Happy Thing #1

0520_001.jpg

I was tagged by the amazing Candi at Dolce Chic. For five days I have to post one thing that made me happy that day. Today I was indescribably happy when my dad peeled some of those bright orange clementines that make an appearance this time of year. The citrus scent, the sweet tangy juice, the wee little sections: nothing says Christmas like this charming fruit!

I’m not going to tag anyone—I always feel a bit shy about singling people out. But if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged! I’d love to know the tiny details that are making you happy today. And of course stay tuned for four more happy things πŸ™‚

Image Credit: Martha Stewart (natch!)

Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “Happy Thing #1”

  1. vicki archer Says:

    I am about to go outside (rugged up because it must be 0 or -something) and cut loads of oak branches to decorate my mantlepiece. I love the whole process of choosing the branches, spraying them gold and then creating an arrangement above the fireplace. This will make me very happy today, xv.

  2. erin Says:

    definitely the 8 inches of snow outside is making me happy! Nothing is better than being snowed in πŸ˜‰

  3. Courtney Says:

    An absolutely beautiful mantle. I love the citrus and would love having my mantle decorated that way for the holidays!

  4. c Says:

    oooooohhhhh i could eat an entire box of clementines and often i do πŸ˜‰ they are so delicious..i guess you could say that’s something that makes me happy every day of winter!! bon ap!! x c

  5. nkp Says:

    Those are a favorite around our house as well. My eldest goes through at least half a dozen a day. A close second are Honeycrisp apples, from Canada(!) I think, a very short-lived season, but completely worth the wait. Lovely photo!

  6. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Lovely mantle, dear! Making arrangements for Christmas make me happy. I love to spread the holiday spirit all around the house!
    Hope you have a wonderful, merry weekend, darling!
    xoxo

  7. stephanie Says:

    I’m happy about oranges, too. Have you ever had cara cara oranges?
    I am deeply, madly in love with them.

  8. Tina Aszmus Says:

    the thing that makes me most happy today? it’s friday. that’s enough for me. πŸ™‚

  9. dolce chic Says:

    What a pretty mantel! Yay for oranges πŸ™‚

  10. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    what a lovely post…and i couldn’t agree more. whenever i go home, my parents pack the kitchen with these little gems. i can’t wait to read the other things that make you happy!

  11. Georgia Says:

    mmmmm . . . i can smell the citrus now. some cloves with thatβ€”that’s a perfect holiday scent!
    i can see why this made you happy!
    (ps. so glad you are a fellow font nerd! your comment cracked me up!)
    πŸ™‚

  12. shill Says:

    LOVE!!!and this post sure makes me happy too πŸ˜€

  13. Chris Says:

    Very cool!
    I was already tagged, but I found this one lots of fun to do (and very timely for this time of year).

  14. rachel Says:

    I LOVE clementines!!! Or “Cuties” as they’re sometimes called. I actually had 3 with my yogurt this morning for breakfast! They are probably second behind my all-time favorite fruit, the pineapple. I have some serious love for fresh pineapple (don’t even try to get me the canned kind!)

Leave a Reply

