Really Really Really Loving: Poufs

pouf fest.jpg

You know how when you’re obsessed with something, you see it everywhere you go? Right now I’m having a pouf moment, and it seems like everyone and his dog has one of these Moroccan leather hassocks. What I’ve noticed, however, is that their application extends well beyond the harem den; they’re quite versatile little creatures! And of course that just makes me want one more…

skonahemluxurious.jpg

Of course that’s not to say that I don’t love a vibrant ethnic interior, made even more fabulous by a metallic gold pouf. But how fun would it be to mix and match cultural references? Here a fuchsia pouf gets very friendly indeed with a Japanese folding screen and a sinuous spindle lamp.

blissme.jpg

Preppy Palm Beach chic is the perfect counterpoint to these lime green fellas. I just love how the poufs reference the cylindrical shape of the traditional bolster pillows on that gorgeous daybed.

kwearstler1.jpg

This celadon blue pouf is so striking against the pale whites and greys. And Barcelona chairs can sometimes feel a bit stark and cold, but the pouf warms things right up.

lucinda symons.jpg

Same color scheme, totally different effect! The Hollywood Regency wallpaper and sleek chair are 100% glam. But that table looks straight out of Sheherazade. Yet it works—the pouf acts as a bridge between the two looks in order to create a unified whole.

rsmith0239.png

Mod couch in pink linen + angular marble coffee table + slouchy white pouf = when do I move in?

selina lake.png

Here the poufs have been repurposed as occasional tables. Aren’t they suited perfectly to this job? And the contrast between the spacey silver poufs and the straight-laced antique portraits makes each element that much more striking.

ellensilverman.png

Any trace of opulence is absent from this clean and simple interior. The poufs in caramel leather have an almost organic appeal, as though they grew straight up from the floor like fairy stools!

brown button.jpg

An uber-traditional drawing room gets the pouf treatment! I imagine a staid English manor house in the early 1800’s. A mysterious troupe of gypsies arrive on the estate, bringing with them silks and rugs from afar…a dashing Romany boy sweeps the earl’s beautiful daughter off her feet. The pair steals away into the night but in her place they leave this handsome pouf. A fair trade, right?

interior_08.jpg

Image Credits: 1. Sarah’s Fab Day 2. Skona Hem 3. Source Unknown 4. Kelly Wrestler 5. Lucinda Symons 6. Rachel Smith 7. Selina Lake 8. Ellen Silverman 9. Brown Button 10. Katie Sellers

Tags: ,

47 Responses to “Really Really Really Loving: Poufs”

  1. nkp Says:

    If I had to live in a padded room, that first photo would be the ideal location. What an amazing assortment! I too have always had a serious crush on these adorable confection-like poufs. A really outstanding post!

  2. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh Anne, what an amazing variety of poufs! I love them too. They give a comfy touch to every space.
    Have a wonderful weekend darling! xoxo
    Caroline

  3. julie Says:

    great photos of all the different ways to incorporate poufs! now i want one! what a comfy little addition to a room that invites guests to just plop down.

  4. Abbie Says:

    I’ve been drooling over poufs for ages. I looked on eBay for cheaper versions, but I’ve heard horror stories about the poor quality and not matching pictures. I’ll just dream a little longer!

  5. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    these add a touch of coziness to a place, but also make it look utterly chic. love the white ones!

  6. Courtney Says:

    I love the white and grey room with the turquoise poof, as well as the room with the pink sofa and white poofs. Lovely!

  7. WendyB Says:

    I like to call poufs “tuffets” as in what little Miss Muffet sat on.

  8. Georgia Says:

    okay, i want one! or ten! how very cute–wait not cute. i can’t even think of an adjective for these. i love them!
    if i saw one in a store, i might think they were too college dorm-y. but in these photos, they look amazing! such classy rooms with a touch of POUF!
    you just bring us the best stuff day after day! how DO you do it?

  9. Georgia Says:

    okay, i want one! or ten! how very cute–wait not cute. i can’t even think of an adjective for these. i love them!
    if i saw one in a store, i might think they were too college dorm-y. but in these photos, they look amazing! such classy rooms with a touch of POUF!
    you just bring us the best stuff day after day! how DO you do it?

  10. rachel Says:

    I’ve liked these for a while now! I love stuff that’s interesting looking but also super functional. I love that they’re easily movable, cute, can be used to sit on or as a table…. they’re awesome.
    I’d probably use them more like the second to last pic with the red table – as a couple of extra seats!

  11. rachel Says:

    I’ve liked these for a while now! I love stuff that’s interesting looking but also super functional. I love that they’re easily movable, cute, can be used to sit on or as a table…. they’re awesome.
    I’d probably use them more like the second to last pic with the red table – as a couple of extra seats!

  12. The Deco Detective Says:

    I remember “inheriting” a green and white one when my sister moved out. My rabbit loved sitting on top of it! Unfortunately, she also loved nibbling energetically at the edges of it, so that was the end of the pouf…

  13. The Deco Detective Says:

    I remember “inheriting” a green and white one when my sister moved out. My rabbit loved sitting on top of it! Unfortunately, she also loved nibbling energetically at the edges of it, so that was the end of the pouf…

  14. jess@thehomebound Says:

    I am really liking them too. I want a couple for our family room. The problem is finding 2 that I am willing to spend the money on, and not too much money at that!

  15. Sarah's Fab Day Says:

    I love how they’re just little bits of comfy.

  16. Alexis Says:

    I love poufs and, as soon as my kids get old enough to stop drawing on all of my stuff, I’m going to get some!

  17. Alexis Says:

    I love poufs and, as soon as my kids get old enough to stop drawing on all of my stuff, I’m going to get some!

  18. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    the gold ottomons can be found at John Derian…all different colors!!

  19. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    the gold ottomons can be found at John Derian…all different colors!!

  20. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    the gold ottomons can be found at John Derian…all different colors!!

  21. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    the gold ottomons can be found at John Derian…all different colors!!

  22. Luphia Says:

    these photos are gorgeous, poufs are so great as they’re so so funtional yet can be very beautiful and maybe inexpensive too. I’d love to have 5 or so in my home (too much? never too much! 😉

  23. Luphia Says:

    these photos are gorgeous, poufs are so great as they’re so so funtional yet can be very beautiful and maybe inexpensive too. I’d love to have 5 or so in my home (too much? never too much! 😉

  24. dwellings and decor Says:

    Love your poufs. I especially like the ones with that gorgeous pink sofa. So many great interiors!

  25. dwellings and decor Says:

    Love your poufs. I especially like the ones with that gorgeous pink sofa. So many great interiors!

  26. Sara Christine Says:

    That pink linen sofa is TO. DIE. FOR. What a great use of color and texture.

  27. Sara Christine Says:

    That pink linen sofa is TO. DIE. FOR. What a great use of color and texture.

  28. Amanda Says:

    I want poufs! It’s like an adult’s version of a beanbag. But leather- and classy. My cats would destroy them though.

  29. Amanda Says:

    I want poufs! It’s like an adult’s version of a beanbag. But leather- and classy. My cats would destroy them though.

  30. Jackie Says:

    Pouftastic! Poufalicious! Pouferific! Poufaholics of the world unite! The third photo with the fuchsia pouf is seriously ringin my bell right now.

  31. Jackie Says:

    Pouftastic! Poufalicious! Pouferific! Poufaholics of the world unite! The third photo with the fuchsia pouf is seriously ringin my bell right now.

  32. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    Beautiful poofs. Who wouldn’t love any of them? Just the word “poof” puts a smile on my face. I’m partial to the more colorful turquoise and green poofs, but those silver ones are creeping into my heart as well.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Anne.
    xo
    Brooke

  33. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    Beautiful poofs. Who wouldn’t love any of them? Just the word “poof” puts a smile on my face. I’m partial to the more colorful turquoise and green poofs, but those silver ones are creeping into my heart as well.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Anne.
    xo
    Brooke

  34. c Says:

    Gorgeous collection of photos, I for one love contrasting and juxtaposing elements in décor, well, in all aspects of life really….and I love the looks you found here. Happy to have discovered your blog. xx c

  35. Kimberlee Says:

    ok, love, love love! Wanted to tell you which one was my fav but I can’t decide. The metallic ones are fabulous, but oh I love the pink, and the blue ones….ahh what the hell, ALL of them are my favourites. Another gorgeous post xx

  36. mary jo Says:

    I’ve been in love with poufs for the past year or so and for some reason, just haven’t gotten them. But those white ones are exactly what I want…hmm. So much to do, so little time to decorate!

  37. jora Says:

    I just love poufs too. My kids have one of the Zid Zid tables with the little poufs. I like it more than they do. 🙂

  38. The Lil Bee Says:

    i think poufs are exactly what I need for extra seating in my front room. This is a great collection!

  39. The Lil Bee Says:

    i think poufs are exactly what I need for extra seating in my front room. This is a great collection!

  40. An Atlanta Bride Says:

    What pretty, pretty pictures!!

  41. An Atlanta Bride Says:

    What pretty, pretty pictures!!

  42. Trina Says:

    Loving the poufs too and all the homes they are living in, in these pictures.. ahhh!
    Happy Monday!
    xx Trina

  43. Kirrily Says:

    I love poufs too! (though in my house we call them pods)
    I have 2 brown ones for us adults, and one of the cloud ones from your first photo stored away for our future first child!

  44. christina Says:

    i love poufs! i’ve been looking for some for our family room…i love the moroccan flair…so beautiful!

  45. christina Says:

    i love the poufs too! great photos, you have totally inspired me to go pouf crazy in our craft/family/sitting room that i have been putting off decorating! thanks!
    xo, christina

  46. christina Says:

    oops, sorry for the double-commenting. i was so excited i went crazy!

  47. Abbey Goes Design Scouting Says:

    I’ve been lusting after a pink pouf!! love this post… happy weekend! xo

Leave a Reply

