Absolutely Loving: A Modern Organic Christmas

200812_rensdyr_11201

Once upon a time, in a magical land called Denmark, Christmas was only weeks away…

200812_rensdyr_11402

There wasn’t a plastic holly berry or fat Santa in sight…

200812_rensdyr_11301

The good people of Denmark eschewed tacky tinsel in favour of prickly pinecones, fuzzy felt animals and rustic antlers…

200812_rensdyr_11302_0

Soft furs and homespun linens sat ready to welcome carolers in from the cold…

200812_rensdyr_11001

Adorable Danish children counted down the days with cloth advent calendars— which were probably full of healthy snacks like trail mix, instead of cheap chocolate…

200812_rensdyr_11802-1

And in their letters to Saint Nicolas, these perfect children asked not for video games but for retro toy cars that matched mummy’s decor perfectly…

200812_rensdyr_11603.jpg

At night they slipped into their pajamas and drank a cup of warm milk at mini Saarinen-style tulip tables…

200812_rensdyr_11601.jpg

…then they snuggled under graphic reindeer blankies and dreamed of their super chic Scandinavian Christmas.

200812_rensdyr_11602.jpg

Images courtesy of Bo Bedre.

50 Responses to “Absolutely Loving: A Modern Organic Christmas”

  1. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    Anne… you are too much! You crack me up! Love the post!
    Becky

  2. Luphia Says:

    a great little story teamed up with beautiful photos! modern, organic & very stylish!

  3. Martha B. Says:

    …and they all lived happily ever after! πŸ™‚
    Love the photos!
    Martha B.

  4. Linda@Lime in the Coconut Says:

    Ahhh. that snuggly little crib blanket is TDF! Great post…fun blog. Glad I found ya!

  5. Catherine Says:

    Great pics…but the witty running commentary was what really won me over! Brought a smile to my face.

  6. nkp Says:

    I love all things Danish, especially after that post! That reindeer bedding is so fantastic and I have a thing for antlers. Beautiful, simple, warm and inviting interior!!!

  7. hester Says:

    Ah, so beautiful… I want to grow up to be the kind of woman who has a house like that…

  8. shill Says:

    lovely story accompanies stunning images!!!totally loving the countdown calendar!!!

  9. megan Says:

    such a pretty story and photos! i love those little pine cones wrapped around the gifts. I am definitely in the Christmas spirit now!

  10. rea (my lovely notebook) Says:

    Oh, what a story. It made me long for Christmas so much. Luckily itΒ΄s only weeks away as you said.
    Have a lovely week!

  11. sherrieg Says:

    I love this post! Brilliant!

  12. the sassy kathy Says:

    You are such a sweetie pie! Thank you so so much for the comment on both my and Chuck’s blog. You make me smile πŸ™‚

  13. Blind Irish Pirate Says:

    Me gusta.

  14. Blind Irish Pirate Says:

    Me gusta.

  15. Lecia Says:

    Beautiful, dreamy post, Anne. And where can I get a graphic Reindeer blankie??

  16. Lecia Says:

    Beautiful, dreamy post, Anne. And where can I get a graphic Reindeer blankie??

  17. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh Anne, this is soooo beautiful! This is the kind of Christmas decoration I was looking for. No plastic Santas!
    Hope you had a beautiful weekend too! xoxo
    Caroline

  18. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh Anne, this is soooo beautiful! This is the kind of Christmas decoration I was looking for. No plastic Santas!
    Hope you had a beautiful weekend too! xoxo
    Caroline

  19. Jackie Says:

    Perfect in every way! If only my Christmas decor was this chic. I’m really smitten with the advent calendar and reindeer blankie. Maybe next year…

  20. 180/360 Says:

    I love those birch trees tied up against the wall. I think I’m going to have to steal that idea for our cabin.

  21. please sir Says:

    Oh I love it too!

  22. Jackie Says:

    PS-I just did a little post on my blog sending my readers over to check this post out.

  23. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I’d love a Christmas like that, it’s never going to happen πŸ˜‰ But I’m stealing the mini Christmas tree idea for my hallway!

  24. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I’d love a Christmas like that, it’s never going to happen πŸ˜‰ But I’m stealing the mini Christmas tree idea for my hallway!

  25. blair Says:

    This is so cute! Definitely makes me want to visit this magical land! I love the packages with the pine cones and the casual table decor.

  26. blair Says:

    This is so cute! Definitely makes me want to visit this magical land! I love the packages with the pine cones and the casual table decor.

  27. Jenny Says:

    Wonderful! so simple and so elegant πŸ™‚

  28. Jenny Says:

    Wonderful! so simple and so elegant πŸ™‚

  29. Jen Says:

    This is my style! I got a table this weekend….

  30. dolce chic Says:

    Beautiful photos! Have you started decorating?

  31. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    Anne, you are a great story teller!
    What a beautiful Danish holiday.
    I love the idea of wrapping with craft paper and pine cones.
    The tree branches tied together look so pretty. I just might have to use that as inspiration in my shop.
    xo
    Brooke

  32. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    Anne, you are a great story teller!
    What a beautiful Danish holiday.
    I love the idea of wrapping with craft paper and pine cones.
    The tree branches tied together look so pretty. I just might have to use that as inspiration in my shop.
    xo
    Brooke

  33. Trina Says:

    This looks so appealing to me….. so crisp, clean and yet still warm.. love the images!

  34. Trina Says:

    This looks so appealing to me….. so crisp, clean and yet still warm.. love the images!

  35. Melanie Says:

    Oh, I just love your blog. Such pretty images.

  36. Melanie Says:

    Oh, I just love your blog. Such pretty images.

  37. Melissa Says:

    I love your story πŸ™‚ I love the birch trees and cloth advent calendar πŸ™‚

  38. Melissa Says:

    I love your story πŸ™‚ I love the birch trees and cloth advent calendar πŸ™‚

  39. Sara Says:

    I love the chic Christmas you have displayed! All though I love all my tacky holiday cheer, I also am very fond of this more sophisticated look.

  40. Chris Says:

    I love the look of that tree. I need to get a smaller tree this year, and I’d like to do something simple. They sure have the right idea, don’t they?

  41. callie grayson Says:

    love your post!!!! made me smile:)
    those wee saarinen-style tables are fabulous! and i love the growth tree on the back wall! very graphic and bold.

  42. callie grayson Says:

    love your post!!!! made me smile:)
    those wee saarinen-style tables are fabulous! and i love the growth tree on the back wall! very graphic and bold.

  43. Georgia Says:

    clean, bright, fresh–everything the holidays should be!
    nice to have you back!

  44. Georgia Says:

    clean, bright, fresh–everything the holidays should be!
    nice to have you back!

  45. Julia Says:

    So inspiring..amazing photos!

  46. Kimberlee Says:

    Stunning Post! OOooooh, and so the kind of christmas tree i wanted this year but didn’t quite get there. xx

  47. Melissa Brown Says:

    Wow…. these are gorgeous images, I adore that tiny little sheep on the table, that advent calendar and that blanket. You are too funny, I love your commentary as well! What a beautiful blog you have my dear!
    xo
    Melissa

  48. Courtney Says:

    You are too funny! And the photos are beautiful.

  49. Sara Christine Says:

    Just gorgeous. So simple and tasteful, yet it seems deeply personal. This is just the kind of holiday I want to have. πŸ™‚

  50. Joanna Says:

    SUCH exquisite pictures and so inspiring! I particularly love how cool-looking the Christmas tree is. It has an ever-so-slight Charlie Brown quality to it (though it’s much prettier and healtier than Mr Brown’s ever was. Sorry, Charlie). They probably chopped it down from a nearby magical forest.

Leave a Reply

