Absolutely Loving: Walls Grown Wild

Kperers

The eighties and nineties were unkind to many things: American waistlines,
VHS technology, Milli Vanilli. Even wallpaper did not escape those decades' wrath.
But a new day is upon us! Gone are the fussy, prissy Laura Ashley wallpapers of
my childhood, and in their place are these grand, ebullient prints. So sit back,
crank up the volume on that Guns 'n' Roses, and enjoy!

Paulc354

The ancient lines of a classic klismos chair contrast brilliantly with the controlled
chaos of an orchard. Who says you have to keep the flora and fauna on the walls?
Check out the bamboo print on the carpet below!

8e2ea5744e42b3b300de140ec6c0b876_Orange_chairs_x2*

A rose trellis is more mid-century than Miss Havisham when paired with a sleek
console and rectancular prism lamp.

Http--farm4.static.flickr.com-3075-2857929366_da2f11864c_o

A mauve and fuchsia jungle looks all the more vibrant when complemented by the
real thing in a stunning vase!

Http--www.wildatheart.com-images-Gallery-nikkitibbles-r1062003_lr_lg

Shades of orchid and ecru tone down an otherwise outrageous retro print.
And why limit yourself to flowers when you can throw in some feathers, too?

Food_10

Dogwood blossoms bring spring to a background of icy grey, while Starck's Louis
Ghost armchairs say 'six more weeks of winter'.

2880241929_4a2d7f504b

I just adore the burnt umber tones of this bedroom—both in the gridded lines of the bed
and in the wild curves of the branches. And touches of salmon pink inject just the right
measure of warmth.

I_10

A sauvage smidge surrounds a doorway and bookshelf: a shot of bold color for those amongst
us who would be afraid to paper a whole room. (Guilty as charged!)

Inside-out1

Of course you can still rock the Laura Ashley styles if you like…after all, an air of faded and timeworn elegance can cover a multitude of decorating sins!

Interiors0_1-1

Are you feeling these florals? Or better yet, what are your worst decorating sins from the eighties and nineties? And be sure to scroll down to today's recipe while you mull it over πŸ™‚

Image Credits: 1. Kristen Perers 2. Paul Costello 3. Decorology 4. Source Unknown This is Glamorous (Thanks Laura!) 5. Wild at Heart 6. Source Unknown 7. Decorology 8. Gemma Comas 9. Tinyk 10. Roland Bello

17 Responses to “Absolutely Loving: Walls Grown Wild”

  1. christina Says:

    from the title of the post to the beautifully dingy last photo–i love this post!
    i love the crazy floral wallpaper. amazing specimens you have collected here!

  2. Rachel Says:

    oh to live in a flat which wasn’t rented so as to be able to decorate!

  3. Jackie Says:

    LOVE the room with the cherry blossom wallpaper!

  4. Luphia Says:

    these are stunning, I would be happy to live in any of these houses!

  5. Georgia Says:

    beautiful, Anne!
    my worst decorating sin of the nineties was going too far with iris collecting. it was my favorite flower at the time, so i started buying things for around the house with irises on it! oh, my gosh. i look back now and think of how hideous everything looked! way too fru-fru!
    glad i grew out of that one!

  6. summer Says:

    How did you find all of these gorgeous rooms?!
    I would absolutely live in ANY of them.
    Thanks for showing me the beauty of “living walls”

  7. velvet and linen Says:

    Wallpaper has been given a new life lately. I suggest wallpaper to all of my clients in at least a couple of rooms. I just wallpapered my daughter’s bathroom in the most charming Jane Churchill floral.
    I also wallpapered my laundry room in a floral with a robin’s egg blue background. It makes doing laundry a delight!
    Thank you for sharing these fantastic images.
    xo
    Brooke

  8. dolce chic Says:

    I love these photos. You always have the best! I would say my mom scared me with her country decor. All the dried flowers, and cows she collected! I’m so happy she’s past that stage πŸ™‚

  9. megan Says:

    i’m amazed…those dogwood and cherry blossoms are absolutely gorgeous. i’m listening to “life in rain” by remy zero right now and it just seems to go perfectly with this post πŸ™‚

  10. laura dellaporta Says:

    Oh I landed here via Brooke’s blog..Oh I am loving this wallpaper thing… it reminds me when I was a child & would go visiting family in those big old houses up North. Filled with so much charm.
    I like paper inside cabinets, drawers, & closets..maybe even the refriderator?
    xoxoxo Laura

  11. beautifulpaper Says:

    Oooh… I love these! The first three remind me of one of my favorite books from when I was a kid – and I love the lushness of the entire look!

  12. mary jo Says:

    This is one of the prettiest wallpaper collage/montages I have ever seen! I heart that blouse hanging on the door in the first photo! Great job!

  13. Courtney Says:

    That bedroom is one of my most favorites (er, but I do have a lot of favorites…) It seems such a perfect place to escape the world.
    And, yes, wallpaper certainly has made as stunning comeback from the prints of the ’80s and early ’90s and your choices were fabulous examples!

  14. Laura Says:

    #4 could be:
    http://citified.blogspot.com/2008/09/purple-reign.html

  15. shilvia Says:

    i cant make up my mind, they are all very pretty!!! πŸ™‚

  16. Courtney Says:

    So beautiful Anne. I have an obsession with wallpaper. We’re basing the design of our bedroom off the flowering quince bedroom (I think it’s the 8th image down in your post…it was featured in Domino 05/06). I did a lot of research on that print and all of its incarnations and posted it here — goodgab.blogspot.com

  17. lush bella Says:

    what a gorgeous post!! loved every last pic.

Leave a Reply

Absolutely Loving: Walls Grown Wild

Kperers

The eighties and nineties were unkind to many things: American waistlines,
VHS technology, Milli Vanilli. Even wallpaper did not escape those decades' wrath.
But a new day is upon us! Gone are the fussy, prissy Laura Ashley wallpapers of
my childhood, and in their place are these grand, ebullient prints. So sit back,
crank up the volume on that Guns 'n' Roses, and enjoy!

Paulc354

The ancient lines of a classic klismos chair contrast brilliantly with the controlled
chaos of an orchard. Who says you have to keep the flora and fauna on the walls?
Check out the bamboo print on the carpet below!

8e2ea5744e42b3b300de140ec6c0b876_Orange_chairs_x2*

A rose trellis is more mid-century than Miss Havisham when paired with a sleek
console and rectancular prism lamp.

Http--farm4.static.flickr.com-3075-2857929366_da2f11864c_o

A mauve and fuchsia jungle looks all the more vibrant when complemented by the
real thing in a stunning vase!

Http--www.wildatheart.com-images-Gallery-nikkitibbles-r1062003_lr_lg

Shades of orchid and ecru tone down an otherwise outrageous retro print.
And why limit yourself to flowers when you can throw in some feathers, too?

Food_10

Dogwood blossoms bring spring to a background of icy grey, while Starck's Louis
Ghost armchairs say 'six more weeks of winter'.

2880241929_4a2d7f504b

I just adore the burnt umber tones of this bedroom—both in the gridded lines of the bed
and in the wild curves of the branches. And touches of salmon pink inject just the right
measure of warmth.

I_10

A sauvage smidge surrounds a doorway and bookshelf: a shot of bold color for those amongst
us who would be afraid to paper a whole room. (Guilty as charged!)

Inside-out1

Of course you can still rock the Laura Ashley styles if you like…after all, an air of faded and timeworn elegance can cover a multitude of decorating sins!

Interiors0_1-1

Are you feeling these florals? Or better yet, what are your worst decorating sins from the eighties and nineties? And be sure to scroll down to today's recipe while you mull it over πŸ™‚

Image Credits: 1. Kristen Perers 2. Paul Costello 3. Decorology 4. Source Unknown This is Glamorous (Thanks Laura!) 5. Wild at Heart 6. Source Unknown 7. Decorology 8. Gemma Comas 9. Tinyk 10. Roland Bello

17 Responses to “Absolutely Loving: Walls Grown Wild”

  1. christina Says:

    from the title of the post to the beautifully dingy last photo–i love this post!
    i love the crazy floral wallpaper. amazing specimens you have collected here!

  2. Rachel Says:

    oh to live in a flat which wasn’t rented so as to be able to decorate!

  3. Jackie Says:

    LOVE the room with the cherry blossom wallpaper!

  4. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    There you go again – finding fabulous pics that we haven’t seen before! I especially love the orchard wallpaper with the klismos chair… LOVE IT!
    I’ve been seeing so many wonderful wall papers lately that it’s inspiring me to perhaps wallpaper my office with something fun!

  5. Georgia Says:

    beautiful, Anne!
    my worst decorating sin of the nineties was going too far with iris collecting. it was my favorite flower at the time, so i started buying things for around the house with irises on it! oh, my gosh. i look back now and think of how hideous everything looked! way too fru-fru!
    glad i grew out of that one!

  6. summer Says:

    How did you find all of these gorgeous rooms?!
    I would absolutely live in ANY of them.
    Thanks for showing me the beauty of “living walls”

  7. velvet and linen Says:

    Wallpaper has been given a new life lately. I suggest wallpaper to all of my clients in at least a couple of rooms. I just wallpapered my daughter’s bathroom in the most charming Jane Churchill floral.
    I also wallpapered my laundry room in a floral with a robin’s egg blue background. It makes doing laundry a delight!
    Thank you for sharing these fantastic images.
    xo
    Brooke

  8. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Anne, these are beautiful! I’ve been toying with the idea of introducing wallpaper to our house but only on a ‘feature’ wall because of our small rooms. But in a Victorian, Edwardian or Georgian property with 12ft and higher ceilings they would look amazing!

  9. Chris Says:

    I absolutely love these. I was going to start naming favorite papers, but I don’t think I can narrow it down to even 5! And I really like how you get the effect of multiple papers in that first image. You’d think it’d be clashing or hurt your eyes, but it’s really quite lovely. I just wish I wasn’t renting so I could paper my walls!

  10. laura dellaporta Says:

    Oh I landed here via Brooke’s blog..Oh I am loving this wallpaper thing… it reminds me when I was a child & would go visiting family in those big old houses up North. Filled with so much charm.
    I like paper inside cabinets, drawers, & closets..maybe even the refriderator?
    xoxoxo Laura

  11. beautifulpaper Says:

    Oooh… I love these! The first three remind me of one of my favorite books from when I was a kid – and I love the lushness of the entire look!

  12. layersofmeaning Says:

    I absolutely love the third picture!

  13. Rebecca Says:

    wow, each of these is like something out of a storybook! the birds, the mauve jungle–so lovely.

  14. Laura Says:

    #4 could be:
    http://citified.blogspot.com/2008/09/purple-reign.html

  15. shilvia Says:

    i cant make up my mind, they are all very pretty!!! πŸ™‚

  16. Courtney Says:

    So beautiful Anne. I have an obsession with wallpaper. We’re basing the design of our bedroom off the flowering quince bedroom (I think it’s the 8th image down in your post…it was featured in Domino 05/06). I did a lot of research on that print and all of its incarnations and posted it here — goodgab.blogspot.com

  17. lush bella Says:

    what a gorgeous post!! loved every last pic.

Leave a Reply

