Photographer Lust: Anna Williams

Awilliams3

When I want ideas for the execution of a project, be it the height of a lamp or the flow of a room, I head to the portfolios of my favourite interior designers. But when I want inspiration for mood, tone, the intangible, I immerse myself in the work of photographers. For if the job of the interior designer is to show us what our world can be with a little know-how and expert guidance, the job of the photographer is to spark our imagination as to how the world might be if only we dare to dream. And no one dares us to dream quite as beautifully as Anna Williams.

Awilliams55

How better to capture our hopes of warmth and harmony for the approaching holidays than with the fruits and flavours of the season? A haphazard grouping of pears and winter apples informs a welcoming Thanksgiving table, from the mottled golden hues of a centerpiece to the scent of cinnamon in the air. And the reflection of a candle's flame against a wall gives us pause as we contemplate the gothic mysteries of nightfall's shadows.

Awilliams65

The pairing of disparate elements serves to enhance our appreciation of both. We can almost feel the pale sunlight through the window as we envision sitting down to a late autumn luncheon, and has a maple clothed in its fall colors ever looked so vibrant as it does when juxtaposed against walls of stoneware blue?

Awilliams15

In the sensual lines of the chairs, the translucent quality of the linen tablecloth, the mid-century sideboard so referential of an era that also prized amber glassware, we see a how a single simple object is translated into an entire room. And we may then envision how the vase can become an outfit, a wedding invitation, the menu for a family dinner.

Awilliams18

Of course photographers don't usually show us how our lives should look every day; my dining room table is more likely to be piled high with junk mail and dirty dishes than with tulips and softly folded napkins. But the photographer inspires us to ask ourselves how we may create a similar feeling of clean, homespun bounty, and the anticipation of something really special about to happen…

Awilliams16

The painter has her oils and acrylics, but the photographer has only light. And it is the power of light to tell us what lies within the frame but also without, to suggest the position of a door to the left, a window to the right, a figure standing just beyond the border of what we see with our eyes…

Awilliams23

…and it is in that space beyond the frame where our imagination takes flight. May your weekend be filled with the power of light and the beauty of your dreams!

Awiliams59

All images courtesy of Anna Williams.

9 Responses to “Photographer Lust: Anna Williams”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I have several of these in my inspiration files – Anna Williams is definitely a muse!

  2. dolce chic Says:

    I love these photos! Have I mentioned that your blog is my new favorite? It’s gorgeous!!!

  3. callie grayson Says:

    luscious bounty and beauty!
    She is now in my favorites folder for future musings. Your post amazing!
    you have a wonderful weekend!
    callie
    ps thanks for visiting and the lovely comments

  4. Michelle @ My Wedding Report Says:

    You have such a way with words! It is so true that photographers can help evoke tone and emotion for inspiration. I guess I will be spending the rest of my day browsing Anne Williams!
    Have a good weekend! And thanks for all your wonderful comments. Let me know what you think about the latest dresses I posted. I don’t know what I want…

  5. sushi2 Says:

    The photos by Anne Williams are beautiful and I am especially drawn to the colors in the blue gray dining room and the yellow leaves in the next picture. I am going to visit her sight next. Thanks.

  6. Rebecca Says:

    lovely! we have a tree in our front yard that is just that yellow and i’m so drawn to it. beautiful autumn!

  7. Jen Says:

    Hmm these pictures are lovely but they are really missing something…oh wait! Where is the baby sucking on the legs of the dining room chair?

  8. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Pretty, pretty, pretty!! ….I want that dark brown dress in the first picture. I have no where to wear it other than doing the dusting but it’s amazing 🙂

  9. 180/360 Says:

    Gorgeous! I love the way they are put together as diptychs.

Leave a Reply

