Shopping Trip: Modern Country Christmas

kids33.jpg
Yesterday’s post on a modern country Christmas went over so well, I just had to put together a gift guide to get the look! Presenting a passel of goodies proving that country can be fresh and clean. As Catherine would say, there’s not a ‘twee’ item in sight! For your favourite kiddo, sock monkeys are SO last year. A sock moose is much cooler! Put them to work at the bread board with a mini apron and oven mitts, get them all riled up with a stocking stuffed full of yummies, then pack them off to bed in a thermal union suit. Just don’t be surprised if they ride that sugar high all night!

kitchen232.jpg
Forget Christmas themed tablewares; invest in a set that’s as perfect on the Fourth of July as it is on the Twenty-Fifth of December. Tea imported from France makes each sip a little more charmant. And speaking of French, vintage linen dish towels from Provence make washing up positively Continental. Serve milk in a pitcher so farmhouse authentic you might have to scrape cream off the top, and keep the surface of your barn wood table pristine with a rustic iron trivet.

COLD2.jpg
Chopped one too many pieces of firewood? A rubdown with this thick rescue salve will fix you up but good. Log stove on the fritz? A genuine Swiss Army Blanket is perfect for snuggling, especially when paired with these classic Wicked Good Slippers. If your abode is more ‘fifth floor walk-up’ than ‘over the river and through the woods’, a firewood scented candle creates a country mood. But keep a hot water bottle handy in case the landlord cuts your heat…

20 Responses to “Shopping Trip: Modern Country Christmas”

  1. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I might send my husband here as that might as well be my Christmas list! Diptyque Candle, Cream Pitcher (for home grown summer flowers), cute hot water bottle and a giant Toblerone – HEAVEN! πŸ˜‰

  2. Maggie @ Eat, Drink, Marry Says:

    Loooove this post. Awesome job!

  3. blair Says:

    Those hot water bottles are adorable! Definitely nailed the modern country look.

  4. Georgia Says:

    i like the red theme. i was just at my favorite boutique on Sunday, and they had a fun little promotion where any item that had red in or on it was 20% off in the spirit of Christmas and everything that is Christmas red.
    so, of course, i had to take advantage of it.
    πŸ™‚
    i have absolutely no red in my house. i won’t allow it, as green is my favorite color, and i have so many other colors with the green, but red is a no-no. i’m afraid my house will look Christmasy all year round if i introduce red into it.

  5. callie grayson Says:

    love that blanket, so warm and cosy looking. great post!
    would love every item under my tree.

  6. megan Says:

    Oh I am just so happy that you did this-I loved yesterday’s post. Go figure, I was just looking on William-Sonoma’s website yesterday and saw that gorgeous set of plates. Love them!

  7. Rachel Says:

    You picked out the best things! I would love that little sock moose, just for myself.

  8. the sassy kathy Says:

    cute selections! me gusta mucho.
    (and ps – if that’s the case with jim you better add that provision in with the hubby – right now i thought he was only allowing a love fest with Jake Gyllenhaal? πŸ˜› teehee)

  9. jess@thehomebound Says:

    Oh, I want those slippers!

  10. Luphia Says:

    love the colour theme of these gorgeous gifts! red & white is such a perfect combo!

  11. lilly Says:

    Great post – would like most of this….

  12. stephanie Says:

    This is too adorable. Something about red and white makes great presents even better, I think!

  13. tiffany Says:

    oh that moose! too cute.
    love all this stuff. it’s like holiday stuff without being too holiday-ey πŸ™‚

  14. Chris Says:

    Mmmm…these are some wonderful suggestions! And I love how you put everything together in such a neat little presentation, too.
    I’ll have to get my Christmas list together now for sure!

  15. Erin Says:

    darling you have out done yoursefl! My honey just had his first nephew come into the world and that moose is too cute πŸ™‚

  16. Design Lovely Says:

    Love that rocking horse!

  17. Clare Says:

    Oohh, my favourites there are the stocking, the tea towels and the hot water bottles. Not quite sure what that says about me Love the idea of a Christmas card to make your friends laugh and looking forward to seeing how you top last years! PS. dId the magazine mention where the Noah’s ark was from? I have been looking for a really special version for years but most are not nearly so nice.

  18. Runway girl Says:

    i love that pitcher!!!

  19. Alexis Roberts Says:

    If people want to know what I want for the holidays, I’m just going to send them over to this post! I want everything!!

  20. Courtney Says:

    I love, love, love the sock Moose. Our littlest pup’s name is Moose, so I have a fondness for anything Moose-related. And that guy is adorable.

Leave a Reply

Shopping Trip: Modern Country Christmas

kids33.jpg
Yesterday’s post on a modern country Christmas went over so well, I just had to put together a gift guide to get the look! Presenting a passel of goodies proving that country can be fresh and clean. As Catherine would say, there’s not a ‘twee’ item in sight! For your favourite kiddo, sock monkeys are SO last year. A sock moose is much cooler! Put them to work at the bread board with a mini apron and oven mitts, get them all riled up with a stocking stuffed full of yummies, then pack them off to bed in a thermal union suit. Just don’t be surprised if they ride that sugar high all night!

kitchen232.jpg
Forget Christmas themed tablewares; invest in a set that’s as perfect on the Fourth of July as it is on the Twenty-Fifth of December. Tea imported from France makes each sip a little more charmant. And speaking of French, vintage linen dish towels from Provence make washing up positively Continental. Serve milk in a pitcher so farmhouse authentic you might have to scrape cream off the top, and keep the surface of your barn wood table pristine with a rustic iron trivet.

COLD2.jpg
Chopped one too many pieces of firewood? A rubdown with this thick rescue salve will fix you up but good. Log stove on the fritz? A genuine Swiss Army Blanket is perfect for snuggling, especially when paired with these classic Wicked Good Slippers. If your abode is more ‘fifth floor walk-up’ than ‘over the river and through the woods’, a firewood scented candle creates a country mood. But keep a hot water bottle handy in case the landlord cuts your heat…

20 Responses to “Shopping Trip: Modern Country Christmas”

  1. Miss Aimee Says:

    okay the sock-moose is way cool!!! And I have ALWAYS wanted one of those classic swiss army blankets too. Great post!

  2. Maggie @ Eat, Drink, Marry Says:

    Loooove this post. Awesome job!

  3. blair Says:

    Those hot water bottles are adorable! Definitely nailed the modern country look.

  4. Georgia Says:

    i like the red theme. i was just at my favorite boutique on Sunday, and they had a fun little promotion where any item that had red in or on it was 20% off in the spirit of Christmas and everything that is Christmas red.
    so, of course, i had to take advantage of it.
    πŸ™‚
    i have absolutely no red in my house. i won’t allow it, as green is my favorite color, and i have so many other colors with the green, but red is a no-no. i’m afraid my house will look Christmasy all year round if i introduce red into it.

  5. nkp Says:

    Sweet rocking horse. I know at least three boys who would fight for a turn on that ride. Super ideas!

  6. megan Says:

    Oh I am just so happy that you did this-I loved yesterday’s post. Go figure, I was just looking on William-Sonoma’s website yesterday and saw that gorgeous set of plates. Love them!

  7. Rachel Says:

    You picked out the best things! I would love that little sock moose, just for myself.

  8. dolce chic Says:

    You have such a knack for finding the greatest things! I love that little moose, it is too cute!

  9. jess@thehomebound Says:

    Oh, I want those slippers!

  10. Luphia Says:

    love the colour theme of these gorgeous gifts! red & white is such a perfect combo!

  11. lilly Says:

    Great post – would like most of this….

  12. stephanie Says:

    This is too adorable. Something about red and white makes great presents even better, I think!

  13. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    I’m making my list for Santa!
    Love those vintage linen towels, those cozy slippers and those adorable hot water bottle warmers.
    I hope I haven’t been too naughty this year!

  14. Chris Says:

    Mmmm…these are some wonderful suggestions! And I love how you put everything together in such a neat little presentation, too.
    I’ll have to get my Christmas list together now for sure!

  15. Jen Says:

    I am really into the burlap/linen with red stripes look. I don’t know why…I just am.

  16. Catherine Says:

    Hey I’m feeling pretty famous right about now – thanks for the mention.
    You have nailed this post completely Anne – I’ll have one of everything thanks. And thank you for the lovely compliment about my little monster’s room.

  17. Clare Says:

    Oohh, my favourites there are the stocking, the tea towels and the hot water bottles. Not quite sure what that says about me Love the idea of a Christmas card to make your friends laugh and looking forward to seeing how you top last years! PS. dId the magazine mention where the Noah’s ark was from? I have been looking for a really special version for years but most are not nearly so nice.

  18. Runway girl Says:

    i love that pitcher!!!

  19. joannagoddard Says:

    too cute!!! i love these!!!

  20. Courtney Says:

    I love, love, love the sock Moose. Our littlest pup’s name is Moose, so I have a fondness for anything Moose-related. And that guy is adorable.

Leave a Reply

