Desert Dreams: ‘Arizona’

Bn6

Every once in a while I happen across a set of photos that I can't make sense of but that I also can't get enough of. That was the case with this series entitled simply 'Arizona' from a Dutch photography group. It's possible that this isn't a real house—that perhaps it existed only as a concept piece—but the mystery that surrounds these images only makes me love them more.

Bn4

The color palette in particular is breathtaking. There's a motif of yellow and flesh pink running throughout, punctuated with striking blacks and deep browns. And of course I love anything with a healthy dose of grey…

Bn9

I'm also completely enamoured with this leather sofa. I'm so used to seeing similar pieces in slick, sleek, uber-modern interiors. And of course this space is very modern indeed, but there's an organicism here that is wholly unexpected and very much appreciated.

Bn13

There are so many different textures and layers happening in this space—the complexity of it really defies description. A surreal quality infuses every element, from the dynamic patches of shadow and light, to the stilted shape of the wooden screen, to the quirky cacti everywhere. But if you've ever been in the desert—hence the series title 'Arizona'—then you are familiar with this surreality.

Bn18

Surreal or not, the space offers some very cool, very concrete decor ideas. The 'mural' behind this sofa is actually a wall of cupboards painted in an abstract representation of the desert horizon.

Ijm

Here you can see the storage space in action. Can't you imagine doing something this funky with a crummy old piece from Ikea? And just when I think the room can't get any more personality, they throw a cow hide chair into the mix!

Ijm2

I have a recurring dream in which a blinding light prevents me from opening my eyes. No matter how hard I try, I can only squint, and even then I can see only vague shapes. This shot reminds me of that sensation, though it's much more pleasant than those dreams…

Ijm3 

Now I know I must be dreaming. Hello, slightly nerdy yet beefy looking Dutch man. Will you be running my bath for me today?

Bn14

All images courtesy of IJM.  

21 Responses to “Desert Dreams: ‘Arizona’”

  1. dolce chic Says:

    I am loving the white brick walls. PS I tagged you 🙂

  2. Luphia Says:

    love the combination of the shabby chic space with some great pieces of furniture! i know what you mean about it being dreamy, almost like “why am i in a factory, oh, look at this, there’s a beautiful flat here & a handsome man?…” kinda of dream, lol 🙂

  3. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Lovely spaces dear! That leather sofa is to die for! xoxo

  4. stephanie Says:

    I love that unexpected element of the organic – it humanizes the space and makes it liveable, not just a furniture showroom. I’d move right in!

  5. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    great leather sofa-love that too. beautiful home-wow!

  6. Lecia Says:

    Dreamy images and great writing!!

  7. josephine Says:

    I had seen these photos before on the IJM site, but you made me appreciate them in a whole new way 🙂 The other story I like from them is Happy-Go-Lucky.

  8. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    Gold pillows?? Those are great!

  9. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    Gold pillows?? Those are great!

  10. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    Gold pillows?? Those are great!

  11. Georgia Says:

    love love love that mural space–that is so my kind of space!

  12. Georgia Says:

    you crack me up–with the Dutch guy comment!
    i love the space with the mural–so my kind of room!
    and that cow print chair?!?!?!?!?
    i want!

  13. Georgia Says:

    oh, weird. i posted a comment once, but it did not seem to go through, so then i tried again, and now they both showed up.
    i’m just comment happy today.
    🙂

  14. kathryn Says:

    hmmm i seem to remember seeing house beautiful recently, but the months are blending together… that would be tragic if it folded! i love that magazine!

  15. mary jo Says:

    this is wonderful! esp. the nerdy/hunky dutchman 🙂

  16. megan Says:

    oh how i would love to plop on that leather sofa with a hot cup of coffee and a good book. pretty pretty photos!

  17. Amanda Says:

    These photos give my boring white walls hope. 😉

  18. shill Says:

    lol, you’re funny!!! great post, i love the first image, that hint of gold, simpky gorgeous 🙂

  19. please sir Says:

    Ohh such fab interiors and another great link!

  20. Kimberlee Says:

    Oh wow – Not a style I’m normally drawn to but I love these images! x

  21. The Deco Detective Says:

    I think you may be right that this isn’t a real apartment. I had a look at some of the other photos at their site, and some of them look very concept-y… But they’re very cool also!

Leave a Reply

Desert Dreams: ‘Arizona’

Bn6

Every once in a while I happen across a set of photos that I can't make sense of but that I also can't get enough of. That was the case with this series entitled simply 'Arizona' from a Dutch photography group. It's possible that this isn't a real house—that perhaps it existed only as a concept piece—but the mystery that surrounds these images only makes me love them more.

Bn4

The color palette in particular is breathtaking. There's a motif of yellow and flesh pink running throughout, punctuated with striking blacks and deep browns. And of course I love anything with a healthy dose of grey…

Bn9

I'm also completely enamoured with this leather sofa. I'm so used to seeing similar pieces in slick, sleek, uber-modern interiors. And of course this space is very modern indeed, but there's an organicism here that is wholly unexpected and very much appreciated.

Bn13

There are so many different textures and layers happening in this space—the complexity of it really defies description. A surreal quality infuses every element, from the dynamic patches of shadow and light, to the stilted shape of the wooden screen, to the quirky cacti everywhere. But if you've ever been in the desert—hence the series title 'Arizona'—then you are familiar with this surreality.

Bn18

Surreal or not, the space offers some very cool, very concrete decor ideas. The 'mural' behind this sofa is actually a wall of cupboards painted in an abstract representation of the desert horizon.

Ijm

Here you can see the storage space in action. Can't you imagine doing something this funky with a crummy old piece from Ikea? And just when I think the room can't get any more personality, they throw a cow hide chair into the mix!

Ijm2

I have a recurring dream in which a blinding light prevents me from opening my eyes. No matter how hard I try, I can only squint, and even then I can see only vague shapes. This shot reminds me of that sensation, though it's much more pleasant than those dreams…

Ijm3 

Now I know I must be dreaming. Hello, slightly nerdy yet beefy looking Dutch man. Will you be running my bath for me today?

Bn14

All images courtesy of IJM.  

19 Responses to “Desert Dreams: ‘Arizona’”

  1. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    What a strange, but interesting space! How fun would it be to paint those recessed grey shelves a funky color too? Where did you find these pics? Love ’em!

  2. vicki archer Says:

    He can run your bath after he has run mine!
    Lovely spaces and very cool interiors, xv.

  3. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Lovely spaces dear! That leather sofa is to die for! xoxo

  4. stephanie Says:

    I love that unexpected element of the organic – it humanizes the space and makes it liveable, not just a furniture showroom. I’d move right in!

  5. kathryn Says:

    love love love the white brick. i want it!

  6. Lecia Says:

    Dreamy images and great writing!!

  7. Melissa Says:

    I love the first photograph with the pink and the gold, so pretty!

  8. milly {elephants & redwoods} Says:

    Gold pillows?? Those are great!

  9. dolce chic Says:

    Hope you’re having a great time in Reno! I have something for you on my blog!

  10. Georgia Says:

    you crack me up–with the Dutch guy comment!
    i love the space with the mural–so my kind of room!
    and that cow print chair?!?!?!?!?
    i want!

  11. Georgia Says:

    oh, weird. i posted a comment once, but it did not seem to go through, so then i tried again, and now they both showed up.
    i’m just comment happy today.
    🙂

  12. kathryn Says:

    hmmm i seem to remember seeing house beautiful recently, but the months are blending together… that would be tragic if it folded! i love that magazine!

  13. mary jo Says:

    this is wonderful! esp. the nerdy/hunky dutchman 🙂

  14. megan Says:

    oh how i would love to plop on that leather sofa with a hot cup of coffee and a good book. pretty pretty photos!

  15. Amanda Says:

    These photos give my boring white walls hope. 😉

  16. shill Says:

    lol, you’re funny!!! great post, i love the first image, that hint of gold, simpky gorgeous 🙂

  17. please sir Says:

    Ohh such fab interiors and another great link!

  18. Kimberlee Says:

    Oh wow – Not a style I’m normally drawn to but I love these images! x

  19. The Deco Detective Says:

    I think you may be right that this isn’t a real apartment. I had a look at some of the other photos at their site, and some of them look very concept-y… But they’re very cool also!

Leave a Reply

