks amazing!
    I really want to learn to sew! Plus, focus more on creative and handmade things in our house. Many more goals, but those are at the top.
    Oh, and floss everyday. I know, I know.

  51. rainbowbrown Says:

    You know, a new years resolution of mine is to stop procrastinating. I suppose I’ll get to it when I get to it.

  52. Carolyn G Says:

    That tart looks incredible! Thanks for the giveaway.

  53. The Food Hunter Says:

    My goal for 2009 is to make that lovely tart. thanks for the motivation!

  54. Amanda Melton Says:

    This apple tart looks yummy! Can’t wait to try it out

  55. Courtney Says:

    This looks delicious- I am definitely adding it to my recipe folder!
    One of my biggest goals this year is to find better balance and make more time for both the things I love and the things I hate (oh how I can put off housework… I just don’t much enjoy vacuuming, mopping, and the like!)

Leave a Reply

