Halloween Recipe: Pumpkin Scones

DSC_0044

Here's the first of several ghoulishly good recipes I have planned for Halloween Week! My mum shared this one with me, and it's definitely worth rising from the dead for. The subtle pumpkin flavour blends seamlessly with spices like cinnamon, ginger and cloves, and the crumbly, butter texture provides a tender foundation for gooey, drippy icing.

DSC_0022

The taste and appearance of these is a blatant rip-off on the Starbucks scones that I always long for but never eat because they're the size of a small child. The beautiful thing about baking your own is that you can create much more manageable portions…of course you'll probably eat two or three to make up for it…I would serve these at a Halloween-themed brunch or even take them to a school bake sale as a fresh alternative to all the cookies and cupcakes out there.

DSC_0046

Find the recipe here. When I make these again I will add an extra half cup of flour as I found the dough to be a bit moist. And I ALWAYS freeze scones overnight before baking them as it guarantees a flaky result. Of course you can omit the icing if you're feeling virtuous. Or if you're like me and believe that sugar calories don't count in the week before Halloween, go ahead and smear it on thick—and shamelessly tint the swirls with orange food colouring for an extra festive effect!

13 Responses to “Halloween Recipe: Pumpkin Scones”

  1. megan Says:

    i love scones! these are some of the prettiest i’ve seen-and the fact that their pumpkin makes it even better. i’ll definitely be trying these soon-thanks for sharing!

  2. please sir Says:

    wow these look so good – really get me in the mood for halloween!

  3. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Drool! I’m carving more pumpkins tomorrow, so I might just have to make some of these 🙂

  4. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Drool! I’m carving more pumpkins tomorrow, so I might just have to make some of these 🙂

  5. Georgia Says:

    yum!
    i love scones.

  6. Chris Says:

    Oh my goodness these look absolutely divine! You have the best recipes (and accompanying photos) of anyone in blogland! Keep ’em coming!

  7. WendyB Says:

    Please send a basket of these to my house immediately.

  8. jora Says:

    I was seriously JUST looking for a pumpkin scones recipe! Thanks!

  9. jora Says:

    I was seriously JUST looking for a pumpkin scones recipe! Thanks!

  10. summer Says:

    oh my.
    i just found out a few months ago that i’m a scone-lover.
    this could be my undoing…
    they look divine!

  11. summer Says:

    oh my.
    i just found out a few months ago that i’m a scone-lover.
    this could be my undoing…
    they look divine!

  12. Rachel Says:

    I am going to try making these – I have bought a pumpkin. The only thing is, what is half-and-half? x

  13. christine @ pretty.pretty.paper Says:

    oh hello pumpkin scones. these are my absolute favorite fall treat! i’ve never made them but i believe that is about to change.

Leave a Reply

