Absolutely Loving: Mustard Yellow

Twig5

In the coloring book of life, I do not often reach for the yellow crayon. Yellow is a tough color
to work with. It is bold, outrageous, not for the faint of heart. Like a jealous lover it commands constant attention; and like a virulent flu, it sallows even the heartiest of complexions. But lately
I'm admiring a particular shade of warm, spicy mustard whose appeal is positively infectious…

Awilliams2002

Put it on your walls and conjure the vibrant heat of the East Indies—the lush, relentless sun of
the tropics. Or tone down its intensity with a splashes of cream and pistachio, then bring it back
up a notch with a fab chair in aquamarine!

Box1yellow

Of course a color this demanding is often best consumed in small doses. A rumpled bedspread
raises the temperature on a chilly November morning…

6BedrmClKP

A sumptuous settee in tufted velvet projects the sassy, outspoken charm of a spinster great-aunt.

749ade33f9

So many of us have ugly chests of drawers hiding away in our closets—or at least I do! How 'bout
a shot of mustard on the drawer fronts to inject new life into these dejected pieces?

Paulc44

I especially love mustard when contrasted with shades of grey. A shag rug and punchy pillow add pizazz to a room dominated by cool slate walls.

LS_00094

And despite its timeworn appearance, a mustard wall hanging brings life to a serene mantle
setting in chalk grey. 

Tanyag2

Pile the mustard high with glorious floor cushions—I adore the juxtaposition of their boxy,
angled edges with their warm color and cozy knit texture…

Awilliams20

Or for an unexpected hint of spice, slip a single dollop of mustard into an faded, neutral interior.

Airspace

Mustard has too big a personality to stay confined at home. If you're blessed with a
skin tone that can wear yellow, rock it in stunning silk chiffon… a slouchy boot in
cognac is the perfect complement.

Hautehippiemustard

Or if you're really feeling the mustard vibe, make it the backdrop to your special day!

Thayerphotographs

What do you think? Have you caught the mustard bug, or is it too much zing for your taste?

Oh, and in case you missed it over the weekend—please scroll down for the first installment in my Blogger Book Love series…Jora from Domestic Reflections started us off with a bang!

Image Credits: 1. Twig Hutchinson 2. Anna Williams 3. Sandbox Studio 4. James Merrell 5. Denise Grunstein 6. Paul Costello 7. Lucinda Symons 8. Tanya Goodwin 9. Anna Williams 10. Airspace 11. Haute Hippie 12. Thayer Allyson Gowdy

51 Responses to “Absolutely Loving: Mustard Yellow”

  1. WendyB Says:

    I love that color too — I found some nice dresses in it a while ago.

  2. WendyB Says:

    I love that color too — I found some nice dresses in it a while ago.

  3. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    So ididn’t think I was a mustard yellow gal- but ohhhhh…..am I loving these photos! Thanks for sharing.

  4. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    So ididn’t think I was a mustard yellow gal- but ohhhhh…..am I loving these photos! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    i must say…this is one of my favorite posts i’ve come across. all of the pictures are oozing with inspirational ideas and mustard yellow is such a fabulous color.

  6. Cupcakes and Cashmere Says:

    i must say…this is one of my favorite posts i’ve come across. all of the pictures are oozing with inspirational ideas and mustard yellow is such a fabulous color.

  7. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    I love mustard yellow too. It’s my favorite yellow hue. That dress at the top is sooo beautiful! Thanks for all your awesome comments on my blog! They make my day! πŸ™‚

  8. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    I love mustard yellow too. It’s my favorite yellow hue. That dress at the top is sooo beautiful! Thanks for all your awesome comments on my blog! They make my day! πŸ™‚

  9. erin Says:

    I love yellow! It was on my mind this morning too.

  10. molly Says:

    Hi there! I can’t find a link to email you at so I thought I would drop you a line. I had a quick question so if you would be so kind to email me…
    Thanks!
    xo
    molly
    Oh and I love the mustard yellow. Just bought a yummy scarf the other day in that color. Yellow is my favorite color!

  11. Luphia Says:

    I so agree, what a gorgeous colour! delicious too in a way πŸ™‚ love the warmth, just what i need in grey british winters Tina x

  12. Luphia Says:

    I so agree, what a gorgeous colour! delicious too in a way πŸ™‚ love the warmth, just what i need in grey british winters Tina x

  13. Michelle @ My Wedding Report Says:

    Ann~
    So I love the “thesis” that you wrote about my dress post. I had a feeling you are a good person to get feedback from and I was right! So I am probably going to take advantage of your wedding obsession if you don’t mind. I just love your taste.
    I am going to take your mentality of the dress shopping being for other people and not just me. I am feeling much better about it. I agree on things not being too stiff. I want to feel beautiful, but not necessarily a princess with a huge ball gown. I am trying to stay open minded before I try things on because I am sure my opinion and thoughts will change. I’m encouraged by your experience with losing 8 pounds. People are saying that I don’t need to, but I want to. I still can lose some weight and continue to be in the healthy range that I’m in now. So anyways..thanks so much for your feedback. Please give me more. My posts might be a little slow today and tomorrow as things are super crazy.
    Now on this post…I like the mustard yellow too. I like it with the gray or even a deep purple to balance some of the brightness. Your pictures are such wonderful examples of yellow used well. What were your wedding colors?

  14. Michelle @ My Wedding Report Says:

    Ann~
    So I love the “thesis” that you wrote about my dress post. I had a feeling you are a good person to get feedback from and I was right! So I am probably going to take advantage of your wedding obsession if you don’t mind. I just love your taste.
    I am going to take your mentality of the dress shopping being for other people and not just me. I am feeling much better about it. I agree on things not being too stiff. I want to feel beautiful, but not necessarily a princess with a huge ball gown. I am trying to stay open minded before I try things on because I am sure my opinion and thoughts will change. I’m encouraged by your experience with losing 8 pounds. People are saying that I don’t need to, but I want to. I still can lose some weight and continue to be in the healthy range that I’m in now. So anyways..thanks so much for your feedback. Please give me more. My posts might be a little slow today and tomorrow as things are super crazy.
    Now on this post…I like the mustard yellow too. I like it with the gray or even a deep purple to balance some of the brightness. Your pictures are such wonderful examples of yellow used well. What were your wedding colors?

  15. joanna goddard Says:

    that dress at the top is so stunning!!!

  16. joanna goddard Says:

    that dress at the top is so stunning!!!

  17. julie Says:

    what a wonderful post! my best friend just bought her first house and we’ve been obsessing over incorporating teal and mustard yellow. These images are inspiring!

  18. Georgia Says:

    very nice. i’m thinking about my placeβ€”i’m pretty sure i have no mustard yellow anywhere except one small throw pillow. i will have to remedy that.
    as far as clothing goesβ€”it does not work well with my olive skin tone, so i find myself always putting lovely items back on the rack.
    😦
    you found some nice “stuff” hereβ€”you’ve given mustard yellow a new life!

  19. jora Says:

    Beautiful choices, per usual. I really like those floor pillows and the backdrop to the newlyweds. πŸ™‚

  20. jora Says:

    Beautiful choices, per usual. I really like those floor pillows and the backdrop to the newlyweds. πŸ™‚

  21. nkp Says:

    Beautiful post! It’s funny, when I was pregnant with my third child I was overcome with an insatiable craving to paint an archway between my foyer and hallway yellow. And not a sweet, shy hint of yellow, oh no, my hormones were screaming big and bold. My husband, bless his heart, was up on a ladder that very afternoon. But three years later the yellow is still there, vibrant as ever, and I’m glad I took the plunge!

  22. nkp Says:

    Beautiful post! It’s funny, when I was pregnant with my third child I was overcome with an insatiable craving to paint an archway between my foyer and hallway yellow. And not a sweet, shy hint of yellow, oh no, my hormones were screaming big and bold. My husband, bless his heart, was up on a ladder that very afternoon. But three years later the yellow is still there, vibrant as ever, and I’m glad I took the plunge!

  23. robin pulsifer Says:

    wow, love all of those photos and i want every single item in the first one, including the dress. where did you find these fab photos? drool city!

  24. robin pulsifer Says:

    wow, love all of those photos and i want every single item in the first one, including the dress. where did you find these fab photos? drool city!

  25. joslyn Says:

    i’ve caught it for sure…love, love, love mustard!
    love. it.

  26. dolce chic Says:

    Anne, you are by far the greatest at this! I am absolutely in love with the color yellow! I love that tufted sofa, and that dress with the gorgeous boots, and turquoise ring…couldn’t be more gorgeous. Wonderful post as usual my friend!!!

  27. NKP Says:

    Beautiful post! It’s funny, when I was pregnant with my third child I was overcome with an insatiable craving to paint an archway between my foyer and hallway yellow. And not a sweet, shy hint of yellow, oh no, my hormones were screaming big and bold. My husband, bless his heart, was up on a ladder that very afternoon. But three years later the yellow is still there, vibrant as ever, and I’m glad I took the plunge!

  28. NKP Says:

    Beautiful post! It’s funny, when I was pregnant with my third child I was overcome with an insatiable craving to paint an archway between my foyer and hallway yellow. And not a sweet, shy hint of yellow, oh no, my hormones were screaming big and bold. My husband, bless his heart, was up on a ladder that very afternoon. But three years later the yellow is still there, vibrant as ever, and I’m glad I took the plunge!

  29. please sir Says:

    I so agree…love this color oh so much!!

  30. please sir Says:

    I so agree…love this color oh so much!!

  31. Courtney Says:

    Yes, I have caught the mustard bug too.
    Anne, these are beautiful images! I always love Lena Corwin’s wedding photos. And the first photo in this group is absolutely breathtaking. It makes me want to have a dinner party to get ready for (soaking in that tub and having that dress to wear!) Love love love.

  32. Courtney Says:

    Yes, I have caught the mustard bug too.
    Anne, these are beautiful images! I always love Lena Corwin’s wedding photos. And the first photo in this group is absolutely breathtaking. It makes me want to have a dinner party to get ready for (soaking in that tub and having that dress to wear!) Love love love.

  33. juliette c. Says:

    Anne. what a wonderful work you made!!!
    I love the photo with sofa and curtain! It make me loves this specific mustard yellow!

  34. juliette c. Says:

    ops! I lost my comment…
    I was sayin you made a wonderful work. I love the photo with sofa and curtain!!!

  35. Treacy Says:

    Happy. That’s how mustard yellow has been affecting me lately.
    And that overprint damask fabric in your last photo? Gasp- just beautiful, it takes my breathe away.

  36. Jen Says:

    I love it in the house…especially paired with dark gray. With turquoise it gives it more of the “Darjeeling Limited” look. I thought that movie was pretty. Can movies be pretty?
    I don’t like it for a wardrobe color due to the fact it makes me look like I am sick. But it did remind me of the last episode of “the Office”…Pam Beesly: [over bluetooth, referring to Dwight] Describe him exactly. What color mustard is his shirt? Yellow or Dijon?
    Jim Halpert: It is more a spicy brown actually.

  37. Sarah's Fab Day Says:

    Me too! My sister and I were just talking about my latest crush on yellow earlier today.

  38. Rebecca Says:

    ooohhh, I love mustard–what a great collection! and those dresses–lovely!

  39. Alice Q. Says:

    I love those photos! Dark gray and mustard yellow has been one of my very favorite color combos this fall. Gorgeous! πŸ˜‰

  40. Betsy Says:

    I’m not normally a yellow fan myself, but I do find myself veering towards the mustard color. Is it because deep down I’ve always admired it? Or is it because it is so prevalent in fashion/interiors today that I can’t help but be sucked in? I don’t know, but a little mustard yellow mixed in with grey or teal is lovely.
    As is that top picture of the bathroom. That dress is stunning. Sadly it looks like one of those dresses that looks so much better hanging than on!

  41. mary jo Says:

    This is just a fab post! Love that photo of the stones on the mantle. And that mustard dress and boots–to die for!

  42. velvet and linen Says:

    Ok, you have convinced me. Mustard yellow is divine. I love the first image of the ethereal yellow dress hanging in front of the aged blue wall.
    I also love the blue velvet chair against that gorgeous yellow wall paper.
    Great images.
    xo
    Brooke

  43. Redframe Says:

    I’m in love! With mustard yellow, with every one of these pics and with your blog! Thank you.

  44. Melissa de la Fuente Says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous images! Your blog is so lovely and you have inspired me to revisit mustard yellow! Thank you and thank you for your sweet comments over on ML! πŸ™‚
    xo
    Melissa

  45. christina Says:

    i love every single photo. i’m not usually drawn to yellow myself, either (gold is another story…) but what a fresh, beautiful way of looking at this color!

  46. dolce chic Says:

    I just had to comment again on this! This has to be my all time favorite post. I’ve been thinking about it so much!!! πŸ™‚

  47. Design Lovely Says:

    I really love these photos. I especially love the last photo because I have been thinking about creating a photo shoot area at my wedding similar to this. I think I will go with something a little more subtle than than the mustard though. Thanks for showing this and reaffirming my decision. Love your blog and thank you for all your nice comments on mine. Cheers!

  48. The Deco Detective Says:

    These photos are beautiful. Yellow can be really happy, too – I painted the tiny hallway in a previous apartment a warm, sunny yellow, and it became a really inviting room!
    Thank you for the nice comments on my blog!

  49. Peonies and Polaroids Says:

    I hate yellow but this colour has been appealing to me since we did an impromptu wedding portrait session in front of a mustard wall. That dress in the first picture is heavenly, I love it.

  50. alison Says:

    gorgeous photos, i love your choices. definitely in the hot now. i have been ‘suaded and bought a new coat that it STILL isn’t cold enough to wear! thanks for your posts…

  51. cara Says:

    Love this! The colors, the posh, the luxe, even in the funky + laidback-ness of the last 2 photos + the natural rawness with the rocks on the mantle — so lovely!

Leave a Reply

