My Practical Christmas Wish List

practical christmas.jpg

Miss Aimee over at Mostly Mod has sent out a call for Practical Christmas Wish Lists, so here’s mine! I’m always hesitant to put practical stuff on my list because no matter how much you need new socks, it’s still a bummer to find them under the tree. But assembled all in one place like this, these ‘necessities’ start to look mighty appealing!

1. My Uggs are entering their fifth year, so methinks I’m due for a new pair.
2. I have a thing for granny nighties…how cozy is this full length plaid number?
3. My hair hasn’t had a trim since March and is prone to tangles. A Mason Pearson brush is just what the stylist ordered.
4. Forget real gingerbread. Just bring a gross of limited release Iced Gingerbread Clif Bars.
5. You can never have too many basic cotton v-necks from tee shirt guru James Perse.
6. This mineral sunscreen from Clarins is the only one that doesn’t sting my eyes or cause me to break out.
7. I’ve stolen countless tubes of Kiehl’s Hand Salve from my mother-in-law. You’d think she’d wise up and buy me my own πŸ˜‰

What’s on your Practical Christmas Wish List?

Tags: , , , , , ,

33 Responses to “My Practical Christmas Wish List”

  1. vicki archer Says:

    Great list Anne,
    I would like the nightie please Santa and a new pair of Uggs wouldn’t go astray.
    I am not practical by nature so on to your list I would like a year’s worth of haircuts at my favourite hairdresser and a pair of mighty heels from the red soled wonder of all shoemakers, xv.

  2. vicki archer Says:

    Great list Anne,
    I would like the nightie please Santa and a new pair of Uggs wouldn’t go astray.
    I am not practical by nature so on to your list I would like a year’s worth of haircuts at my favourite hairdresser and a pair of mighty heels from the red soled wonder of all shoemakers, xv.

  3. Jenny Says:

    I’ve had my Mason Pearson brush forever, it’s really great! How cute to like granny nighties, that one looks so comfy and stylish.

  4. Luphia Says:

    everyone needs a pair (or two) of uggs boots, they come in different colours! πŸ˜‰

  5. Runway girl Says:

    love your practical list.
    I just put my list together, nothing like getting a list together last minute:)

  6. stephanie Says:

    Oh, I think I am going to have to post mine tomorrow – what a great idea!

  7. Miss Aimee Says:

    great GREAT list, thanks for the post! loving the nighty idea. Just actually asked my sis for one just liek that and she LOL at me–called me “mom”. hee hee. Isn’t it all about teh practical gifts though! cheers!

  8. Joanna Says:

    I’ve been wearing the UGG slippers for many, many years, but I’m finally getting a pair of UGG boots for Christmas. Score!

  9. christina Says:

    I love your list. Your practical items all look so pretty together. And I love getting practical things, because I know I’ll actually use them.

  10. christina Says:

    I love your list. Your practical items all look so pretty together. And I love getting practical things, because I know I’ll actually use them.

  11. nkp Says:

    I’ve had my Mason Pearson hairbrush for at least 12 years now, yeah same one, and it’s the only thing that works wonders on my super curly hair. When I first bought it my husband, then fiance, thought I was crazy for dropping that much dough on a hairbrush, little did he know how much money he would save over the last decade plus! As always, great finds.

  12. nkp Says:

    I’ve had my Mason Pearson hairbrush for at least 12 years now, yeah same one, and it’s the only thing that works wonders on my super curly hair. When I first bought it my husband, then fiance, thought I was crazy for dropping that much dough on a hairbrush, little did he know how much money he would save over the last decade plus! As always, great finds.

  13. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    what a concept…a ‘practical’ christmas list? i love all your picks and i have to agree with you on granny nighties…they’re so comfy and bring back such warm and fuzzy memories!

  14. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    I just recently bought a Mason Pearson hairbrush and I love it.
    Hmm. Practical list? Do art books and an iPhone count?

  15. Melissa Says:

    I love your practical Christmas list πŸ™‚ It may sound silly but I love getting things I need for Christmas and I would love a new pair of uggs too! I think you’ve inspired a post on my blog too πŸ™‚

  16. Lecia Says:

    Anne we are birds of a feather – I’m going to have to add that nightie to my collection! I keep that Kiehls hand salve in my bag at all times.

  17. blair Says:

    Great list Anne! I love the nightgown and hope you get all of these this year in one practical gift package (along with everything else on your list, of course!)

  18. blair Says:

    Great list Anne! I love the nightgown and hope you get all of these this year in one practical gift package (along with everything else on your list, of course!)

  19. Luphia Says:

    me again… just wanted to say i’ve given you a blog love award πŸ˜‰ Tina x

  20. Luphia Says:

    me again… just wanted to say i’ve given you a blog love award πŸ˜‰ Tina x

  21. megan Says:

    Lovely wish list, Anne! I agree with you-while it is fun and dreamy to wish for other things, practicality is just sometimes best πŸ™‚ This year the one thing I’m really hoping for is a black & white houndstooth print coat, some items from martha stewart’s blue kitchen collection, and some baking books πŸ™‚

  22. megan Says:

    Lovely wish list, Anne! I agree with you-while it is fun and dreamy to wish for other things, practicality is just sometimes best πŸ™‚ This year the one thing I’m really hoping for is a black & white houndstooth print coat, some items from martha stewart’s blue kitchen collection, and some baking books πŸ™‚

  23. Martha B. Says:

    Anne-
    I used to receive from my mother-in-law a pair of pajamas every Christmas…and often thought ‘how boring.’ Now she’s in a nursing home and doesn’t know me. I sure miss those practical pajama gifts.
    Martha B.

  24. Martha B. Says:

    Anne-
    I used to receive from my mother-in-law a pair of pajamas every Christmas…and often thought ‘how boring.’ Now she’s in a nursing home and doesn’t know me. I sure miss those practical pajama gifts.
    Martha B.

  25. Tina Says:

    that nightie looks oh so cozy, esp sitting next to a fire with some cocoa.

  26. darling dexter Says:

    totally loving the full-length granny number! looks cozy πŸ™‚

  27. rachel Says:

    I love receiving gift cards for Banana Republic so I can go shopping and buy some new clothes to wear to work! When you go clothes shopping, it always seems easier to buy the cute and casual stuff…

  28. Rachel Says:

    Mmmmmmmm…those James Perse shirts are so heavenly. A perfect practical yet indulgent gift.

  29. dolce chic Says:

    I love uggies…I’m wearing mine right now. πŸ™‚

  30. Liz Says:

    Nice pick with the Uggs boots, those look really cozy!
    I actually need a new pair of Uggs in black and I’ve already hinted at a new pair of diamond earrings I saw on http://www.idonowidont.com that I hope my fiance buys me.
    I also love those granny gowns, totally cozy!

  31. Mussy Wells Says:

    Hows about AUD$30 000.00? That would just about keep me fed, housed and schooled for the next year? Oh and perhaps throw in a billabong surfboard, boardies and rashy…yep, that’ll do.

  32. Georgia Says:

    very practical, indeed.
    all i needz is a long puffy down coat that will keep me from freezing my booty off this very cold winterβ€”what seems like the coldest ever!
    i’ve never owned uggs. it’s probably time i break down and get some, hah?

  33. Heidi Jo Says:

    I finally put my Practical Christmas List up on my blog> http://crookedshmooked.blogspot.com/2008/12/my-practical-christmas-list.html

Leave a Reply

