Recipe to Die For: Harmony and Home’s Cowboy Cookies

DSC_0027

I've been exchanging some really stimulating emails recently with a fellow Bay Area blogger, the charming Becky from Harmony and Home. Not only does Becky know everything there is to know about design and design history (seriously, her blog is the ultimate repository of all things fascinating and beautiful!) she has a terrific arsenal of recipes to share. So when she sent me her trusty recipe for Cowboy Cookies, I had to give it a try. And I wasn't disappointed.

DSC_0043

These great, craggy beauties are just the ticket with a cup of tea on a cool autumn afternoon. They're jam-packed full of nutty, chocolaty goodness, all wrapped up in a terrific toasted oat base. The texture is fabulous; a crisp exterior provides satisfying crunch and then yields to a moist, chewy inside. The recipe calls for pecans but I had a surplus of pistachios on hand so I went with those. The result? Divine! But be careful about sharing these—I brought them to an election night party, and I kind of regret it because now they're all gone!

Cowboy Cookies
Recipe courtesy of Becky at Harmony and Home
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspooon baking soda
1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1 ½ cups (3 sticks) butter
at room temperature

1 ½ cups granulated sugar
1 ½ cups packed light-brown
sugar

3 eggs
1 Tablespoon vanilla
3 cups semisweet chocolate
chips

3 cups old-fashioned rolled
oats

2 cups sweetened flake coconut

2 cups chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking soda and powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside. Cream butter and sugars until fluffy, then mix in eggs and vanilla. Merge wet with dry ingredients, then stir in chips, oats, coconut and nuts. Measure in heaping tablespoonfuls (or bigger!) and bake for approximately 17-20 minutes.

12 Responses to “Recipe to Die For: Harmony and Home’s Cowboy Cookies”

  1. Catherine Says:

    These look incredibly tempting. And now I want to eat one! Luckily its summer over here, so a bowl of fresh strawberries and vanilla icecream will have to do instead.

  2. Catherine Says:

    These look incredibly tempting. And now I want to eat one! Luckily its summer over here, so a bowl of fresh strawberries and vanilla icecream will have to do instead.

  3. Ashley at Decorology Says:

    oh my…your blog always makes me hungry…thanks for these 🙂

  4. Ashley at Decorology Says:

    oh my…your blog always makes me hungry…thanks for these 🙂

  5. Rachel Says:

    That combination of textures sounds perfect! I’ve never been a big fan of plain oatmeal cookies, but these I could go for.

  6. Rachel Says:

    That combination of textures sounds perfect! I’ve never been a big fan of plain oatmeal cookies, but these I could go for.

  7. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    Anne, you are too generous with your words! I’m glad you tried them – aren’t they good???? Thank you for your sweet comments and I look forward to many more exchanges between us – emails and recipes!

  8. Georgia Says:

    the picture of these cookies looks so good!
    i always see your recipe posts before dinner, and it makes me so hungry!
    now i want cookies for dinner.
    🙂

  9. Chris Says:

    Oh goodness, these look wonderful! And here I am putting my running shoes on to go work out, even though I’m achy and tired and sore. LOL! Ah, well I’ll have to make these for a party or the holidays!

  10. Sara Says:

    I think I had these at a friends house and loved them!! I will have to try the recipe out this weekend

  11. joanna goddard Says:

    oh i am completely in love with your blog!! i cannot believe it haven’t found you until now!!

  12. Cakespy Says:

    Oh my! I recently tried something like this and am now so glad to have a recipe. Yours look like perfection!

Leave a Reply

