To Die for Recipe: Pumpkin Bread Pudding and a Giveaway!

DSC_0268

Let me preface this post by telling you a secret: I hate pumpkin pie. How can I detest a humble dessert, you ask? Well that's the problem: pumpkin pie is not dessert. Rather, it is a vegetal mess, a disgraceful pairing of bland crust and not-quite-wholesome filling. When I want dessert, I want unabashed indulgence, not a squash that can't get it's act together. This pumpkin bread pudding is therefore perfect for me. It's everything pumpkin pie wishes it could be!

DSC_0216

Honestly, this is SO good. Smooth, melt in your mouth custard goodness meets the tender give of crusted bread, and a subtle pumpkin flavour complements the gentle undertones of spice. Plus it's practically foolproof: no finicky pastry and weepy pie filling to contend with. Just stir, pour, and bake. Not only would I serve this at Thanksgiving with a dollop of whipped cream, I would also enjoy it at a winter brunch. Or maybe just by myself, with a really big spoon and no one to interrupt me.

0618240004 
But wait, there's more! Leave me a comment with your favourite Thanksgiving dessert—or if you're not celebrating Thanksgiving this week, just share your favourite holiday dessert—and you'll be in the running to win the GORGEOUS cookbook that this recipe came from! The All-American Dessert Book is one of my favourite cookbooks of all time and boasts such fare as 'Vanilla Chocolate Trifle with Apricot Sauce' and 'Bourbon Pecan Fudge Cake'. Believe me, you WANT this cookbook, if only because the photos are so droolworthy. And don't worry, I'll remind you about the giveaway with another divine Thanksgiving recipe from this book, coming later in the week!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding
Courtesy of The All-American Dessert Book by Nancy Baggett

4 large eggs
1 cup packed brown sugar, plus 3 tablespoons for sprinkling on pudding
1 cup whole milk
1 cup whipping cream
1 15 oz. can pumpkin (not pie filling, just plain pumpkin)
2 3/4 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon ground allspice
5 1/2 cups cubed French bread (Brioche would be amazing too!)
3/4 cup dried cranberries (I used dried cherries for fun)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and lightly grease a 9 x 13 inch baking pan. Beat eggs until pale yellow and fluffy. Beat in brown sugar until dissolved and add milk, cream, pumpkin and spices. Pour over the bread, stir to coat, and let sit for 10 minutes. Bake in the oven for about 25 minutes, then sprinkle the 3 tablespoons sugar on top. Bake another 15 or so minutes, or until the top is slightly firm when pressed. Cool and devour!

35 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Pumpkin Bread Pudding and a Giveaway!”

  1. mary jo Says:

    This bread pudding sounds so delicious–and I would SO like to win this cook book! My favorite holiday dessert is without a doubt warm pecan pie made by someone who knows what they’re doing (meaning not too sweet, not too much Jessica, a thin, with fresh pecans and it must have a dollop of homemade vanilla bean ice cream on top. Have I embarassed myself yet?

  2. Catherine Says:

    In Australia, pumpkin rarely is used in deserts – more likely it’s roasted as a vegetable, made into a soup, or mixed into a risotto. The only desert where pumpkin gets a look-in is pumpkin scones. But this bread looks good!

  3. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    That looks AMAZING! I’m making it this weekend πŸ™‚

  4. Luphia Says:

    that looks delicious! i’m not normally a pumpkin person but i’ve got to try this!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Favorite Holiday dessert, pie, really good pie. I am not even particular on the ingredients…just not too soupy and great crust! I would love that book!

  6. Aimee Says:

    Yea I’m with ya’ on the pumpkin pie thing. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve had it. Its the texture that I don’t love.

  7. stephanie Says:

    I love pumpkin bread pudding – all things pumpkin, actually. My favorite Thanksgiving dessert is a tie:
    Baked Pumpkin Whoopie Pies (I made these for my sister’s birthday, and high holy wow, were they good)
    Homemade molasses cookies made into ice cream sandwiches with pumpkin ice cream (The Silver Palate molasses cookie recipe is my very favorite, and I get the ice cream from a local shop)
    Pumpkin deliciousness!

  8. Runway girl Says:

    ooohh, that looks so good.
    I will have to make it for sure. thanks for sharing.

  9. Peonies and Polaroids Says:

    I had pumpkin pie for the first time this month and it was disgusting! Not my idea of a pudding. I hate savoury food pretending to be pudding, pumpkin is for soup. Not desert.
    My favourite dessert/pudding is a chocolate cake by Jamie Oliver that my best friend has made for every special occasion since we first made it together when we were 13. It’s chocolate cake with flaked almonds in it and whipped cream, strawberries and raspberries in the middle, with delicious creamy, buttery chocolate icing on top. We’ve been eating it for a decade and it’s still the best pudding ever.

  10. Megan Says:

    i’ve been seeing pumpkin bread pudding recipes popping up like crazy lately and i am so eager to try it! those photos are absolutely lovely πŸ™‚ my favorite Thanksgiving dessert would have to be the dense, decadent and rich chocolate cake my mom makes every year for the holidays. the dark chocolate ganache layer on top is always the best part!

  11. Amanda Says:

    That bread pudding looks tasty. Not a huge pumpkin pie fan either. Of course, I’ve never been one to turn down pie- whatever the flavor. I can’t help myself.

  12. Daisy Says:

    I just across your blog and wanted to let you know how great it is! I really like it! I am going to add you on my blogroll! Daisy~

  13. little house on Green Says:

    This pumpkin treat looks wonderful, I think I will try it . . . but I too hate pumpkin pie. It’s just so worng on so many levels.
    My favorite part of the meal is the sweet potatoes (just the plain potato with butter, no marshmallow goo) and mixing that with the cranberry sauce πŸ™‚ For dessert, some berry / fruit pie with think and flaky crust. Mmmmm. I’m looking forward to Thursday!

  14. Alice Q. Says:

    That looks great – and I looove your pan!!

  15. blair Says:

    Sounds so good! I love new takes on the classics.My favorite dessert for thanksgiving is pumpkin tiramisu (I posted it yesterday. It is so much lighter and creamier than pumpkin pie. As a main dish i would have to say drunken cranberries!

  16. Ladelle Says:

    I’m so glad I found your blog- your writing is beautiful and everything you put on it is lovely…I love the combination of design and wonderful recipes…Thank you for sharing. My favorite dessert is an old recipe from BonAppetit~Lemon Curd Cake, dense & delicious-a labor of love to make. Happy Thanksgiving!

  17. Betsy Says:

    Mmmm, pumpkin bread pudding? Well, you don’t have to twist my arm– I’ll try it! I normally like a good, tart cherry pie at Thanksgiving. (Although, to be honest, I’m not one to turn down pumpkin — or any other dessert) I also like a yummy apple crip. Anything w/ brown sugar melted on top is ok by me!

  18. 180/360 Says:

    I’m not *gasp* a huge fan of pies, so I make a pumpkin cheesecake every Thanksgiving. It’s about 3 inches high, rather dense but totally delicious with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon pecan topping. It’s perfect and everyone always seems to love an alternative to pumpkin pie.
    PS. The Bread Pudding looks delicious, too!

  19. Claire T. Says:

    I’m definitely going to try this recipe. My all time favorite dessert that I’m actually going to make at Thanksgiving this year is baked rice pudding. It’s so easy and delicious. Put in some extra cinnamon and serve it hot and it is by far the best winter dessert!

  20. Melissa Says:

    I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie either, I think it’s definitely a texture thing:) I would definitely give this pumpkin bread pudding a chance. My favorite Thanksgiving dessert is apple crisp but I love it all year round:)

  21. Stacia Says:

    Warm Chocolate Pots with Crystalized Ginger on top. That has to be a last meal inclusion right there. πŸ™‚

  22. Georgia Says:

    i’m thinking the bowl it’s in is to die for! i love it!

  23. nkp Says:

    Firstly, that Catherine Holm baker is beautiful. I LOVE it and the color is fantastic!!! As for desserts, in our family every special occassion required a napoleon. My mother would bake sheet after sheet of puff pastry, a mountain of golden, flakey goodness. I still remember, as a child, standing on a step stool in our tiny apartment kitchen and stirring the pastry cream with a wooden spoon. But these days, strange as it may seem, my favorite “sweet” is a crusty baguette slathered with Nutella. Really, anything slathered with Nutella!

  24. Courtney Says:

    Ok, first of all, your commentary on pumpkin pie- hilarious! I actually do enjoy pumpkin pie, but this recipe for pumpkin bread pudding sounds a-mazing! I love bread puddings (one of my favorite Christmas desserts!) I would definitely try the dried cherries with it too (oh, how I love dried cherries!)
    My favorite dessert for Thanksgiving though? That is a tough call- I typically end up taking a small slice of both apple and pumpkin pie (the latter topped with whipped cream, of course!)

  25. molly Says:

    my mouth is watering as I type this. all time favorite thanksgiving dessert. anything and everything pumpkin.
    pumpkin cake.
    iced pumpkin cookies.
    pumpkin bread.
    pumpkin pie.
    mini pumpkin whoopies.
    i simply love pumpkin!
    that book would be a lovely little treat!

  26. rea (my lovely notebook) Says:

    That pudding looks so delicious. And yes i would like to have that book in my kitchen. (Hope i get lucky πŸ™‚
    I tasted pumpkin pie for the first time this fall and i really loved it. So i`d had to say it`s the best.

  27. Lori Says:

    I love pumpkin pie and bread pudding so this looks so good! My favorite dessert has to be my mom’s apple pie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side. So good! The cookbook looks wonderful!

  28. sherrieg Says:

    I love the orange dish! It’s fantastic. My fave holiday dessert is a pumpkin cheesecake. Mmmmm.

  29. Erin Says:

    Eek- stiff competition. Congrats dear Anne – City Sage is rockin! While I am a big fan of pumpkin pie, bread pudding is right up there on my favorites list and I will be trying this recipe for sure! As for my favorite holiday dessert, it is a humble but heartwarming and mouth watering tradition that my grandmother passed down to me. Take left over pie crust, fold in layers in between each you sprinkle cinnamon and sugar and bake for some cinnamon pie. It is not a holiday without it! Happy T-day to you xoxo

  30. Yin Says:

    I’ll have to admit that pumpkin pie is my favorite holiday dessert! But I’m open, I take it in all forms: pumkpin pie ice cream, pumpkin pie blizzards from Dairy Queen… which means I’ll definitely be trying this dessert!
    Thanks for the giveaway! Happy Thanksgiving!

  31. Alexis Roberts Says:

    I like Rote GrΓΌtze, which is like a fruit pudding. I especially like it with hot Vanilla Custard Sauce. Yum!

  32. jessica b. Says:

    I’m starting a new tradition this holiday season…making egg nog from scratch…with lots and lots of liquor involved! Mmmmm!

  33. callie grayson Says:

    I had to add to my post, my sister called me this evening to tell me that since I was not there (she’s in Los Angeles and I am in Chicago this Holiday) while she made the hand whipped cream (I am always sticking my finger in the whipped cream tasting it, and she is yelling at me to keep my fingers out) that she over whipped the cream and made butter!
    Jessica b. homemade egg nog is absolutely the best. We make it every holiday and let me tell you, Yuuuummmmeeeee!

  34. Anne Says:

    Apple pie with vanilla bean ice cream. There’s just nothing else like it!!
    This recipe looks fantastic- I’ll definitely have to try it out on my husband. he loves anything pumpkin!

  35. Marianne Says:

    No matter what dessert I prepare to crown Thanksgiving dinner, my grown sons still crave apple pie. So pie it is. My secret for a really flaky crust is to add vinegar to the dough. I also put some tapioca into the filling to absorb some juices.
    But I’m having company this weekend, and I’ll be serving your pumpkin bread pudding. It sounds absolutely delicious, and besides, I’ve just taken all the pumpkins in from my yard and will have lots of puree on hand.

Leave a Reply

To Die for Recipe: Pumpkin Bread Pudding and a Giveaway!

DSC_0268

Let me preface this post by telling you a secret: I hate pumpkin pie. How can I detest a humble dessert, you ask? Well that's the problem: pumpkin pie is not dessert. Rather, it is a vegetal mess, a disgraceful pairing of bland crust and not-quite-wholesome filling. When I want dessert, I want unabashed indulgence, not a squash that can't get it's act together. This pumpkin bread pudding is therefore perfect for me. It's everything pumpkin pie wishes it could be!

DSC_0216

Honestly, this is SO good. Smooth, melt in your mouth custard goodness meets the tender give of crusted bread, and a subtle pumpkin flavour complements the gentle undertones of spice. Plus it's practically foolproof: no finicky pastry and weepy pie filling to contend with. Just stir, pour, and bake. Not only would I serve this at Thanksgiving with a dollop of whipped cream, I would also enjoy it at a winter brunch. Or maybe just by myself, with a really big spoon and no one to interrupt me.

0618240004 
But wait, there's more! Leave me a comment with your favourite Thanksgiving dessert—or if you're not celebrating Thanksgiving this week, just share your favourite holiday dessert—and you'll be in the running to win the GORGEOUS cookbook that this recipe came from! The All-American Dessert Book is one of my favourite cookbooks of all time and boasts such fare as 'Vanilla Chocolate Trifle with Apricot Sauce' and 'Bourbon Pecan Fudge Cake'. Believe me, you WANT this cookbook, if only because the photos are so droolworthy. And don't worry, I'll remind you about the giveaway with another divine Thanksgiving recipe from this book, coming later in the week!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding
Courtesy of The All-American Dessert Book by Nancy Baggett

4 large eggs
1 cup packed brown sugar, plus 3 tablespoons for sprinkling on pudding
1 cup whole milk
1 cup whipping cream
1 15 oz. can pumpkin (not pie filling, just plain pumpkin)
2 3/4 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon ground allspice
5 1/2 cups cubed French bread (Brioche would be amazing too!)
3/4 cup dried cranberries (I used dried cherries for fun)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and lightly grease a 9 x 13 inch baking pan. Beat eggs until pale yellow and fluffy. Beat in brown sugar until dissolved and add milk, cream, pumpkin and spices. Pour over the bread, stir to coat, and let sit for 10 minutes. Bake in the oven for about 25 minutes, then sprinkle the 3 tablespoons sugar on top. Bake another 15 or so minutes, or until the top is slightly firm when pressed. Cool and devour!

35 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Pumpkin Bread Pudding and a Giveaway!”

  1. mary jo Says:

    This bread pudding sounds so delicious–and I would SO like to win this cook book! My favorite holiday dessert is without a doubt warm pecan pie made by someone who knows what they’re doing (meaning not too sweet, not too much Jessica, a thin, with fresh pecans and it must have a dollop of homemade vanilla bean ice cream on top. Have I embarassed myself yet?

  2. Catherine Says:

    In Australia, pumpkin rarely is used in deserts – more likely it’s roasted as a vegetable, made into a soup, or mixed into a risotto. The only desert where pumpkin gets a look-in is pumpkin scones. But this bread looks good!

  3. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    That looks AMAZING! I’m making it this weekend πŸ™‚

  4. Luphia Says:

    that looks delicious! i’m not normally a pumpkin person but i’ve got to try this!

  5. Barbara C. Says:

    My “official” favorite holiday dessert is apple tarts that I make with puff pastry — SO GOOD. My “secret” favorite holiday dessert is Jello Poke Cake with Cool Whip on top. Yes, I know, not too classy, but SO SO GOOD. And reminds me of when I was a kid.

  6. Aimee Says:

    Yea I’m with ya’ on the pumpkin pie thing. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve had it. Its the texture that I don’t love.

  7. stephanie Says:

    I love pumpkin bread pudding – all things pumpkin, actually. My favorite Thanksgiving dessert is a tie:
    Baked Pumpkin Whoopie Pies (I made these for my sister’s birthday, and high holy wow, were they good)
    Homemade molasses cookies made into ice cream sandwiches with pumpkin ice cream (The Silver Palate molasses cookie recipe is my very favorite, and I get the ice cream from a local shop)
    Pumpkin deliciousness!

  8. Runway girl Says:

    ooohh, that looks so good.
    I will have to make it for sure. thanks for sharing.

  9. Peonies and Polaroids Says:

    I had pumpkin pie for the first time this month and it was disgusting! Not my idea of a pudding. I hate savoury food pretending to be pudding, pumpkin is for soup. Not desert.
    My favourite dessert/pudding is a chocolate cake by Jamie Oliver that my best friend has made for every special occasion since we first made it together when we were 13. It’s chocolate cake with flaked almonds in it and whipped cream, strawberries and raspberries in the middle, with delicious creamy, buttery chocolate icing on top. We’ve been eating it for a decade and it’s still the best pudding ever.

  10. Megan Says:

    i’ve been seeing pumpkin bread pudding recipes popping up like crazy lately and i am so eager to try it! those photos are absolutely lovely πŸ™‚ my favorite Thanksgiving dessert would have to be the dense, decadent and rich chocolate cake my mom makes every year for the holidays. the dark chocolate ganache layer on top is always the best part!

  11. Amanda Says:

    That bread pudding looks tasty. Not a huge pumpkin pie fan either. Of course, I’ve never been one to turn down pie- whatever the flavor. I can’t help myself.

  12. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    Okay, this looks amazing.
    Now, to enter the contest. I would really like to be exotic here, but honestly I have to say that my favorite holiday dessert is my mother’s apple pie. Only two more days…I can’t wait!

  13. little house on Green Says:

    This pumpkin treat looks wonderful, I think I will try it . . . but I too hate pumpkin pie. It’s just so worng on so many levels.
    My favorite part of the meal is the sweet potatoes (just the plain potato with butter, no marshmallow goo) and mixing that with the cranberry sauce πŸ™‚ For dessert, some berry / fruit pie with think and flaky crust. Mmmmm. I’m looking forward to Thursday!

  14. Alice Q. Says:

    That looks great – and I looove your pan!!

  15. blair Says:

    Sounds so good! I love new takes on the classics.My favorite dessert for thanksgiving is pumpkin tiramisu (I posted it yesterday. It is so much lighter and creamier than pumpkin pie. As a main dish i would have to say drunken cranberries!

  16. Ladelle Says:

    I’m so glad I found your blog- your writing is beautiful and everything you put on it is lovely…I love the combination of design and wonderful recipes…Thank you for sharing. My favorite dessert is an old recipe from BonAppetit~Lemon Curd Cake, dense & delicious-a labor of love to make. Happy Thanksgiving!

  17. Betsy Says:

    Mmmm, pumpkin bread pudding? Well, you don’t have to twist my arm– I’ll try it! I normally like a good, tart cherry pie at Thanksgiving. (Although, to be honest, I’m not one to turn down pumpkin — or any other dessert) I also like a yummy apple crip. Anything w/ brown sugar melted on top is ok by me!

  18. 180/360 Says:

    I’m not *gasp* a huge fan of pies, so I make a pumpkin cheesecake every Thanksgiving. It’s about 3 inches high, rather dense but totally delicious with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon pecan topping. It’s perfect and everyone always seems to love an alternative to pumpkin pie.
    PS. The Bread Pudding looks delicious, too!

  19. jessica Says:

    that sounds so good! I do like pumpkin pie and other thanksgiving treats, but when this time comes around my heart is set on my grandmother’s peanut butter fudge. it is the most amazing treat ever invented. yum.

  20. Melissa Says:

    I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie either, I think it’s definitely a texture thing:) I would definitely give this pumpkin bread pudding a chance. My favorite Thanksgiving dessert is apple crisp but I love it all year round:)

  21. Stacia Says:

    Warm Chocolate Pots with Crystalized Ginger on top. That has to be a last meal inclusion right there. πŸ™‚

  22. Tina Says:

    looks so sinful. I’ll have to give it a try though. bread pudding is one of my all time favorite deserts.

  23. Lindsay H Says:

    I love love pumpkin cheesecake! Puts me in the mood….and its almost time to partake in some this week πŸ™‚ yea!
    – Lindsay H
    goldandpearls@gmail.com

  24. Courtney Says:

    Ok, first of all, your commentary on pumpkin pie- hilarious! I actually do enjoy pumpkin pie, but this recipe for pumpkin bread pudding sounds a-mazing! I love bread puddings (one of my favorite Christmas desserts!) I would definitely try the dried cherries with it too (oh, how I love dried cherries!)
    My favorite dessert for Thanksgiving though? That is a tough call- I typically end up taking a small slice of both apple and pumpkin pie (the latter topped with whipped cream, of course!)

  25. molly Says:

    my mouth is watering as I type this. all time favorite thanksgiving dessert. anything and everything pumpkin.
    pumpkin cake.
    iced pumpkin cookies.
    pumpkin bread.
    pumpkin pie.
    mini pumpkin whoopies.
    i simply love pumpkin!
    that book would be a lovely little treat!

  26. rea (my lovely notebook) Says:

    That pudding looks so delicious. And yes i would like to have that book in my kitchen. (Hope i get lucky πŸ™‚
    I tasted pumpkin pie for the first time this fall and i really loved it. So i`d had to say it`s the best.

  27. katie c Says:

    AHHH! vegetal mess?! at least you made up for it by leaving an absolutely delcious-looking recipe for me try out….

  28. sherrieg Says:

    I love the orange dish! It’s fantastic. My fave holiday dessert is a pumpkin cheesecake. Mmmmm.

  29. shill Says:

    delish!!! thank’s for the recipe πŸ™‚

  30. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Have to try this recipe! My fav dessert is apple scrumble with cream. yummy! xoxo

  31. callie grayson Says:

    i am with you on the pumpkin pie! not for me.
    but the dessert you post looks like it would be fantastic.
    my favorite dessert on Thanksgiving would have to be my sisters fruit salad, not sure how she makes it but she coats all the fruit with her hand whipped cream. yummy!
    oh, and anything chocolate!

  32. jessica b. Says:

    I’m starting a new tradition this holiday season…making egg nog from scratch…with lots and lots of liquor involved! Mmmmm!

  33. callie grayson Says:

    I had to add to my post, my sister called me this evening to tell me that since I was not there (she’s in Los Angeles and I am in Chicago this Holiday) while she made the hand whipped cream (I am always sticking my finger in the whipped cream tasting it, and she is yelling at me to keep my fingers out) that she over whipped the cream and made butter!
    Jessica b. homemade egg nog is absolutely the best. We make it every holiday and let me tell you, Yuuuummmmeeeee!

  34. Anne Says:

    Apple pie with vanilla bean ice cream. There’s just nothing else like it!!
    This recipe looks fantastic- I’ll definitely have to try it out on my husband. he loves anything pumpkin!

  35. Marianne Says:

    No matter what dessert I prepare to crown Thanksgiving dinner, my grown sons still crave apple pie. So pie it is. My secret for a really flaky crust is to add vinegar to the dough. I also put some tapioca into the filling to absorb some juices.
    But I’m having company this weekend, and I’ll be serving your pumpkin bread pudding. It sounds absolutely delicious, and besides, I’ve just taken all the pumpkins in from my yard and will have lots of puree on hand.

Leave a Reply

