To Die for Recipe: Oat Bars from One Girl Cookies

Orange chocolate oar bars 2

I first heard of One Girl Cookies when I was planning my wedding; this Brooklyn bakery is the darling of every bride lusting after custom cookie favours and towering cookie buffets. In the end I made my own favours, but my fascination with One Girl remained. So imagine my delight to discover an interview with the bakery's owner in a baking mag. Better yet, she shared a recipe! And it's a doozy, with two layers of flaky, crumbly oats and coconut sandwiching a molten vein of fruit preserves. 

Orange chocolate oat bars 1

Of course I can't leave well enough alone, so I swapped out the raspberry jam in the original recipe for marmalade, and I sprinkled chocolate chips on top. Tangy bits of orange rind contrast brilliantly with the rich chocolate. The result reminds me of a Christmas stocking favourite from my Canadian childhood: a Terry's Chocolate Orange. The good news is that it doesn't have to be Christmas to enjoy these babies! The bad news? I don't recommend putting them in your stocking…

Orange Chocolate Oat Bars
Adapted from a recipe by One Girl Cookies, as published in
Better Homes and Gardens Christmas Cookies 2008

3/4 cup flaked coconut
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cold butter
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1 cup orange marmalade (original recipe uses 1/2 cup raspberry preserves)
1/4 teaspoon almond extract (my own addition)
1/2 cup chocolate chips of your choice (I used mini semisweet chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread coconut evenly on a baking sheet and toast until barely golden, about 5-7 minutes. Coat a 9×13 inch pan with baking spray and line the bottom with parchment. In a bowl combine flour, sugars, and salt. Cut butter into flour mixture (I like to freeze the butter and then grate it in using a box grater) and using a pastry cutter or a fork work the mixture until pebbly. Lightly toss in coconut and oats. Press all but 1 1/4 cups of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan and bake for about 12-14 minutes, or until edges are barely browned.

Remove from the oven and let cool about 10 minutes. In the meantime, stir almond extract into the marmalade, then spread marmalade over the bottom layer of oats. Sprinkle the remaining 1 1/4 cups oat mixture on top of the marmalade, then bake until the marmalade is bubbling and the top is golden, about 16-20 minutes. Let cool and cut into squares.

11 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Oat Bars from One Girl Cookies”

  1. julie Says:

    my mouth is literally watering right now! i need to make these ASAP!

  2. Alice Q. Says:

    Oh man, those are so right up my alley. I loove chocolate and orange together!

  3. Luphia Says:

    those oat bars look delicious! i’m going to try to make some tonight! thanks for the recipe!

  4. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Oh no! I will have to make this delicious bars now! Didn’t I mention I’m on a diet? 🙂

  5. Kathryn Says:

    Um, yes please!

  6. Georgia Says:

    would you stop it with the temptations???
    !!!
    just kidding.
    keep them coming.
    i like that they are only a picture on a monitor–i can enjoy and dream about them from a distance without gaining the calories or the weight!!
    🙂

  7. Courtney Says:

    These look amazing! Yum!

  8. joanne Says:

    i’m so going to make these, THANX!

  9. nkp Says:

    Those look devilishly good, like so good I want to reach through my monitor and eat them RIGHT NOW, so good, in fact, I think I would hide them from my beloved children…sharing is SO over-rated! ;0)

  10. megan Says:

    wow these sound yummy. and they look beautiful-i love the chocolate chips on top!

  11. Julia Says:

    Wowzers..with turkey day and now THESE, I’m done for~!

Leave a Reply

To Die for Recipe: Oat Bars from One Girl Cookies

Orange chocolate oar bars 2

I first heard of One Girl Cookies when I was planning my wedding; this Brooklyn bakery is the darling of every bride lusting after custom cookie favours and towering cookie buffets. In the end I made my own favours, but my fascination with One Girl remained. So imagine my delight to discover an interview with the bakery's owner in a baking mag. Better yet, she shared a recipe! And it's a doozy, with two layers of flaky, crumbly oats and coconut sandwiching a molten vein of fruit preserves. 

Orange chocolate oat bars 1

Of course I can't leave well enough alone, so I swapped out the raspberry jam in the original recipe for marmalade, and I sprinkled chocolate chips on top. Tangy bits of orange rind contrast brilliantly with the rich chocolate. The result reminds me of a Christmas stocking favourite from my Canadian childhood: a Terry's Chocolate Orange. The good news is that it doesn't have to be Christmas to enjoy these babies! The bad news? I don't recommend putting them in your stocking…

Orange Chocolate Oat Bars
Adapted from a recipe by One Girl Cookies, as published in
Better Homes and Gardens Christmas Cookies 2008

3/4 cup flaked coconut
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cold butter
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1 cup orange marmalade (original recipe uses 1/2 cup raspberry preserves)
1/4 teaspoon almond extract (my own addition)
1/2 cup chocolate chips of your choice (I used mini semisweet chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread coconut evenly on a baking sheet and toast until barely golden, about 5-7 minutes. Coat a 9×13 inch pan with baking spray and line the bottom with parchment. In a bowl combine flour, sugars, and salt. Cut butter into flour mixture (I like to freeze the butter and then grate it in using a box grater) and using a pastry cutter or a fork work the mixture until pebbly. Lightly toss in coconut and oats. Press all but 1 1/4 cups of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan and bake for about 12-14 minutes, or until edges are barely browned.

Remove from the oven and let cool about 10 minutes. In the meantime, stir almond extract into the marmalade, then spread marmalade over the bottom layer of oats. Sprinkle the remaining 1 1/4 cups oat mixture on top of the marmalade, then bake until the marmalade is bubbling and the top is golden, about 16-20 minutes. Let cool and cut into squares.

10 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: Oat Bars from One Girl Cookies”

  1. stephanie Says:

    Oh no … I was just about to go to bed. Now I don’t think I can sleep without a warm oat bar and a glass of milk … and I have the best homemade apricot jam that would be delicious with oaty goodness …

  2. Kimberlee Says:

    stop it! or i’m going to have to start sending you my gym membership bills! he he xx

  3. kathryn Says:

    oh yum! these sound evilly delicious – i’m going to have to give them a try. thanks!

  4. Kathryn Says:

    Um, yes please!

  5. Georgia Says:

    would you stop it with the temptations???
    !!!
    just kidding.
    keep them coming.
    i like that they are only a picture on a monitor–i can enjoy and dream about them from a distance without gaining the calories or the weight!!
    🙂

  6. Courtney Says:

    These look amazing! Yum!

  7. joanne Says:

    i’m so going to make these, THANX!

  8. nkp Says:

    Those look devilishly good, like so good I want to reach through my monitor and eat them RIGHT NOW, so good, in fact, I think I would hide them from my beloved children…sharing is SO over-rated! ;0)

  9. megan Says:

    wow these sound yummy. and they look beautiful-i love the chocolate chips on top!

  10. Julia Says:

    Wowzers..with turkey day and now THESE, I’m done for~!

Leave a Reply

