To Die For Recipe: Chocolate Haystacks

DSC_0022.JPG

I’m very pleased to announce that the winner of last week’s cookbook giveaway is the lovely Liz from Violet Posy! Liz—who lives in England, writes a charming blog, and loves all things Cath Kidston—is the lucky winner of a copy of Nancy Baggett’s All-American Dessert Book. But before I mail this bad boy across the pond, I have to share this recipe with you. Simply put, these are the best cookies I’ve made in a long time. The fudgy, nutty bundles of perfection are super easy to make, and they taste even better after the flavours have melded for a couple of days…which makes them perfect for packing up and sending to loved ones for the holidays!

DSC_0020.JPG

I was intrigued by this recipe because it contains very little flour and butter, relying instead on a heady mix of chocolate, coconut, pecans, and sweetened condensed milk. I think it’s this last ingredient that makes them incredibly moist. And even if you don’t like coconut (hi, mom!) you’ll love these, because the coconut soaks up all the other flavours and becomes more of a textural element. The original recipe didn’t contain as much chocolate as my version, but I bumped it up because chocolate makes all good things better!

Chocolate Haystacks
Recipe adapted from The All-American Dessert Book by Nancy Baggett

3 tablespoons butter
1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups chopped pecans (I used the food processor so they were pretty finely chopped)
2 1/2 cups shredded or flaked sweetened coconut
1 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In the microwave or in a double boiler on the stove, melt butter and chocolate chips. Stir until chips are melted and mixture is smooth. Put aside. In a large bowl combine coconut, pecans, condensed milk, sugar, egg, salt and vanilla. Stir until combined, then add in butter mixture and stir thoroughly. Add cocoa powder, flour and baking soda, mix well. Measure in generous blobs (I like to use a small ice cream scoop) onto a parchment lined baking sheet, and bake for 10-15 minutes depending on the size of your blobs. They should be just firm to the touch when you remove them. Let cool for five minutes on baking sheet then remove to cooling rack and enjoy!

Tags: , , , ,

18 Responses to “To Die For Recipe: Chocolate Haystacks”

  1. Catherine Says:

    These look utterly delicious. Especially since they have sweetened condensed milk in them – I can eat that stuff straight from the tin – yum yum!

  2. Catherine Says:

    These look utterly delicious. Especially since they have sweetened condensed milk in them – I can eat that stuff straight from the tin – yum yum!

  3. Luphia Says:

    I agree about the condensed milk, you can often find me with a pot of that & a spoon in my hand… these cookies look delicious!

  4. Luphia Says:

    I agree about the condensed milk, you can often find me with a pot of that & a spoon in my hand… these cookies look delicious!

  5. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I’m so excited! Thanks so much for picking me, I’m looking forward so much to making those chocolate haystacks 🙂

  6. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I’m so excited! Thanks so much for picking me, I’m looking forward so much to making those chocolate haystacks 🙂

  7. Michelle Says:

    Yum. I’m going to try this out on Sunday!

  8. Michelle Says:

    Yum. I’m going to try this out on Sunday!

  9. sushi2 Says:

    This recipe looks delicious…Congratulations Liz, I’m so jealous =(

  10. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    ooooh, you devil you! these have always been one of my favorite cookies and these images have got me salivating.

  11. blair Says:

    Ok, I think I may have to go buy one of her cookbooks! The recipes all look to die for as do your variations (of course!).

  12. rea (my lovely notebook) Says:

    i just love chocolate and everything with it! Have to try out that recipe soon 🙂
    Have a lovely lovely weekend!

  13. julie Says:

    mouth is watering! these look incredible!

  14. Rebecca Says:

    yum! chocolate and coconut–is there anything better?

  15. Georgia Says:

    mmmmmmm . . .
    i think i’m gonna be about 10 pounds plumper after reading your blog for the past few months!
    that’s okay. keep ’em coming! it’s winter, and i could use the extra insulation.
    🙂

  16. Melissa Says:

    These cookies look amazing! I predict lots of baking in my future 🙂

  17. jo Says:

    you are too sweet! ok so i made the cookies but i think i botched them up! i added a little too much flour and they came out a bit doughy, and i think i undercooked them, and hence i had to cook them for a long time! anyways….i love cooking but am new to baking, so i need more practice! nonetheless the cookies still turned out very yummy!

  18. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    These look delish Anne! I’m adding these to my holiday cookie list this year!

Leave a Reply

