Blogger Book Love: Jora from Domestic Reflections

Dwell 5

Nothing beats whiling away the day with a good book—and who better to turn to for reading recommendations than my fellow bloggers whose taste and expertise I admire so much? So I present to you the first installment in a series that I've had percolating for a while: Blogger Book Love!

Domestic banner

First up is Jora from Domestic Reflections. In case you're unfamiliar with this delightful blog (and in that case, where have you been?) Jora's posts feature must-try recipes, fabulous finds for your home, and thoughtful, beautifully written observations on family life—all with Jora's warm, modern aesthetic sensibility.

Jora was kind enough to share with me a list of her five favourite books and then tell me a little more about why she loves a couple of them. So without further ado, here's Jora!

"A list of books I could read over and over
again:

I Know This Much Is True (Wally Lamb)
Love in the Time of Cholera (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee)

The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Milan Kundera)
Prince of Tides (Pat Conroy)

N136333

I Know This Much Is True, by Wally Lamb, was the first book I read
after the birth of my son.  It is an 800+ page book, so it took me a
very long time….It is a beautiful multi-generational story of an
Italian American family….in particular, a set of identical
twins…one with schizophrenia and one without.  This quote from the
end of the book blew me away:

'I am not a smart man, particularly, but one day, at long last,
I stumbled from the dark woods of my own, and my family's, and my
country's past, holding in my hands these truths: that loves grows from
the rich loam of forgiveness, that mongrels make good dogs; that the
evidence of God exists in the roundness of things.'

I still get goosebumps when I read that and think about the book. 

Love_in_the_Time_of_Cholera-119225846372285
 

Love in the Time of Cholera, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, is an
unforgettable story of unrequited love.  It is dark and mysterious, and
very compelling.  It is such a powerful book I fell silly even trying
to sum it up.  It is a must read."

Thank you Jora for your sharing your favourite reads with us, and for kicking things off so eloquently!

I'm really excited about this series, so everyone please stay tuned for lots more to come!

Image Credits: 1. Roland Bello 2. Banner courtesy of Jora at Domestic Reflections

10 Responses to “Blogger Book Love: Jora from Domestic Reflections”

  1. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    I love Jora. I love her blog. And as it turns out, I love her books too! This is an awesome feature 🙂
    Thanks!

  2. jora Says:

    Thank you Anne! I feel honored to be featured on your AWESOME blog. And I am really looking forward to seeing other bloggers’ lists of favorite books.

  3. joanna goddard Says:

    ps. i’d love to throw my name in the hat for this feature if you’re looking for any other bloggers 🙂 love, joanna

  4. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    i tagged you on my blog- hope you will participate!

  5. Sarah's Fab Day Says:

    I adore Jora, thanks for sharing.

  6. Julia Says:

    I love this idea.. can’t wait to see more recommendations!

  7. Alice Q. Foodie Says:

    How funny – I have been wanting to read some of these books for a long time (I even own them!) and haven’t gotten around to it. This will definitely motivate me to go pull them off the shelf. Great idea for a post!

  8. jessica Says:

    What a great idea. I am sort of jealous that I didn’t think of it. Seriously, I can’t wait to read more of this series.

  9. Courtney Says:

    Love, love, love this idea (um, “love, love, love”- I use that combination of words frequently on your blog!)
    This is a superb post, and I can’t wait to see the onea still to come!

  10. 180/360 Says:

    l love Jora, too! I also think this is a great idea. I had a post awhile back asking my readers to share their must reads- but unfortunately, I got a lot of “I don’t have time to read these days!” 😦

Leave a Reply

