Blogger Book Love: Jen from Raising Granola

decorology.jpg

Welcome to another installment of Blogger Book Love! Today we have with us Jen from Raising Granola. I’m certain that Jen and I were one person in a previous life…we simultaneously come up with the same ideas and her sense of humour cracks me up. Jen’s fabulous blog is a mix of everything: reflections on parenting in small town Oregon, ingenious DIY’s, and her adventures in redoing the long-neglected Victorian home she just bought with her husband (who is a woodworker and a drummer in an awesome band!) Without further ado, here are Jen’s must-reads:

raisinggranolaheader.jpg

6a00e398a823f8000200e398a988af0001-500pi.jpg

1. The Four Agreements: A Toltec Wisdom Book by don Miguel Ruiz—My basketball coach and mentor gave me this book during a tough time in my basketball career. In case you were wondering, the Four Agreements are:

BE IMPECCABLE WITH YOUR WORD
Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love. (Hmmm, does this mean I have to take the “Go Fug Yourself” link off my page…)

DON’T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering. (This is a deep one)

DON’T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS
Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness, and drama.

ALWAYS DO YOUR BEST
Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgement, self-abuse, and regret.

eyewitness.jpg

2. Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chambers by Filip Muller—“Open thy mouth for the dumb in the cause of all such as are appointed to destruction.” (Proverbs 31.8) Filip Muller, who worked the ovens at Auschwitz, witnessed the exterminations and gassings of millions of Jews and lived to write one of the key documents of the Holocaust. Müller’s provides a first-hand account of the events behind the walls in the Auschwitz camps. Now, I realize that this selection is slightly morbid and not for everyone. However, I was a history major in college and the Holocaust was my area of expertise. This book is the most intensely horrifying item I have ever read. Beware because it is an exhausting read…you will be emotionally drained every time you pick it up.

513DTCXGFBL.jpg

3. Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron—On a lighter note, this book is packed full of good tips for feeding, cleaning, and entertaining your kid. Though it can be a bit confusing at times, there are some great recipes and ideas. I highly recommend it for new parents!

pretty-horses_l.jpg

4. All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy—I am a sucker for cowboys, horses, and corrupt Mexican police…check out Old Country for New Men as well.

shel.jpg

5. Where the Sidewalk Ends and A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein—What a blast from the past! I can remember one of my teachers only reading one poem a day to us. We would die in suspense waiting for the next day! I have a feeling I will be reading a lot of his books to a certain someone when he gets old enough.

INVITATION
If you are a dreamer, come in.
If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer . . .
If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire,
For we have some flax golden tales to spin.
Come in!
Come in!
_______________

Thanks so much to Jen for her book suggestions. Not only do these look like incredible reads, but they pretty much cover everyone on my Christmas gift list! For more book ideas check out previous installments in our series, and stay tuned for more great lists from more great bloggers!

Top Image Credit: Decorology

Tags: , ,

25 Responses to “Blogger Book Love: Jen from Raising Granola”

  1. Melissa Says:

    The Four Agreements is such a great book and I love Shel Silverstein 🙂

  2. Melissa Says:

    The Four Agreements is such a great book and I love Shel Silverstein 🙂

  3. blair Says:

    What a diverse selection! I read the four agreements in college and think they are such incredible principles to live by. I think the hardest for me is not taking anything personally!

  4. blair Says:

    What a diverse selection! I read the four agreements in college and think they are such incredible principles to live by. I think the hardest for me is not taking anything personally!

  5. Joanna Says:

    I adore Shel Silverstein and so glad you included him on your list! Some of my favorite poems of his are “Hungry Mungry” and “My Beard”; the latter still makes me laugh every time I read it:
    My beard grows to my toes
    I never wears no clothes
    I wraps my hair
    around my bare
    and down the road I goes
    Now how can you NOT love that?!

  6. Sheila Bocchine, Pinhole Photographer Says:

    Oh Shel Silverstein! I love those two books and still have my childhood copies!
    I’ll have to check out ‘All the Pretty Horses’!

  7. Amanda Says:

    Cormac McCarthy and Shel Silverstein. My two favorites!

  8. Tina Says:

    I may have to pick up Four Agreements. The “don’t take anything personal” really hits home. I’m an overly sensitive person and tend to take everything to heart. I’m trying to be better about it. Maybe some wisdom will help. Shel Silverstein is classic.

  9. Lecia Says:

    Great list! I haven’t seen The Four Agreements – it sounds like something I could benefit from reading. Thanks for the recommendation!

  10. Georgia Says:

    i have the last two, and they are among my favorites! being the non-reader i am, poetry is more my kind of speed than books with long paragraphs.
    i just recently found out that many of Shel Silverstein’s poems are songs. i never knew that.
    All the Pretty Horses—saw the movie. Does that count?

  11. Amanda Says:

    Yes, yes! I would love any recipe/favor link you have! You can email me at: amandarose_w@hotmail.com
    Thank you!

  12. Amanda Says:

    Yes, yes! I would love any recipe/favor link you have! You can email me at: amandarose_w@hotmail.com
    Thank you!

  13. Rachel Says:

    Great picks! I love the wide range of choices. All the Pretty Horses has been on my list for years and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. I think I need to bump it up on the list.

  14. Rachel Says:

    Great picks! I love the wide range of choices. All the Pretty Horses has been on my list for years and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. I think I need to bump it up on the list.

  15. Lynne Says:

    Ooh, haven’t even heard of any of these – just what I love about Blogger Book Love!

  16. Lynne Says:

    Ooh, haven’t even heard of any of these – just what I love about Blogger Book Love!

  17. nkp Says:

    This list has so peaked my interest. Another great blogger book love, thank you both. And count my vote in for Shel Silverstein, I think I have committed virtually every poem from
    Where The Sidewalk Ends to memory. I especially love Sick, ” I can not go to school today….

  18. nkp Says:

    This list has so peaked my interest. Another great blogger book love, thank you both. And count my vote in for Shel Silverstein, I think I have committed virtually every poem from
    Where The Sidewalk Ends to memory. I especially love Sick, ” I can not go to school today….

  19. sushi2 Says:

    Very cool book selections. My children absolutely adore Shel Silverstein. And I tend to give his book “The Giving Tree” as presents to young nieces and nephews.

  20. sushi2 Says:

    Very cool book selections. My children absolutely adore Shel Silverstein. And I tend to give his book “The Giving Tree” as presents to young nieces and nephews.

  21. Chris Says:

    Great blog find! I love her writing, and the Auschwitz book is really interesting to me (I’m a big WWII buff). Can’t wait to check it out myself.

  22. lj Says:

    wow, that really is an awesome band. everybody should check them out!

  23. si Says:

    such a great installment of blogger book love; Jen has a very eclectic taste in books, and they all look very interesting.
    love the post, love the band, love the blog!

  24. Miss Aimee Says:

    I have always wanted a bookshelf with a ladder- such a great look, cozy.

  25. Melanie Says:

    These book posts are my absolute favorite.

Leave a Reply

