Country Living Does a Clean and Simple Christmas

0460_001.jpg

I don’t usually buy Country Living Magazine—it’s not quite my style—but this month’s Christmas features are really tickling my fancy. Isn’t this vignette just phenomenal? I’m a sucker for the PK22 Easy Chair under any circumstances. But throw in a Jacobean pine floor, vintage linen pillows, and a spartan evergreen wreathe hanging in the window, and I’m a goner.

0462_0012.jpg

Winter fruit makes such a striking statement both as a centerpiece and as a casual accompaniment to a banister garland. I’m reminded of ‘A Little House on the Prairie’, in which the most prized Christmas present is a piece of fruit. Of course in that book it’s an orange, but any fruit this time of year is such a treat, a vibrant sign of life in winter’s chill. (What am I talking about? I live in California and snack on juicy local grapes every day…)

0462_001.jpg

These bed linens are a perfect example of why I don’t often read Country Living: a bit too rustic meets frou-frou for my taste. But I do love that striped pillow front and center, and I just adore the baby tree wrapped in burlap on the nightstand. Plus those broad plank floors are to die for, no?

0463_001.jpg

As I child, I could never decide which I loved more: our nativity scene or our wooden Noah’s ark. If we’d had this beauty, the choice would have been clear indeed. Check out those little penguins in the foreground! Just ditch the needlepoint sampler in favour of a fine art photograph, trade in some clear glass balls for the tree, and I’d be a happy Christmas camper indeed!

0465_0012.jpg

All images courtesy of Country Living Magazine, December 2008.

Tags: , ,

19 Responses to “Country Living Does a Clean and Simple Christmas”

  1. please sir Says:

    Oh I love all these ideas – natural and simple – perfect!

  2. Julia Says:

    You’re so right..it’s country but with a streak of simple and modern. I love all the details

  3. Luphia Says:

    agree with you on the chairs Anne, they are gorgeous on their own, teamed up with some vintage pillows? almost impossible to resist!
    love the fruits too, i can just imaging myself picking up one & eating it while going up or down stairs πŸ˜‰

  4. Catherine Says:

    Yes there’s a fine line between a ‘great’ country look and a ‘twee’ country look, but I think this one hits the mark.
    Hey loved your poufs too – I’ve had my eye on a red one at a place called http://www.icedwhite.com.au for some time now. They did have them in tan too, but sold out and I’m not sure I’m brave enough to do the red.

  5. Miss Aimee Says:

    simple. love those natural cacky pillows with the reed stripe too.all so pretty!!

  6. Miss Aimee Says:

    See my blog: I would love to see your Practical Christmas Wish List! Have a great day!

  7. Georgia Says:

    pears on the stairs! i love that simple little touch that achieves so much! if i had a house like that and did that on my stairs, when family came over to visit, they would laugh me out of my own house for that maneuver. they just wouldn’t get something like that. but i do!
    and, can i just say how much i love that green industrial pendant lamp over the table? i have ALWAYS wanted one of those ever since the first time i saw one! such a great look!
    happy Monday, Anne!
    (Christmas is coming!!!!!)

  8. sushi2 Says:

    I love those pictures. Isn’t it interesting how the interpretation of Country Living is so broad. It’s country with a modern twist.

  9. Maggie @ Eat, Drink, Marry Says:

    It’s funny – my mom subscribes to ‘Country Living,’ and I’ve had more than a few “but wait, I love this living room too!” moments with her magazines. Who knew?!
    I’m in agreement, though – this holiday decor is divine.

  10. Michelle Says:

    love the simplicity

  11. blair Says:

    I actually bought my first copy this weekend (as I was running out of gym reading material!) but haven’t actually opened it up. The pears on the staircase are precious and the first vignette just seems, well perfect!

  12. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I bought Country Living here for that article too! I love the wreaths and wide floor planks. I swear I’m having flooring like that in our next house. My husband won’t let me look at/buy anything older than 300 years (only because he wants a Georgian House), but all the 500 year old plus houses have floor planks like that! But you never know I just need to find one that isn’t falling down πŸ™‚

  13. callie grayson Says:

    i think i need get this issue! so perfect for my style of holiday decor!!

  14. Melissa Says:

    I love the photographs with the wreaths in the windows πŸ™‚ I love Christmas decorations!

  15. Michelle @ My Wedding Report Says:

    I love Christmas decorations. I’m planning the table centerpieces and decorations for our office Christmas party this Friday and am having WAY too much fun.

  16. Amanda Says:

    This makes me want to go home and put pairs all over my apartment!
    P.S. you made my weekend. πŸ™‚

  17. jo Says:

    i love this minimalist christmas decor!

  18. c Says:

    Clearly those people at Country Living don’t have a dog…haha my dog would enjoy pears on the stairs!! but really those pears look great! And as I’m in California as well πŸ˜‰ am thinking off the top of my head one could add other fruits into the mix. Actually, for thanksgiving I decorated with persimmons… ooooh or what about some pomegranates…those would be nice! Thanks, you got my creative juices ((haha..literally)) working overtime now!
    And thanks again for your support on this blogging endeavor, so glad to have discovered your page. xx c

  19. Chelsea Fuss Says:

    Oooh. Perfect. I love.

Leave a Reply

