Shopping Trip: Mustard Yellow

807733959228f6e8634db03bb003aa2c_SK115

I just can't get enough of the gorgeous mustard accents from Monday's post, so I thought a little
'Get the Look' shopping trip was in order! My self-assigned task turned out to be tougher than I thought—there are so many mustard impostors, from sunshine and lemon to ocher and marigold.
But I persevered, and I think I found a great bundle of goodies that…um…cut the mustard.

Mustardliving1

I just love the fleecy details on this sheep print from Etsy seller Constant Dreamer. It would look so charming framed and hanging over a bed clothed in Anthropologie's Sketchbook duvet collection. CB2's Overnight Table Lamp has all the rustic appeal of a camp light with none of the mosquito bites, and John Robshaw's Golden Bolster is perfect for lounging with a steaming, spicy bowl of chai. Make a bold mustard statement with the Sol Console Table…or go mild with a Welcome Coat Rack. And finally, Paddywax brings us a candle that looks like mustard but smells like nutmeg and rum!

Mustardkitchen2

Mustard is right at home in the kitchen with this Yummy Yummy Tea Towel from MrPS on Etsy. Serve up mustard fun with Fishs Eddy's melamine Carnival Tray and spoon it down with fab kitsch flatware from Fiesta. A trio of retro fabrics from Repro Depot would make amazing mix 'n' match table linens, and this Dandelion notebook is just perfect for jotting down recipes—Etsy artisan Boone Books salvages antique hardcovers to craft these exquisite upcycled pieces. And speaking of exquisite, how splendid is this Le Creuset Dutch Oven in the appropriately monikered color 'Dijon'?! 

Mustardshopping2

I haven't forgotten those amongst us who can get away with wearing mustard! Farmgirl ruffles from the Gap—on sale for $39!—are surprisingly soft in cotton flannel. Belt and tie your mustard with the Molly Coat from Kate Spade, or make it honey sweet with embroidered flowers on the Gilded Catkins Shift at Anthropologie. I can't get enough of the knobby buttons on this neckwarmer by Etsy's Daylite and Dark. And finally, even if mustard doesn't suit your skin tone, we can all get behind Frye's classic Campus Boot in Banana, and Urban Outfitters' Dressage Saddle Bag spices up even the plainest outfit! Mmmm…mustard is looking better and better.

Update: The fabulous Mary Jo at Trust Your Style just brought my attention to this stunning patent leather clutch from her collection. Made of eco-friendly materials, it's stylish AND sustainable! It comes in other fabulous colors, but naturally I'm partial to the mustard 😉

Mary jo clutch

Top Image Credit: Source Unknown (but if you recognize it, please tell me! I'm still searching in the meantime…)

40 Responses to “Shopping Trip: Mustard Yellow”

  1. Georgia Says:

    i want that scarf! it is sooooo gorgeous!
    have you ever considered a career as a personal shopper? maybe you should.
    🙂
    i’d hire you.

  2. Georgia Says:

    i want that scarf! it is sooooo gorgeous!
    have you ever considered a career as a personal shopper? maybe you should.
    🙂
    i’d hire you.

  3. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    you make it impossibly difficult to choose a favorite item here! that welcome sign and the ruffled top are among the tops.

  4. mary jo Says:

    Gorgeous stuff. I’ve been eyeing that bench the past few months. Wish you had seen my mustard clutch (www.maryjomatsumoto.com) before you put together you fashion spread 🙂

  5. Luphia Says:

    my fav theme continues, how exciting! i love that coat! and the dress, and the teal towel, and the sheep print… the list goes on! 🙂

  6. Luphia Says:

    my fav theme continues, how exciting! i love that coat! and the dress, and the teal towel, and the sheep print… the list goes on! 🙂

  7. Luphia Says:

    my fav theme continues, how exciting! i love that coat! and the dress, and the teal towel, and the sheep print… the list goes on! 🙂

  8. nkp Says:

    This post is utterly fabulous! Every item is desirable, but I especially love the ottoman in the first pic. It looks like some fantastic spindly-legged arachnid that might just walk right off the page…preferably right into my living room.

  9. Jackie Says:

    Oh my! Can I have one of everything please?

  10. mary jo Says:

    Oh thanks so much Anne, for adding the clutch! It’s actually Italian patent leather, so not completely eco-friendly, but made to last 🙂

  11. Lynne Says:

    Mustard yellow goes so well with lots of colours. I just bought a mustard print from Isoprint on Etsy – to go with my green/grey kitchen walls and floor. I think it will totally work.

  12. Melissa de la Fuente Says:

    ok….where to begin? These are ALL fabulous picks and you are adorable!
    Thank you for your sweet comments over on ML and thank you for all these beautiful mustards! YUM! 🙂
    xo
    Melissa

  13. dolce chic Says:

    Yayayayayayya! You did this for me didn’t you! 😉 Have you seen the post on my blog about my new bed? I have a vintage white parlor I can put in my bedroom along with it, or my mother has a wooden antique dresser that I can use in my bedroom. Do you mind when you have a chance looking at this post please? I value your opinion! I haven’t even bought bedding or anything as I am unsure what to do. Thank you!
    http://dolcechic.wordpress.com/2008/10/09/decor-assistance-needed/

  14. Rebecca Says:

    omgoodness, I have been looking for a tall wire basket with some shape–and, girl, I think you found it for me! CB2–who knew! thanks!!

  15. WendyB Says:

    Love that clutch.

  16. joanna goddard Says:

    i’m in love with this post!!!!! mustard yellow can add such warmth to a room. thank you! xoxo joanna

  17. joanna goddard Says:

    i’m in love with this post!!!!! mustard yellow can add such warmth to a room. thank you! xoxo joanna

  18. emma henderson Says:

    have I been under a rock or something? this is my first visit to your blog but I’m sure it wont be my last, great posts and great taste. I’m a mustard fancier myself.

  19. emma henderson Says:

    have I been under a rock or something? this is my first visit to your blog but I’m sure it wont be my last, great posts and great taste. I’m a mustard fancier myself.

  20. suann Says:

    GREAT round-up. Loving this shade of yellow!

  21. suann Says:

    GREAT round-up. Loving this shade of yellow!

  22. megan Says:

    well since yellow is my absolutely favorite color, i thoroughly enjoyed this post. wanna go shopping with me? 🙂

  23. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    okay- i’m sold on mustard yellow now. thanks. so great

  24. beautifulpaper Says:

    Okay, now I’m just convinced that you’re reading my mind. I love everything on this round-up! That bolster pillow and the dress from Anthropologie are just perfect, and I’ve definitely got my eye on that yellow side table…

  25. beautifulpaper Says:

    Okay, now I’m just convinced that you’re reading my mind. I love everything on this round-up! That bolster pillow and the dress from Anthropologie are just perfect, and I’ve definitely got my eye on that yellow side table…

  26. robin pulsifer Says:

    love the yellow side table, i love painted furniture though. especially if it’s worn a bit in spots, adds more dimention and feel. peeling paint is sometimes perfectly imperfect.

  27. robin pulsifer Says:

    love the yellow side table, i love painted furniture though. especially if it’s worn a bit in spots, adds more dimention and feel. peeling paint is sometimes perfectly imperfect.

  28. velvet and linen Says:

    Another fantastic post, Anne.
    You convinced me on Monday that I love mustard yellow. This post is just divine.
    I must say I love that Anthropologie bed.
    xo
    Brooke

  29. velvet and linen Says:

    Another fantastic post, Anne.
    You convinced me on Monday that I love mustard yellow. This post is just divine.
    I must say I love that Anthropologie bed.
    xo
    Brooke

  30. callie Says:

    oh, lovely, sunny and yummy.
    i love that ottoman in the top photo!
    callie

  31. callie Says:

    oh, lovely, sunny and yummy.
    i love that ottoman in the top photo!
    callie

  32. Design Lovely Says:

    That is a whole lot of mustard and I love every bit of it!

  33. Design Lovely Says:

    That is a whole lot of mustard and I love every bit of it!

  34. vicki archer Says:

    still loving this mustard theme xv

  35. vicki archer Says:

    still loving this mustard theme xv

  36. Courtney Says:

    Ok, now it is my time to tell you to stop! I’d happily take everything in this post! So, you know, if you’ll just have it gift-wrapped… 🙂
    Seriously, what beautifully curated selections!

  37. juliette c. Says:

    oh la Creuset!!! I adore it. I have one in orange, that is the calssic colour. I looked for one in light blu but here in Italy it is not so easy to find. SO, if SANTA is reading your blog (and I am sure he does) now he knows what to do…

  38. juliette c. Says:

    oh la Creuset!!! I adore it. I have one in orange, that is the calssic colour. I looked for one in light blu but here in Italy it is not so easy to find. SO, if SANTA is reading your blog (and I am sure he does) now he knows what to do…

  39. Abbey Goes Design Scouting Says:

    Love this post! YAY mustard yellow!

  40. Amanda Says:

    I love mustard yellow- and I really love those boots.

Leave a Reply

