Pastel Perfection

Chloe-miu-miu-repetto

Winter has officially arrived here in Northern California; it rained all weekend, and I miss the sun already. Plus I always forget how setting the clocks back an hour makes the days seem that much shorter. So in lieu of a vacation to a balmy tropical isle, I'm indulging in soft, cheerful pastel shades. Don't you feel happy just looking at them?

Kn27

Those who know me know I love pink. But pink is not the only player in the pastel rainbow! Pistachio, salmon, orchid: they all get along so well. I love the flesh-toned swan chair in the above image. And doesn't mint green beautifully offset this collection of ceramics?

C73f974429cd41baee2d23f50240daf6_bigprints0006

Butter yellow and sky blue team up to feel both fresh and familiar. What a clever way to inject color into a space while maintaining a calm, quiet mood. And check out the striped runner on those gorgeous plank floors…

RGW 02

There's no doubt that the colors here are pushing the pastel envelope. But the mod shape of the chair, the sharp angles of the dresser, and the houndstooth print of the rug lend some edge to an otherwise saccharine pallet.

2899359141_b0355099c0

Of course pastels don't have to be sherbet sweet. The weathered finish on this sea foam wall injects an air of drama and timeworn elan.

Twig6

Subtle undertones of brown add depth and richness to a monochromatic pink bed layout. I'd be happy for rain if it meant I could nap here all afternoon!

189d40d6ae336e9e066376cb04e14264_bedlinen

Of course I'd never have the courage to commit to all pastels all the time…but a tufted settee in robin's egg blue would suit me just fine.

2982515930_19a8ccdd01

And the ultimate in pastel restraint? Keep the traditional wing back shape, keep the tailored nail head trim, keep the staid fireplace setting. But do it in pink!

Grimm13

Image Credits: 1. The Cherry Blossom Girl via Bon Bon Atelier 2. Karin Nussbaumer 3. Kate French
4. Rachel Whiting 5. Decorology Flickr Photostream 6. Twig Hutchinson 7. Kasha Harmer
8. James Merrell 9. Michael Grimm

31 Responses to “Pastel Perfection”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I can’t wait until the day I get to move back to California and know that rain means winter, not snow.

  2. Kathryn Says:

    I can’t wait until the day I get to move back to California and know that rain means winter, not snow.

  3. sushi2 Says:

    I like pastels too, they do bring a happy mood to any situation. I would like to change my home’s look when my children are a bit older to a lighter appearance. Light colors are refreshing =)

  4. sushi2 Says:

    I like pastels too, they do bring a happy mood to any situation. I would like to change my home’s look when my children are a bit older to a lighter appearance. Light colors are refreshing =)

  5. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    We’re thinking alike today–I’m wearing a pink JCrew shirt today with a pink scarf. Not really fall colors but more of a Monday pick-me-up I guess!

  6. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    We’re thinking alike today–I’m wearing a pink JCrew shirt today with a pink scarf. Not really fall colors but more of a Monday pick-me-up I guess!

  7. christina Says:

    first of all: thanks for your lovely comment on snippet & ink. secondly, i’m so glad i found your blog–it’s awesome! can’t wait to read the rest!

  8. christina Says:

    first of all: thanks for your lovely comment on snippet & ink. secondly, i’m so glad i found your blog–it’s awesome! can’t wait to read the rest!

  9. Melissa Says:

    Such pretty pictures! I love the fireplace 🙂

  10. Melissa Says:

    Such pretty pictures! I love the fireplace 🙂

  11. Jen Says:

    Do you think we can “Rachel Whiting” my bathroom?

  12. Jen Says:

    Do you think we can “Rachel Whiting” my bathroom?

  13. megan Says:

    that first photo is so dreamy and lovely. pastels definitely give me a more cheerful disposition. great post!

  14. megan Says:

    that first photo is so dreamy and lovely. pastels definitely give me a more cheerful disposition. great post!

  15. please sir Says:

    AMAZING eye candy – I can’t get enough!

  16. please sir Says:

    AMAZING eye candy – I can’t get enough!

  17. Rachel Says:

    I am another pink lover, and I think that the pistachio goes so well with it! I can’t indulge much, because my BF would never agree to decorating in those colors, but I love drooling over these photos.

  18. Rachel Says:

    I am another pink lover, and I think that the pistachio goes so well with it! I can’t indulge much, because my BF would never agree to decorating in those colors, but I love drooling over these photos.

  19. Sara Says:

    Love the picture with the shoes!! Two of my favorite things: cute heels and pastel pink!

  20. Sara Says:

    Love the picture with the shoes!! Two of my favorite things: cute heels and pastel pink!

  21. Chris Says:

    Oh wow, these are so lovely…I can’t get over all the colors harmonizing together. They’re so soft and pretty and vivid. I love that funky blue chair, too!

  22. Chris Says:

    Oh wow, these are so lovely…I can’t get over all the colors harmonizing together. They’re so soft and pretty and vivid. I love that funky blue chair, too!

  23. perfect bound Says:

    Beautiful post. I never dress in pastels but all of the rooms in my house are designed with a soft pastel palette. Go figure. The rooms you selected are each stunning. Wonderful post. I hope the sun comes out for you today!

  24. perfect bound Says:

    Beautiful post. I never dress in pastels but all of the rooms in my house are designed with a soft pastel palette. Go figure. The rooms you selected are each stunning. Wonderful post. I hope the sun comes out for you today!

  25. Kimberlee Says:

    What a beautiful collection – first and last are my favourites! I have a pink collection ready for a post tomorrow, I’ll have to send them here for more! xx

  26. Betsy Says:

    That is the most soothing row of pics I have seen in a long time. I’m so into the pistachio lately too—I think it’s because at this local diner that have a cake that is iced in the most perfect pistachio color. I want to buy one just to display at home!

  27. Julia Says:

    Beautiful tones! I love the milky dreaminess

  28. Georgia Says:

    i’m not a big pastel person, but i must admit, you have really given it some real weight with this post!
    these rooms are beautiful!
    (i love that butterfly lamp shade from Anthro, too!)

  29. Courtney Says:

    The top photo is beautiful! I looove the tufted settee too, and the bottom photo looks so calming and relaxing- a perfect place to cozy-up on a cold (rainy) winter day!

  30. Michelle @ My Wedding Report Says:

    I just discovered your blog and can already tell I’m going to love it!! These photos are beautiful. I love the top photo with the shoes, but that has to do with my slight shoe obsession.
    I’m adding you to my blog list on my blog if you don’t mind…feel free to add me to yours as well!

  31. dolce chic Says:

    You have such a beautiful blog, I’ve really enjoyed checking out your posts, and these photos! Loving pastels!!!

Leave a Reply

