Shopping Trip: Holiday Goodies at Wisteria

Fur

Okay, so I know Halloween has barely passed and Thanksgiving is still weeks away. But last night I opened my mailbox to discover the new Wisteria catalog, and the holiday accents they're featuring are so charming that I can't contain myself! I'm quite picky about winter decorations—I hate when they feel too 'Christmas-y'—so Wisteria's latest offerings are perfect for me. They foster that feeling of warmth, coziness, and wintry harmony that I aspire to around the holidays.

W2797-Large
Nothing says 'snuggle up' like a great throw blanket, and the delicate hand embroidery on this one adds such a simple, graphic appeal. Plus I love the surprise of the striped lining—so fun! The toasty reds and browns of this toss pillow feel seasonally appropriate, and the stag's head applique is a great way to try out the ubiquitous antler trend without drilling holes in your wall!

W2726-Large

Felt is so soft and fuzzy, and I love its primitive, organic textural effect. The muted colors of these sweet birdies would blend seamlessly into a neutral holiday palette, and I'd be more than happy to have them hang around in January and February too! Don't their little beaks make you smile?

W2648-Large 

So many of our contemporary holiday traditions are descended from age-old European cultural expressions, and I love how these felt forest animal ornaments honor that lineage. I can just see them hanging in one of those clean, bright, all-white interiors so common in Scandinavian countries.

W2715a-large
Like felt, knitwear represents the warmth of the season. These darling label tags are a gift in and of themselves! Plus they're reusable…I love the thought of passing them on from recipient to recipient for holidays to come.

W2637-Large

 And finally, this stocking garland advent calendar is fifteen kinds of genius! A huge step up from those waxy chocolate advent calendars, it stretches the fun of stocking stuffing throughout the whole month. Little kids would love waking each morning to discover a new tiny treasure, and I think I speak for the big kids when I say that I'd love shopping for them!

W2655-Large

How do you decorate for the holidays? What are your favourite traditions? I'd love to know!

   

37 Responses to “Shopping Trip: Holiday Goodies at Wisteria”

  1. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    I love to decorate my home for Christmas. But I’m the same as you, I hate too ‘Christmas-y’ decorations. I adore cozy blankets and this one is SO gorgeous!

  2. Caroline @ Patagonia Gifts Says:

    I love to decorate my home for Christmas. But I’m the same as you, I hate too ‘Christmas-y’ decorations. I adore cozy blankets and this one is SO gorgeous!

  3. Julia Says:

    I’m excited for the holidays…the pillow with the mounted deer is funny! And I love the little birds that are Christmas-y but not Christmas-y. πŸ™‚

  4. Julia Says:

    I’m excited for the holidays…the pillow with the mounted deer is funny! And I love the little birds that are Christmas-y but not Christmas-y. πŸ™‚

  5. jora Says:

    I admit I am not a huge xmas decorating person. I can’t get into most of it, but all of these choices are so pretty, sweet and subtle. Those gift tags are awesome!

  6. jora Says:

    I admit I am not a huge xmas decorating person. I can’t get into most of it, but all of these choices are so pretty, sweet and subtle. Those gift tags are awesome!

  7. sushi2 Says:

    I love the idea of the advent swag across the fireplace. Now that my kids are a little older decorating has been simplified for convenience. But I still enjoy getting inspired by others ideas.

  8. sushi2 Says:

    I love the idea of the advent swag across the fireplace. Now that my kids are a little older decorating has been simplified for convenience. But I still enjoy getting inspired by others ideas.

  9. molly Says:

    i like to keep it simple. I love berries. so you will find that theme through out the downstairs. our tree is all about the kids. it is a hodge podge of handmade ornaments from when i was little.

  10. molly Says:

    i like to keep it simple. I love berries. so you will find that theme through out the downstairs. our tree is all about the kids. it is a hodge podge of handmade ornaments from when i was little.

  11. robin pulsifer Says:

    i love wisteria too! oh and love chalkboard paint like in your post below. we had a small section of wall painted with that in our chocolate shop for coffee drinks that we made. it’s fabulous paint. oh and what a great idea of painting the fridge. mine would have something more along the lines of red wine and sharp cheddar…oh and toilet paper or something to bring reality to the whole situation! πŸ™‚

  12. robin pulsifer Says:

    i love wisteria too! oh and love chalkboard paint like in your post below. we had a small section of wall painted with that in our chocolate shop for coffee drinks that we made. it’s fabulous paint. oh and what a great idea of painting the fridge. mine would have something more along the lines of red wine and sharp cheddar…oh and toilet paper or something to bring reality to the whole situation! πŸ™‚

  13. Georgia Says:

    is it that time already???
    love the little birds!
    i want a whole tree of those!

  14. Georgia Says:

    is it that time already???
    love the little birds!
    i want a whole tree of those!

  15. summer Says:

    The red accents are getting me pretty excited!! I can’t wait to decorate for Christmas. This is my first year of marriage- I have my own home now, so I can create whatever traditions my little heart desires! Now, for the being creative part. That will take me awhile.

  16. summer Says:

    The red accents are getting me pretty excited!! I can’t wait to decorate for Christmas. This is my first year of marriage- I have my own home now, so I can create whatever traditions my little heart desires! Now, for the being creative part. That will take me awhile.

  17. The Deco Detective Says:

    I like gold and dark red for Christmas, so my decoration is a bit on the baroque side! No Santa figures… and no tree. I’m actually looking for ideas for an alternative tree, because I love the concept, it’s just too much trouble with an ordinary one (plus I don’t have kids). But I also go to my mom’s for Christmas, so I get a tree there.
    The advent calendar idea with tiny Christmas stockings leading up to the big stocking is excellent. Thanks for sharing!
    Trudi

  18. please sir Says:

    Oh these are adorable – I love the ornaments!!

  19. Sara Says:

    I love the pillow! The advent/stocking calendar is sooo cute!

  20. Sara Says:

    I love the pillow! The advent/stocking calendar is sooo cute!

  21. Melissa Says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚ I’m so happy I discovered your blog. I just went to Wisteria’s website and requested their catalog. I love the advent stocking calendar, so cute!
    My favorite traditions are making Christmas cookies with my mom and my sister and my family watching National Lampoons Christmas Vacation on Christmas Eve πŸ™‚

  22. Melissa Says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚ I’m so happy I discovered your blog. I just went to Wisteria’s website and requested their catalog. I love the advent stocking calendar, so cute!
    My favorite traditions are making Christmas cookies with my mom and my sister and my family watching National Lampoons Christmas Vacation on Christmas Eve πŸ™‚

  23. dolce chic Says:

    I love these photos, makes me want to go all out!
    I want an old fashioned Griswold family Christmas πŸ™‚

  24. dolce chic Says:

    I love these photos, makes me want to go all out!
    I want an old fashioned Griswold family Christmas πŸ™‚

  25. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    love your blog. just added you to my blog love.

  26. amy@inspirationchic Says:

    love your blog. just added you to my blog love.

  27. Emma Says:

    Golly gosh that stuff is all so so cute! I need some for sure … well not really need but going to get!

  28. Courtney Says:

    I looove the stag head pillow- I’ve had that bookmarked to blog about too!! It is just too cute.

  29. Mussy Wells Says:

    OMG so many people comment on/ read your blog! Well Done Miss Sage.

  30. Mussy Wells Says:

    oops I forgot you got married…I guess that would be Mrs. Sage
    I know what you mean about Christmas decorations being too Christmassy/ kitchy. tacky…. but I love these! so whimsical πŸ™‚

  31. Chris Says:

    I love the ornaments and tags! Those are awesome πŸ™‚
    I love our annual family tree trip. We (my sibs, their families, my husband and me, my parents, my aunt and cousins, all of our dogs, etc.) go out to breakfast, head to the tree farm and cut down a tree, hike in the woods, and have a blast. It’s coming up soon and I can’t wait to go!

  32. Velvet and Linen Says:

    Wisteria is my favorite catalogue.
    Such great style. I love these holiday decorations. Festive without being tacky.
    Have a great weekend.
    xo
    Brooke

  33. vicki archer Says:

    these are gorgeous ornaments and very different to the classic christmas ornament. i have a country christmas so these would look pretty good i think. lovely blog. xv

  34. Rebecca Says:

    wisteria is just full of folksy wonderfulness–I’m loving those little felt guys too!

  35. Kimberlee Says:

    We don’t have Wisteria in Australia but man oh man I wish we did (credit card is glad we don’t though!!) – can’t believe christmas is so close! – My family is off interstate this christmas (every second year as my mum is originally from Queensland, but moved to South Australia when her and dad got married) – 10 days at Noosa swimming, tanning, champagne, mangos, prawns and catching up with family (which is a good thing!) xx

  36. Catherine Says:

    Wow, you are on to a winner here – so many comments!
    I’m finding it hard to get excited about Christmas this year – it will be the first Christmas without my beautiful and much loved dad. But I will get into it for my son’s sake, and will post pics once I’ve got the decorations up.
    ps I have to say I enjoy your blog not just for the great pics, but also for your thoughts and the way you describe things – your writing style brings it to life.

  37. suann Says:

    oh my! lots of cute stuff. those tags!

Leave a Reply

