To Die for Recipe: PB ‘n’ Honey Miniwiches

DSC_0023

I absolutely love the flavor combination of peanut butter and honey; I eat it in a sandwich almost every day for lunch. And I absolutely love cookies. So what could be better than a cookie that is also a peanut butter and honey sandwich? Nothing, that's what, and this recipe is the proof! Tender, cross-hatched cookies cradle a layer of peanut butter icing laced with honey. The cookies themselves are amazing—not too sweet and buttery smooth—but that creamy swirl of frosting takes the whole creation to another level. These little fellas will literally melt in your mouth.

DSC_0014

I created this recipe using ideas from one of those holiday baking mags that hit the newstands this time of year. Sometimes people get quite nervous about experimenting with baking, but I say go for it! How can anything comprised of butter, sugar and peanutty goodness turn out badly? Plus when you invent your own recipes you can make your own rules. For example, I made these cookies tinier than your standard fare—that way I can fit a couple in the palm of my hand for an on-the-go snack!

PB 'n' Honey Miniwiches
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Honey Frosting
3 tablespoons softened butter
3 tablespoons peanut butter
3 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup icing sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter, sugars, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Blend in peanut butter until combined, then beat in egg and vanilla. Stir in flour til no lumps remain. Measure cookies in small spoonfuls (I used one of those mini ice cream scoops) and bake on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper for about ten minutes. Meanwhile, with an electric mixer blend butter, peanut butter, honey, vanilla and icing sugar until smooth. You may need to play with the consistency, adding more wet or more dry as needed, to get a thick but spreadable icing. Once the cookies have cooled, create little sandwiches with a generous blob of icing and enjoy!

7 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: PB ‘n’ Honey Miniwiches”

  1. The Deco Detective Says:

    These look delicious! I love both cookies and peanut butter, so this seems like an excellent combination!

  2. Courtney Says:

    You are so right- not much beats peanut butter and honey. It was my staple sandwich all through high school, and while I don’t eat it quite as often now, I still loove it.
    I’m all for experimenting while baking, and it sounds like these cookies turned out fabulously! I will definitely be giving these a try! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Rebecca Says:

    wow, I think you may have outdone yourself, anne–these look simply amazing! I know my husband is going to want to try them…m’mm!

  4. Georgia Says:

    i love anything w/ peanut butter and honey combo.
    thanks.

  5. mary jo Says:

    Thank you thank you for this recipe! I was just in the market a couple of days ago thinking about these very cookies and didn’t have a recipe handy–I’m going to jot it down and run to the market right now 🙂 p.s. that post above is gorgeous but I will have to come back and re-read when I’m not dying of peanut butter cookie pangs!

  6. Julia Says:

    My husband makes PB and honey sandwiches all the time! I’m gonna surprise him with these treats and his brain will implode with happiness

  7. Erin Says:

    I made these last night – delish!

Leave a Reply

