I’ve Been Tagged!

Twenties_4

Over the weekend I was tagged by Lynne at Tea for Joy and by Amy at Inspiration Chic to share seven random things about myself. I just love these tag games because I think it's fun to see the web of connections that are created through them! Plus it's an excuse to post a pretty picture that has no relevance whatsoever. So here are my seven randoms:

1. Not only did I go to the same university as Chelsea Clinton, I even lived in the same dorm that she lived in during her four years at the school. Sadly we didn't get to be BFF's as she graduated the same year I arrived…

2. My favourite food is ice cream, but only the flavours with big chunks of stuff in them. And then I pick the chunks out and leave the ice cream behind. Which I guess means that my favourite foods are cookie dough, brownies and cheesecake, but I can't justify eating them by themselves…

3. Even though I am American by birth and now by residence, I lived in Canada from the age of 11 until I left for university—which is why I spell words like 'flavour' the British way and say 'university' instead of 'college'…

4. When I was born my hair was black, then by the time I was two it turned red. Now it is naturally blonde with strawberry undertones. I've never dyed it.

5. I am related to the outlaw Jesse James on my mother's side. On my father's side my ancestors came to America in 1650. According to the records, they left Wales in shame after an incident involving a pig.

6. I have a not-so-secret passion for romance novels, the type you buy at the drugstore with lurid pictures on the cover. I read them when my brain needs a break, because I know they'll always turn out happily.

7. Had I been born a boy, my parents would have named me 'Asa Johnston', after the famous botanist Asa Grey and my great-grandfather, respectively. I rather like the name and will consider it if I ever have a son.

I'm going to tag Jen at Raising Granola, Becky at Harmony and Home, and Jess at Bloggity Blog…I'm very sorry not to tag seven but I'm feeling a little shy after revealing so much about myself 🙂

Tag

Top image credit: Katya de Grunwald

9 Responses to “I’ve Been Tagged!”

  1. Courtney Says:

    I love finding out more about people this way! I don’t even know where to begin because your facts were filled with such goodness, but I guess I’m going with- a pig incident.
    It’s a good thing your ancestors left because, oh the shame. I’m not sure there is anything worse… in fact, I’m not even sure I should still have contact with you because of your tainted family history… 😉

  2. tina Says:

    this has been a great little read! your 7 random facts are so interesting!
    to have 3 natrual hair colour and ending up with strawberry blonde? no, i’m not jealous at all 😉
    my fav food is ice cream too, although i tend to eat the ice cream & leave the chunks behind (we should share ice creams!)
    loving your little bits of britishness, making me feel not totally alone!

  3. Lynne Says:

    What a great list. Every one I have read has been full of such great facts! I like the name Asa. I just met someone whose name is Aja; her parents named her after someone too – quite liked that too.

  4. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    Loved to know a little more about you! Have a wonderful weekend darling! xo

  5. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    When I was a freshman in college, my roommate had a stash of romance novels which I relished as a relief from all my English-major serious literature. As I recall, my favorite was “Wolf and the Dove” with an awesome Norman named Wulfgar who subdued the beautiful Saxon wench (princess).
    Now I’m kinda into Jamie from Diana Gabaldon’s time traveler series…

  6. Lori Says:

    loving your blog!

  7. kate Says:

    Strangely enough, I related to Jesse James as well! On my dad’s side, at least. Love your facts.

  8. kate s Says:

    wow I’m also related to jesse james!
    but I didn’t know about the pig incident? are you sure anne? It sounds like something you would make up, like the time when I was six and you were twelve and you read my horoscope as “only nerds will be attracted to you in life”
    but then I’ve been predisposed to suspicion lately. when mum told me that they were giving away candy bars for flu shots i didn’t believe her either.
    anyway, i’m realy glad your blog is gaining such success, it deserves it!

  9. tammy Says:

    Your blog is the highlight of my day

Leave a Reply

I’ve Been Tagged!

Twenties_4

Over the weekend I was tagged by Lynne at Tea for Joy and by Amy at Inspiration Chic to share seven random things about myself. I just love these tag games because I think it's fun to see the web of connections that are created through them! Plus it's an excuse to post a pretty picture that has no relevance whatsoever. So here are my seven randoms:

1. Not only did I go to the same university as Chelsea Clinton, I even lived in the same dorm that she lived in during her four years at the school. Sadly we didn't get to be BFF's as she graduated the same year I arrived…

2. My favourite food is ice cream, but only the flavours with big chunks of stuff in them. And then I pick the chunks out and leave the ice cream behind. Which I guess means that my favourite foods are cookie dough, brownies and cheesecake, but I can't justify eating them by themselves…

3. Even though I am American by birth and now by residence, I lived in Canada from the age of 11 until I left for university—which is why I spell words like 'flavour' the British way and say 'university' instead of 'college'…

4. When I was born my hair was black, then by the time I was two it turned red. Now it is naturally blonde with strawberry undertones. I've never dyed it.

5. I am related to the outlaw Jesse James on my mother's side. On my father's side my ancestors came to America in 1650. According to the records, they left Wales in shame after an incident involving a pig.

6. I have a not-so-secret passion for romance novels, the type you buy at the drugstore with lurid pictures on the cover. I read them when my brain needs a break, because I know they'll always turn out happily.

7. Had I been born a boy, my parents would have named me 'Asa Johnston', after the famous botanist Asa Grey and my great-grandfather, respectively. I rather like the name and will consider it if I ever have a son.

I'm going to tag Jen at Raising Granola, Becky at Harmony and Home, and Jess at Bloggity Blog…I'm very sorry not to tag seven but I'm feeling a little shy after revealing so much about myself 🙂

Tag

Top image credit: Katya de Grunwald

9 Responses to “I’ve Been Tagged!”

  1. vicki archer Says:

    To have never dyed your hair – incredible! (never start) xv

  2. Rachel Says:

    Great list! It’s always fascinating to read random things about other people.

  3. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Those are fantastic random facts. I especially like the fact your family had to leave Wales after the pig incident – LOL!
    Also there is nothing wrong with spelling flavour properly speaking as a Brit 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    Thanks for sharing! Just loved reading your Tag. I know it always feel funny sharing yourself-doesn’t it?! But it makes blogging even that much more fun. Thanks for participating.
    🙂

  5. Kristy Says:

    Anne, we may be distantly related. Apparently I’m also related to Jesse James, through my dad’s side of the family. I kind of want to look into the lineage now, to find out how I’m related to him.

  6. Lori Says:

    loving your blog!

  7. kate Says:

    Strangely enough, I related to Jesse James as well! On my dad’s side, at least. Love your facts.

  8. kate s Says:

    wow I’m also related to jesse james!
    but I didn’t know about the pig incident? are you sure anne? It sounds like something you would make up, like the time when I was six and you were twelve and you read my horoscope as “only nerds will be attracted to you in life”
    but then I’ve been predisposed to suspicion lately. when mum told me that they were giving away candy bars for flu shots i didn’t believe her either.
    anyway, i’m realy glad your blog is gaining such success, it deserves it!

  9. tammy Says:

    Your blog is the highlight of my day

Leave a Reply

