Displaying Photos at Home: A Photographer’s Perspective

hallway working.jpg

Finally getting those family photos out of storage and up on the wall? Throw out your ruler. Although a casual arrangement can be trickier to assemble than a formal setting, it creates great warmth and intimacy. Bay Area photographer Anna Kilbridge agrees. “I love how an eclectic arrangement demands your attention, draws you in, invites you to linger,” says Anna. And though she says there are no hard and fast rules to making it work, Anna does offer a few guidelines.

1. Keep it simple. Choose frames of all one color. Anna prefers black, silver, and—increasingly—white frames. “If you look at timeless photography displays, the frames are always very minimal. Anything too flashy starts to look dated very quickly.”

2. Take it slow. Start with the photo that impacts you most and allow the arrangement to evolve. “Plan it less. It might take a while to find a setting you love, but with time it will emerge.”

3. Have fun. The best arrangements are the ones that emerge spontaneously. If it’s your first attempt at an eclectic installation, Anna recommends a picture ledge. “Shelving is brilliant because you can move things as you go along. It gives you permission to play.”

Thanks to Anna Kilbridge for the tips! Recently named one of SFGate’s Top Three Wedding Photographers in The Bay Area, Anna lives and works in San Francisco.

Resources: Frames and picture ledges, Ikea. FYI, I put the above arrangement together in about an hour!

Styling and Photo Credit: Anne Sage

11 Responses to “Displaying Photos at Home: A Photographer’s Perspective”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Welcome back Anne. Hope your Christmas was wonderful.
    These are just the tips I need for my photo shelf! I plan to buy the frames and have my photos developed in the next few weeks. Yours look fabulous.
    Catherine

  2. runway girl Says:

    I am so glad to finally be catching up on all your posts!

  3. Sara Says:

    as a baby I mean… the Uncle Ink ones.

  4. Megan Says:

    Thanks for sharing such great tips! That arrangement looks lovely, those photos are just beautiful together. These guidelines will definitely come in handy when I get my first apartment next fall 🙂

  5. Luphia Says:

    this looks great! what a creative idea!

  6. Joanna Says:

    This post is SO cool and very helpful.
    Hope you survived the holidays!

  7. callie grayson Says:

    thanks for the tips!
    very nice styling….. and love the pink walls!
    my living room walls are light pink.

  8. Jen Says:

    I have about 10 photos of my [;aying time in China…among those photos is me in a hospital and on a bed surrounded by oxygen tanks and giving a thumbs up sign. Hmm can one make that classy? I think I am changing my style to bohemian modern.

  9. dolce chic Says:

    I love these photos. Is this your home? It’s gorgeous!!! Anna has great tips. I need to get some frames!

  10. Lecia Says:

    Great ideas!

  11. The Deco Detective Says:

    Oh, this is the picture display you told about in the comment earlier? Super stylish! You’ve got great taste, Anne.
    Anna K is right about using ledges. I’m not a beginner, I just change my mind a lot – as the number of small holes in the walls of my (rental) apartment will reveal…
    Happy New Year!
    Love,
    Trudi

Leave a Reply

Displaying Photos at Home: A Photographer’s Perspective

hallway working.jpg

Finally getting those family photos out of storage and up on the wall? Throw out your ruler. Although a casual arrangement can be trickier to assemble than a formal setting, it creates great warmth and intimacy. Bay Area photographer Anna Kilbridge agrees. “I love how an eclectic arrangement demands your attention, draws you in, invites you to linger,” says Anna. And though she says there are no hard and fast rules to making it work, Anna does offer a few guidelines.

1. Keep it simple. Choose frames of all one color. Anna prefers black, silver, and—increasingly—white frames. “If you look at timeless photography displays, the frames are always very minimal. Anything too flashy starts to look dated very quickly.”

2. Take it slow. Start with the photo that impacts you most and allow the arrangement to evolve. “Plan it less. It might take a while to find a setting you love, but with time it will emerge.”

3. Have fun. The best arrangements are the ones that emerge spontaneously. If it’s your first attempt at an eclectic installation, Anna recommends a picture ledge. “Shelving is brilliant because you can move things as you go along. It gives you permission to play.”

Thanks to Anna Kilbridge for the tips! Recently named one of SFGate’s Top Three Wedding Photographers in The Bay Area, Anna lives and works in San Francisco.

Resources: Frames and picture ledges, Ikea. FYI, I put the above arrangement together in about an hour!

Styling and Photo Credit: Anne Sage

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Displaying Photos at Home: A Photographer’s Perspective”

  1. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Great tips, it’s really hard to display photos like that without it getting tacky.

  2. Jenny Says:

    Great guidelines, thanks! 🙂 I really love simple black frames.

  3. Sara Says:

    Is that the infamous pink hallway? I like it!
    I love looking at family photos, we were looking at some good ones in LA. These included Uncle Ink’s first day home from the hospital!

  4. dwellings and decor Says:

    Oh how lovely! Great advice!

  5. Kristy Says:

    Wonderful tips. I’m currently trying to figure out what to do with my walls, and I really want to put up pictures. Looks like I’ll be making a trip to IKEA when I finally get home. =)

  6. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Says:

    I love any post on how to hang pictures or display them, because that is not my forte’!!! Hope you had a lovely Christmas with your family!

  7. callie grayson Says:

    thanks for the tips!
    very nice styling….. and love the pink walls!
    my living room walls are light pink.

Leave a Reply

