To Die for Recipe: Cranberry Cherry Crisp

DSC_0013.JPG

Another day closer to Thanksgiving, another amazingly simple and delicious dessert recipe from The All-American Dessert Book! I’m of the firm opinion that a crumble topping makes everything better, and this lovely little number is proof. A sweet/tart filling of cherries and cranberries oozes from beneath a pebbled oat and cinnamon surface, providing the perfect bed for a generous scoop of vanilla ice cream. It’s enough to make me renounce chocolate…well, almost.

DSC_0046.JPG

Just like yesterday’s pumpkin bread pudding, this dessert comes together so quickly and easily that you won’t know what hit you. Not only that, but it’s made with canned and frozen fruit so it’s budget friendly. Plus isn’t it a beauty? I just love how the bright red of the fruit contrasts with the warm golden clusters of topping. Anything that makes my tabletop prettier and my tastebuds happier is A-OK in my book! And speaking of books, don’t forget about The All-American Dessert Book giveaway! If you haven’t yet put your name in the running, just leave a comment with your favourite Thanksgiving or holiday dessert for a chance to win your own copy of this fabulous cookbook. I’ll randomly draw a winner to announce next week!

Sour Cherry Cranberry Crisp
Courtesy of The All-American Dessert Book by Nancy Baggett

1 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 15-oz cans pitted unsweetened sour cherries, drained
2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries, coarsely chopped

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
10 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Lightly grease a 9 x 13 or similar baking dish. Combine sugar, flour, cherries and cranberries in a bowl, then pour into prepared baking dish. To make topping, combine flour, oats, sugar, nuts, cinnamon and salt, then stir in melted butter until well combined and mixture has a crumbly texture. Sprinkle over fruit and bake at 375 degrees for 40-50 minutes, or until fruit bubbles and topping is golden. Let cool on wire rack until cool enough to eat. Or you could just spoon some up right away and burn your mouth like I did. The choice is yours.

Tags:

22 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Cranberry Cherry Crisp”

  1. Alexis Says:

    YUM! Oh, I hope I win that cookbook!

  2. callie grayson Says:

    oh my! that looks absolutely delicious! i just got in from the store and now I need to go back and get the makings for this pretty little dessert!
    yummy!
    i hope I win that cookbook too!

  3. callie grayson Says:

    oh my! that looks absolutely delicious! i just got in from the store and now I need to go back and get the makings for this pretty little dessert!
    yummy!
    i hope I win that cookbook too!

  4. Georgia Says:

    oh, how did i not see about the give-away earlier.
    well, you know what my fave dessert is–my cranberry peach cobbler!!
    although, this one looks pretty great, and if i try it, i just might have to put the cobbler away for a few years.
    (ps. my second fave Thanksgiving dessert is a pumpkin cheesecake–the recipe calls for bourbon. it’s to die for!!)
    (pps. if i don’t win the book, can i win that fabulous orange dish of your grandma’s?? just sneak it into your bag–she’ll never know it’s gone. 🙂 it would go perfectly in my orange and green retro kitchen!!! pleeeeeeese?)
    🙂

  5. Georgia Says:

    oh, how did i not see about the give-away earlier.
    well, you know what my fave dessert is–my cranberry peach cobbler!!
    although, this one looks pretty great, and if i try it, i just might have to put the cobbler away for a few years.
    (ps. my second fave Thanksgiving dessert is a pumpkin cheesecake–the recipe calls for bourbon. it’s to die for!!)
    (pps. if i don’t win the book, can i win that fabulous orange dish of your grandma’s?? just sneak it into your bag–she’ll never know it’s gone. 🙂 it would go perfectly in my orange and green retro kitchen!!! pleeeeeeese?)
    🙂

  6. Georgia Says:

    oh, yeah, can’t remember if i told you already. have a happy Thanksgiving!!!
    –Georgia

  7. sushi2 Says:

    Ahhhhhhhh!!!! that’s me screaming. yum-yum I am coming back to your blog after Thanksgiving to copy and make this great dessert, but right now I have to finish my turkey meal with all the fixin’s and the incredible desserts that my family will be bringing. But I won’t forget this All- American treat =) Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. Luphia Says:

    wow this looks so delicious, wonderful colour as well! …feeling hungry…

  9. Amanda Says:

    Yum! I may not be a huge fan of pumpkin, but I LOVE me some cherry!

  10. 180/360 Says:

    For someone who isn’t a huge fan of cooked fruit, this looks great- especially the tart aspect of it all. I love cranberries and cherries.

  11. 180/360 Says:

    For someone who isn’t a huge fan of cooked fruit, this looks great- especially the tart aspect of it all. I love cranberries and cherries.

  12. Lecia Says:

    This looks great, Anne! I inadvertently bought two bags of cranberries and only need one for my cranberry sauce; maybe I’ll make this over the weekend. Have a happy Thanksgiving!

  13. Lecia Says:

    This looks great, Anne! I inadvertently bought two bags of cranberries and only need one for my cranberry sauce; maybe I’ll make this over the weekend. Have a happy Thanksgiving!

  14. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    Can’t wait to try this out for the holidays.
    It sounds deliciously evil!
    I included you in a challenge on my blog.
    Please, no obligation. I know this is a crazy time of year. You are just one of those people I would love to know more about.
    xo
    Brooke

  15. Brooke Giannetti Says:

    Can’t wait to try this out for the holidays.
    It sounds deliciously evil!
    I included you in a challenge on my blog.
    Please, no obligation. I know this is a crazy time of year. You are just one of those people I would love to know more about.
    xo
    Brooke

  16. Julia Says:

    Wow..that looks deeeelicious. I love quick, easy and sweet!

  17. Julia Says:

    Wow..that looks deeeelicious. I love quick, easy and sweet!

  18. shill Says:

    my gosh!!! you always come up with the yummiest recipe, and its bad for my diet, i’ll just drool over your image 😀

  19. shill Says:

    my gosh!!! you always come up with the yummiest recipe, and its bad for my diet, i’ll just drool over your image 😀

  20. Mussy Says:

    OMG that looks so good… I made some good shortbread recently after my last three attempts at baking were utter disasters! Seriously, I accidentaly tripled the amount of baking soda in some ginger cookies, put too much butter in some scones, and burnt another thing. Phewf… I may try this one out as my luck seems to be turning around 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

  21. Courtney Says:

    This looks so delicious! I contemplated throwing it into the mix for today, but alas two desserts already for three people is, I think, enough! 🙂 This is definitely going into the recipe file though- yum!

  22. Jen Says:

    I love my mother-in-law’s lemon merangue pie. It’s so yummy.
    This crisp looks like a must make!

Leave a Reply

